We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scotties Pretoria Fantastic jewel in the Midlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lords of the Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lords of the Manor
Ranked #1 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scotties Pretoria Fantastic jewel in the Midlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A warm welcome on our arrival, was the start of a really wonderful visit.Our room was decorated beautifully and had everything we required. The meals we enjoyed were SUPERB. A very convenient spot for a relaxing break and perfect for enjoying the Midlands Meander. WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotties2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
88
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very quaint little Hotel in the Country, Beautifully run and perched on a Hill Top.

Great for a night away, sit around their Log fire, enjoy a Port or Sherry.

The food is classic food, beautifully cooked and presented, the Duck is amazing and so are many of the other dishes.

Really worth a nights visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Manor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBumhlangaRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed as a family of 6 for a 60th birthday. Very peaceful and picturesque location. Room and bathroom were both well appointed. Restaurant was lovely. We had breakfast both nights and dinner on one night and were very impressed. Well situated for travelling up and down the midlands meander. Perfect mini get away from the rat race

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safferjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a great place to stay! We were part of a party and we felt like we were in a private home as we had booked out the venue for private use. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, accommodating and the managers run the place with such efficiency!

The food was OUTSTANDING and every meal we had was excellent. The rooms were spacious and very clean and all en suite with lots of hot water. There are lovely grounds to walk around, and the sound of the wind in the trees was only interrupted by the sound of the birds. The history of the old home makes for a real old world feel. There is even a little wedding chapel on the grounds.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is wifi should you need it. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesmarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend here celebrating a friends 50th birthday. Having been here before I knew the great service.....great food.....beautiful rooms and Louise and Brian that run the place. The building has so much history and the setting is beautiful. I love going here and will visit shortly again. A wonderful place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Maybe a room with a fireplace for winter but all rooms have heaters and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We visited Lords of the Manor after buying a Group-on voucher. The building is quite impressive and our room, the Sir George room was spacious, airy and luxurious. Our hosts, Brian, Louise and their wonderful staff really made our stay enjoyable. We loved to sit in the beautiful bar before and after dinner with the other guests and chat to Brian and Louise. The food was superb!!! We can really recommend the Chicken Curry...mmmmm! We would definitely plan a return visit with Lords of the Manor in future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Upon our arrival (on a short notice booking) I found the exterior of the building just amazing.
Unfortunately when I was trying to locate the barfridge I was told by Brian that there are none and he promised to remove this from the website, as I see this as false advertising (which hasn’t been done yet). I was a bit disappointed by the interior decorations (especially the rooms) if you see such magnificent exterior! The food was extremely good, the service was superb. A bit more attention to detail would help (a complete back gammon board would do the trick). I would defiantly return for a stay but only in suite no 7 which has a fireplace and the “feeling” of the old charm.

Room Tip: suite no 7. if you not as fussy as I am suite no 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank0861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
13.3 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
13.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sycamore Avenue Treehouse Lodge
9.8 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
21.0 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor

Property: Lords of the Manor
Address: D 487 Hidcote road, Mooi River 3300, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lords of the Manor, situated along the famous midland meander is the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic elegance together with Olde World charm and luxury. It has 17 luxury on suite rooms, each with individual tastes. All rooms have DSTV, Tea and Coffee facilities. Lords of the Manor is conveniently situated just outside Mooi River and is the first stop over on the midlands meander with a tar road the whole way, The Manor is set in the heart of the beautiful lush Natal Midlands farmland with dams and streams nearby for the purist fly fisherman. We are only 1.5 Hours from Durban and 3.5 Hours from JHB. Our warm friendly staff are waiting to welcome you to our manor where you can totally relax and enjoy the finer things in life fit for a King and Queen. Don't forget to book your Spa Treatment prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lords of the Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing