We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinelands
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On return from an overseas holiday we spent the night at the City Lodge Pinelands. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. The reception was great and took only a minute to sign in.
Our luggage was taken to our room which was really very nice. Clean and comfortable bed with lovely bathroom and fluffy towels. Very quiet air conditioning help us have a very good nights sleep. The breakfast next morning was great. It just seemed to us that the staff were so pleased to have us as guests. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad that we can provide you with that home away from home feeling, further we're pleased you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    42
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
21
4
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and chose it because of its close proximity to both the airport and the start of a The Two Oceans Marathon. Staff were very friendly and efficient, food was great, plenty of secure parking and very comfortable well appointed room. All in all excellent value for money and some nice personal touches. Obviously a good management team in place at this establishment. Take a bow!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

As far as a hotel room goes, I can't give you the value-for-money rating because I'm here on business and have no idea how much the room costs, however, I can give you my impression of the place based on my experience thus far.

The double twin that I'm staying is is fine; comfortable beds, decent sized TV, air con, coffee and tea facilities, and a separate lounge chair and coffee table. A bonus is the separate shower / bath which often isn't available in rooms of this size.

There's a separate fitness area which offers a few cardio machines and some weights - good enough.

Mornings are greeted with a good assortment of hot and cold breakfasts - my personal preference is the roasted nuts in honey and cereal but there's enough variety for everyone.

I'm NOT happy about the misleading hotel information on the website:
"Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop" - not true, it's not large enough so I have my laptop left out at night (although I've been offered to use the manager's private safe, this is simply not convenient).

The cupboard is also small - can't fit my luggage nor my work shirts in the cupboard properly!

Wireless internet amounts to 60 minutes uncapped 4Mbps (or so) per 24 hours, with an option to top up for more. Judging by the general quality of the room I can't imagine the price of the room is cheap, so 60 minutes WIFI seems a bit tight.

To have a friend join me for breakfast was going to cost R115 for a mixed breakfast or R100 for the continental option (and it's not R15 for a cooked meal so I don't know how they work out a continental costing R100) - way too steep!!

The biggest issue I have with the hotel is an experience I had today: I came home after a long day at work, found my card did not open my room any more, got a new one loaded, and came into my room to find an economy class South African Airways ticket in my bed dating a week ago! Seems a bit peculiar that someone else's ticket is in my room and that my card didn't work; I suspect they're unrelated but in the worst-case, someone else gained access to my room (a simple request at front desk can accomplish this; not faulting the system, just quite alarming how easy it could technically be) and then slept in my room. Most likely case is that the linen wasn't properly turfed the last time and I've got remnants of Mr. M Mapaya's leftovers in my bed tonight!

The hotel is overall a reasonably happy experience; comfortable and staff are very pleasant but either way, not a pleasant thought to think there's dirty linen on my bed - quite disconcerting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brattex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we offer. However, we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We will most definitely look into this matter. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very well appointed and excellent value for money. Handily located to the north of Cape Town this new hotel offers good sized rooms and value for money dining. Very friendly and helpful staff, wifi provided free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astroian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you gain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is so central and within a few minutes to the N1, N2, M5 the city, airport, Canal Walk,/Century, UCT, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden and many other places. The service is good. There is golf course in the vicinity. The hotel is very close to Vincent Pallotti Hospital and Oude Mollen. From the hotel you can see table mountain and UCT

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the N2, those along Forest Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We are pleased to hear taht you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hi,
We stayed here about a week. Very good location central close to airport & central Cape Town. Very friendly staff, excellent breakfasts! Very clean & a pool too! Parking is secure, & some views onto a lovely peaceful golf course. Will stay here again when we're in Cape Town!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thanks so much for your review - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Thanks to other TripAdvisor reviewers, I chose this hotel for my 2 day Cape Town stay. What a pleasure!
Conveniently placed just off the N2, a few minutes from town... easy to find.
Overlooking a peaceful golf-course.
Secure parking.
Lovely coffee-shop and breakfast area.
Clean, comfy rooms.
Wifi.
Friendly staff.
What's not to like? :) I'll definitely stay here again on future trips.

Room Tip: Ask for early check-in if you need it - I did, and was accommodated without any fuss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caromorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review- hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#76 of 106 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
4.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
440 reviews
6.0 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Pinelands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Pinelands

Property: City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
Address: 44 Raapenberg Road | at Mowbray Golf Park, Pinelands 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Pinelands 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old English-type suburb of Pinelands, with rooms overlooking the first green of Mowbray Golf Course. Close to most major attractions in the Cape Town area. The CBD and Rondebosch is only 8 minutes away, and Cape Town International Airport 10 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Pinelands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Pinelands Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing