We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family stay”
Review of Lords of the Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lords of the Manor
Ranked #1 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed as a family of 6 for a 60th birthday. Very peaceful and picturesque location. Room and bathroom were both well appointed. Restaurant was lovely. We had breakfast both nights and dinner on one night and were very impressed. Well situated for travelling up and down the midlands meander. Perfect mini get away from the rat race

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safferjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a great place to stay! We were part of a party and we felt like we were in a private home as we had booked out the venue for private use. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, accommodating and the managers run the place with such efficiency!

The food was OUTSTANDING and every meal we had was excellent. The rooms were spacious and very clean and all en suite with lots of hot water. There are lovely grounds to walk around, and the sound of the wind in the trees was only interrupted by the sound of the birds. The history of the old home makes for a real old world feel. There is even a little wedding chapel on the grounds.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is wifi should you need it. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesmarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend here celebrating a friends 50th birthday. Having been here before I knew the great service.....great food.....beautiful rooms and Louise and Brian that run the place. The building has so much history and the setting is beautiful. I love going here and will visit shortly again. A wonderful place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Maybe a room with a fireplace for winter but all rooms have heaters and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We visited Lords of the Manor after buying a Group-on voucher. The building is quite impressive and our room, the Sir George room was spacious, airy and luxurious. Our hosts, Brian, Louise and their wonderful staff really made our stay enjoyable. We loved to sit in the beautiful bar before and after dinner with the other guests and chat to Brian and Louise. The food was superb!!! We can really recommend the Chicken Curry...mmmmm! We would definitely plan a return visit with Lords of the Manor in future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanetteS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Upon our arrival (on a short notice booking) I found the exterior of the building just amazing.
Unfortunately when I was trying to locate the barfridge I was told by Brian that there are none and he promised to remove this from the website, as I see this as false advertising (which hasn’t been done yet). I was a bit disappointed by the interior decorations (especially the rooms) if you see such magnificent exterior! The food was extremely good, the service was superb. A bit more attention to detail would help (a complete back gammon board would do the trick). I would defiantly return for a stay but only in suite no 7 which has a fireplace and the “feeling” of the old charm.

Room Tip: suite no 7. if you not as fussy as I am suite no 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank0861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a 4 night break so that we could do some meandering around the Midlands, and we bought a Groupon voucher for this hotel.

From the moment we arrived and throughout the whole stay, Brian, Louise, Sbu and the rest of the staff were warm, welcoming and treated us so well.

I was 6 months pregnant and they even made certain little extras for me that weren't on the menu, but that I had a craving for. Bar was well stocked, well run and the food was so good we ate at the hotel every night.
The main hotel rooms were booked up and so we were given one of the garden rooms, which although slightly removed from the main hotel, was very comfortable, warm and nice and quiet.

If you are staying at the hotel for a Midlands break, be sure to ask Louise for recommendations around the area, as every single place she recommended turned out to be completely wonderful and really made our trip even better than it already was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anixa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at the Lords of the Manor in October 2012 attending a school reunion. That event alone was worth traveling thousands of kilometers for, but the Lords of the Manor made it all even more memorable. The staff were unbelievably helpful sourcing projectors and the ilk for us at the last moment. The bar was well run and efficient, which is crucial in these sorts of events as was the meal service on all days. The food and the general ambiance of this establishment was of the highest order. My wife and I who have traveled quite extensively internationally over the years, loved the beautiful spaciousness of the upstairs room we had in the main Manor building. These are the ones that we would suggest any traveler planning a visit selects in which to stays. The wooden floors, albeit well carpeted still gave off the reassuring creaks of a grand home of antiquity. That and the old-style but capacious cupboards were part of the charm that no modern five star hotel could ever hope to replicate. For those of us from overseas the accommodation and food was unbelievably inexpensive considering the high quality of both. That said, the same sentiment was not expressed by the South African based contingent. I will certainly make the effort to return for relaxing stay if ever in the area again as it is a great place to base oneself in order indulge in the mystic pleasures of the Midland Meander. If you are looking for glitz and bling this is not your place, but if you are looking for a quiet few days away with ambiance good food and wine you could do worse than the Lords of the Manor

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building. Each is different and they have a special 'olde worlde' ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byronian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
13.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
214 reviews
13.3 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sycamore Avenue Treehouse Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
18.4 mi away
Silver Hill Lodge
Silver Hill Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mooi River
202 reviews
9.8 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor

Address: D 487 Hidcote road | Midlands Meander, Mooi River 3300, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range: £104 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lords of the Manor, situated along the famous midland meander is the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic elegance together with Olde World charm and luxury. It has 17 luxury on suite rooms, each with individual tastes. All rooms have DSTV, Tea and Coffee facilities. Lords of the Manor is conveniently situated just outside Mooi River and is the first stop over on the midlands meander with a tar road the whole way, The Manor is set in the heart of the beautiful lush Natal Midlands farmland with dams and streams nearby for the purist fly fisherman. We are only 1.5 Hours from Durban and 3.5 Hours from JHB. Our warm friendly staff are waiting to welcome you to our manor where you can totally relax and enjoy the finer things in life fit for a King and Queen. Don't forget to book your Spa Treatment prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Lords of the Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing