We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinelands
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very clean, offers great value for money to business travelers. The location is not ideal for tourists although there is easy access to main routes if you do have a car. Good breakfast, fast check-in and correct billing. This hotel is great for a quick one-night stay on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvester39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
21
4
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Randfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a great place to stay for business. Easy access to the motorway and not far from the airport or from the city centre. Secure parking and friendly service. Room was clean and comfortable. Had great food at the hotel restuarant - not a large selection on the menu but enough to choose from for a good meal - otherwise you can order from a delivery service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genesis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have stayed several times at City Lodge, Pinelands,and it has always been a pleasant experience - clean, good value for money and secure location. It's convenient to the airport and only a short drive into town.

Room Tip: We would recommend that you ask for a room with a view of golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a correct business travelers hotel, very secure place, in an area of businesses and the golf course. The parking was secure and staff was attentive to needs. There is an outside company that offers rooms service. You get a full menu and they bring it to the hotel from off site. The hotel does offer a full breakfast. There is a "coffee shop" menu for ordering a meal in the bar area in the evening time. We ate there one evening and while you certainly would not want to plan for it, in a pinch, it is satisfying. There is a full bar and the prices were very low compared to US prices. The place was very clean. We did have 1 problem with our non smoking room. The second day of our stay we returned to the room and found it smelling of smoke. There is a vent in the bathroom that was the problem allowing a draft from another room. Very smelly. I stuffed a wet towel in the vent and left it there the rest of the stay and took care of that problem. The hotel I feel was equal to a mid to high grade Marriott type US hotel. The tv's were the older style but everything else up to date. 2 notes: The bathroom offers no privacy so it would be VERY awkward to stay in a room with someone other then your spouse (at least the room I had). Also, the hotel did not appear to be very accessible to a wheelchair or someone that would have trouble going up stairs.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is one of my regular stay over’s whenever my husband or I fly into South Africa and that happens on a regular basis. On a previous occasion I had complained about a truly funky toilet smell in the room and taken out the trouble to fill in a form supplied that allows for this purpose.

This stay provided the same funky smell in a different room. We had a two night stay over and on the first day a few hours after checking in we received a call from reception to say the water would be switched off for about 4 hours as they were having some issues. That was 12 noon. We arrived back from shopping that evening and still no water. My husband went to enquire and was told at 20h00 the water would be on. At 22h00 there was still no water. Eventually the water came on at 23h00. We understood that sometimes things just do not work out but were not offered anything by the hotel in return for this inconvenience and indeed it felt as if the staff would rather avoid our questions than try and give us a direct answer.

I think the cherry on top was the cockroach on our door the next morning. I think my run with this City Lodge is come to an end. For those that still want to endure, the breakfasts are good but staff can be somewhat slow to fill up a coffee cup, the surroundings are great and the hotel is close to the N2 but sound proofed rather well from the traffic. It is a short drive to the airport and a shuttle can be arranged. You will need to drive a bit of a way to the Waterfront and Century City but all in all a peaceful surrounding. The rooms are mostly clean and the bed pleasant although I wish they would update a bit on TV’s and real cotton bedding. We will however be trying another spot on our next flight in.

Room Tip: We liked second floor bedrooms if you do not mind lugging baggage upstairs. Nice pool areas, nice cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsandclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The service was excellent, rooms clean and airy. Air conditioning worked well.
The TV should be upgraded to a flat screen. The rooms were beautifully serviced with clean towels every day. The coffee shop's food was reasonably priced, tasty and the portions were generous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

As I had some business in and around Cape Town, my rep choose the City Lodge for me to stay. Conveniently located close the the airport and for my appointments a good base to work from. However it is NOT in the city of CapeTown. for me this was not a problem. rooms are of a good size with a nice feature between batroom and bedroom, it can be open or close whatever you desire. Good breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order. Price was also decent for the entire stay. some nice restaurants in the pinewoods but you need a car to get there easily.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
3.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#78 of 109 in Cape Town Central
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
6.0 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Pinelands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Pinelands

Property: City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
Address: 44 Raapenberg Road | at Mowbray Golf Park, Pinelands 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Pinelands 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old English-type suburb of Pinelands, with rooms overlooking the first green of Mowbray Golf Course. Close to most major attractions in the Cape Town area. The CBD and Rondebosch is only 8 minutes away, and Cape Town International Airport 10 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Pinelands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Pinelands Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing