We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Garangeoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Garangeoire
Certificate of Excellence
Dub in Down
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is by far the best campsite we have ever visited. From the moment we arrived and checked in with reception the service and atmosphere were outstanding. It is set in a woodland and the beaches of Vendee are only a 20 min drive away. This campsite is all about families and it really feels as if you have entered a big family. I know the owners are actively involved in the day to day running of the site and it shows.
There was so much to do we found it difficult to keep up with our children aged 4 and 7. We booked with Keycamp and the mobile home a villa delux was very tired and dated and not the best we have stayed in but this is no reflection on this campsite. The kids clubs with Keycamp were as good as ever and the child care workers are wonderful and really make sure the children have fun. My daughter learned to ride her bike with no stablisers thanks Terri!!
There were crepe parties, garden parties, bubble workshops, balloon workshops, basketball demos, bands playing the list is endless. Plus a kids club in the evening so that parents can have a meal or a few glasses of wine in peace.
If you have children and you want a holiday that everyone will enjoy book here you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubinDownSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
243
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

In June 13 we stayed in La Garangeoire for 10 days with our two boys aged 5 and 2. The campsite is located in rural Vendee amongst some beautiful scenic countryside. This was our first stay at La Garangeoire.
Functional facilities in the campsite are excellent with a well stocked shop, ample laundry services and a very helpful and knowledgeable reception area and staff - a special mention to Jean Luc who always showed how first class customer service should be conducted.
Entertainment facilities that we use on the campsite included; fishing on the lakes, tennis, the swimming pool complex, cycling, walks in the forest, table tennis, trampolines, mini golf, playground, football and go karts (at additional cost).
For evening entertainment the site has 2 bars (although the cosy bar beside reception was not used in the evening) a restaurant and a take away. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and found the staff and food to be pleasant. The take away served lovely pizzas at reasonable price. The main bar backs onto a large walled garden which was beautiful on fine evenings to sit outside and enjoy a drink while the kids played on the bouncy castle and ran about making friends. There was also a crepe night here which was good fun and well worth doing.
We booked through Key Camp but ended up using the on site kids club. Aisling was very enthusiastic and attentive an deserves a special mention. The accommodation itself was well equipped though the grass area around the mobile should have been maintained/cut more regularly.
My wife really enjoyed the yoga classes (€7) which was on three times per week. My outlets were fishing on the site and cycling to Lac de Jaunay. The lakes on site had lots of small course fish (roach and hybrids) and also plenty of perch. While we were there Dave (fishing guru) stocked 10 carp in the main lake. My 5 year old caught his first fish on La Garangeoire which he is still talking about!
An absolute must for everyone why stays on La Garangeoire is the walk with Anne. She conveys the story and history of the house and lands with great passion and it is really really interesting. Erics talk at the 'welcome drink' is also worth a visit. Credit to them both for running such a wonderful site.
I'd also recommend 'getting out' and visiting other areas of the Vendee. Places we found interesting were Apremont, the Aquarium at La Rochelle, the Vendee history museum and the beach at Bretignolles sur Mer.
Previous reviews have covered supermarkets etc, so I won't go into that.
Overall, and even though the weather was far from ideal while we were there, we would highly recommend this site. These holidays are what you make of them, so get out there and enjoy yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just back this week after 2 weeks in La Garangeoire. Oscar Wilde ferry to Cherbourg was great and a 5 hour drive with one stop to get to the site. All main road or motorway so no real problem. Kids had tablets and stuff to keep them occupied. This was our second visit and it was probably our best ever family holiday. The weather was great 30c the first week, slightly cooler the second but sun shone every day with one or two late thunderstorms. Stayed with Keycamp and were put in amarantes pitch which is really near the reception and almost right beside friends of ours so our kids all played out on the grass. The staff are really good, friendly and the owner Anne does a walking tour every Wednesday morning. She does a 2 hour nature and history tour which was great. She is very proud of the vendee and you even get into the house at the end. My wife did the wine tasting which was great. Pools are good, not too crowded. Activities are plentiful, our girls did pony trekking, free table tennis and crazy golf, kids play park good. The atmosphere at night in the garden is fantastic, with good entertainment, mix of discos, live bands, magic shows and the fantastic garden madness every Wednesday night with probably every child in the campsite playing all the games. Parents could sit in the garden tables, have a glass or two and watch as their kids safely played in the garden. Restaurant good and not too dear. Take away fine and small shop on-site is fine. Large supermarkets within 10 minutes drive with good value food and wine, with amazing range of fruit and seafood. Local markets good and towns of st Gilles, les sables d'olonne all worth a visit. Golf course 10 mins away at les fontanelles which cost 50 euro for 18 holes which we played. The best bit however was the atmosphere - La Garangeoire is a great place loved by kids and parents and people come back every year. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandhurstBerkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had nearlly 3 weeks on site going on a rally with caravan club from dyfed in wales.The pitches were huge loads of room for all we took.Lots on site to do we didnt have children with us but there was a lot to do and well organised.The resturant was good we had a few meals for birthdays etc.There were a lot of places to visit and everywhere was spotless.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday with our 2 boys aged 5 and 7. We stayed in a tent with Eurocamp and it was all perfect. We didn't use the kids club - but there was plently to do to keep children entertained. The tennis courts were great and there are lots of table tennis tables dotted around so take bats and balls (or hire from reception).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is an amazing campsite. There is a 'Top 10' award in the Eurocamp reception and you can see why.

The site itself belongs to a French chain (Les Castels) and is mix of traditional camping pitches and Eurocamp, Keycamp etc. mobiles. The first thing you notice is how beautiful the site is. It's set around an old chateau, is heavily wooded and has a beautiful lake on site. Most of the pitches are nicely screened off and aren't on top of each other.

The facilities are good (and spotless). Campsite reception is helpful, the toilets and wash blocks were really clean, there is the usual bike hire, restaurant (really good!) and takeaway, and there is a small site shop. It's not that well stocked but does fresh bread and croissants, and there's a massive hypermarket in Aizenay (about 15 minutes away).

The pools are really good (although seating around the pool is a little limited and can get busy).

What really set this site apart was the activities. There was the usual Keycamp/Eurocamp kids clubs (great as always) but the site itself had an amazing array of things to do. There is a site kids club (1000-1200), tennis, table tennis and football tournaments, fishing, scuba diving, pool games, yoga, treasure hunts and spa treatments (to name a few). The programme changes weekly and the parc activity staff (all English speakers) were brilliant.

The bar has a nice enclosed garden, which means parents can sit and have a drink whilst the children play, knowing they can't get out without going past you. There is a band or disco, or some other evening entertainment on in the garden most evenings. And if you want a grown up meal then there is an evening kids club.

We went in the 2nd and 3rd weeks of July so it wasn't rammed (most visitors were Scottish or Irish so the atmosphere was good!). I'm not sure how much busier it would get at peak times.

We didn't do much off the parc but there is plenty to do. There is a great beach (and seafood restaurants) in Les Sables-d'Olonne (20 minutes drive), La Rochelle is under 2 hours away and there are loads of other things to do.

The parc is easy to get to. It's an easy 4 hour drive (with a couple of stops) from St Malo.

My only minor gripe is that they won't let you out before 0700. There is a night watchman on duty but the barrier is closed overnight. We had to leave at 0530 for our ferry so had to leave the car outside the barrier (still on site and secure though) the night before.

That said, we had an amazing holiday and will definitely go back to La Garangeoire!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolframwolfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We travelled with our tourer caravan and were on site for 2 weeks from the 6th to 20th July, 2 adults & a 12 year old. Pitch was huge, shaded and sunny. We booked to have electricity, water & waste. Plenty for everyone to do. Tennis, archery, french bowls, table tennis & footy tournaments, bike hire, the list goes on.

My hubby entered the bowls tournament, he was paired with Mark, brilliant wee character from Northern Ireland & they won. Don't know who was the most shocked, none of them had played before in their lives.

Our electricity tripped one night, we waited until the next day to report it & the maintenance guy was round within 5 minutes. No sooner had he gone& it tripped again!! (turns out was another camper had a fault on their on board electrics). He managed to find the problem pretty quickly!

The crossing of the lake was fantastic, such a laugh. We hired bikes and did a couple of the trails.

The weather was fantastic while we were there which was fantastic, although there is plenty to see & do around the area should it not be so nice.

We have reserved to go back next year & we can't wait. Meeting up with new friends we made this year.

My only criticism & it's not major is when the site got busy, trying to get a washing machine was a nightmare, not enough for size of site.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Julien-des-Landes
12.8 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sulpice-le-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
12.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Chateau de la Verie
Chateau de la Verie
#1 of 6 in Challans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
#2 of 2 in La Mothe Achard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garangeoire

Property: La Garangeoire
Address: la Garangeoire | St Julien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 356
Also Known As:
La Garangeoire Hotel Vendee
La Garangeoire Saint-Julien-Des-Landes, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing