We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite, excellent value holiday.”
Review of La Garangeoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Garangeoire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at La Garangeoire in a site owned caravan. The caravan was small but perfectly formed and in a prime position for all the facilities.

The site feels spacious without being huge and we found it to be quiet at night and generally quite laid back.

We thought the holiday as a whole was very good value as there are loads of free activities for children and adults, such as French Bowls, mini golf (free to borrow clubs and 2 euros for a ball you can keep), canoes, pedalos, football matches, games of cricket, tag rugby, kids club, fishing. The Garden Party at the bar was good fun, again with free bouncy castles, face painting and Wii games (amongst other things) for the children. There is no pressure to join in with anything if you aren't interested and the activities are in no way 'in your face holiday camp' style!

We enjoyed the dunes beach at Bretignolles at low tide when the rock pools are exposed, and Sables D'Olonne has gorgeous golden sand (obviously!).

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we found the Animation team to be dedicated and very hard working.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site to active families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wussbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for La Garangeoire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We're on the last day of a fantastic fortnight here. We've got a five year old and a two year old and have been staying in one of La Garangeoire's own chalets. We're pretty new to campsite holidays. However it's hard to imagine how this place could be topped for beauty of surroundings, volume and range of activities (for kids and grown ups), service and general ease of life. And the weather hasn't even been that great! We're planning on booking another fortnight for next year as soon as we get back. Before we do though, we'd love to hear about any other exceptional sites in France found by families who have enjoyed La Garangoire. Can this place be beaten?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DanandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently spent a week here in our own tent, as a family of three with our four year old son. We were extremely impressed with the large and private pitches, and the general feeling of space around the site. The service on the whole was excellent, being shown to our pitch by reception was a nice touch, and they were extremely helpful with local restaurant booking and general information. Despite being August we found the camp site to still have a peaceful ambience, aided by the space, and, although there is a great programme of events organised each day for all ages, this was in no way intrusive to those that didn't want to participate. We did take part in the crepe party which was great fun. The site have strict rules on noise and as such we found it particularly quiet between 23.00 and 09.00, having then gone on to a site with no noise controls, we can see the value of this even more! I also like the fact that this camp site focuses on value, not cost and therefore free use of boats, pedaloes, and crazy golf was also welcome. The sanitary blocks were well maintained and cleaned regularly, and we never had to queue for showers. We spent most of our time on the camp site, however did venture to Le Grand Defi, which we all loved, a local beach and market (Bretignolles Sur Mer) and a nice restaurant (Le Carabi) recommended by the reception. The only negative comment we have is in relation to the service at the ice cream bar. The ice cream is excellent, and as such very popular, but due to poor service it generally took around 20 minutes or more to get served, and this did detract from the otherwise excellent service. This isn't our favourite part of France but we would certainly return to stay at this site again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for years with my family and it's the best campsite we've been to in France. It's brilliant for kids; there are literally tons of things to keep them entertained. The grounds are really well-maintained and the staff cannot do enough for you. Pitches are a very generous size and the toilets and facilities are cleaned throughout the day. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were really looking forward to returning to La Garangeoire after a fab holiday last year, and again, it didn't disappoint. We were there from 9-23rd August, so peak season, and yet the site is so spacious it doesn't ever feel crowded. The staff are still fab - some familiar faces from last year, and some lovely new ones, who all seem to be enthusiastic, welcoming and helpful - exactly what you need on holiday. Our 7 year old son had a wonderful time doing an Archery lesson, the instructor pitched it just right to the children's group and it was great to see. There are so many activities to do on site if you want them, we did lots of them this year, and they were all great.
The surrounding area and nearby coastal areas are lovely too - we loved rock-pooling at Bourgenay, and the Normandeliere beach and the beach at St Gilles Croix de Vie were both lovely too. The market at Bretignolles-sur-Mer is worth a visit, especially the food hall.

Overall, another fantastic holiday, very sad to have to come home, and we know we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat79T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We returned a few weeks ago from a 9 night stay at La Garangeoire with Eurocamp staying in a Safari tent. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children (ages 13,11,6). This was our first time with Eurocamp and our first time camping.

Overall the campsite exceeded our expectations. The campsite is extremely well run and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday despite the variable weather!

The positives - all communal areas including the toilet and shower blocks were immaculately clean and well looked after, the safari tents were excellent - very comfortable beds!, excellent pool area, very reasonably priced ice-cream (2euro) and drinks in the pool bar, make your own pancake evenings (7.5 euros) were fun and good value for money, large private pitches, lovely play park, football camp (5 euros per session) was a great way to make friends, staff in Reception area and bar were very helpful, lake area was lovely (only had to pay a deposit for pedals and canoes).

Negatives - wifi was very poor, some staff in main restaurant were rude and slow, entertainment in evening wasn't great (the band was very poor), the shop opening hours were very limited, lots of flies in bar area, the Eurocamp Reps were glorified cleaners - very limited customer service provided.

We wouldn't hesitate returning to the site. Despite it being a smaller site it has the facilities of a large campsite. Fully deserving of its 5 stars. The beach at les sables was also worth a visit.

Room Tip: Eurocamp safari tents are excellent. Ask to be located near the shower block.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miskin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Great campsite third year returning with static caravan. The only problems we had was the restaurant we were served by a French waitress who was extremely rude and unfriendly. When I asked her what the specials were she told me look at the board! Then when she was asked about an option on the menu her reply was how should I know I've never eaten it! The French fries were sparse and everyone of them were half black. Definitely not good value for money I'd rather pay more for a decent meal and friendly service. Bar food is strangely better but again very little French fries and the fish portions are more like kids portions. One other problem is the flies in the toilets and in the bar area itself. Overall lovely campsite our kids loved it but staff in restaurant unfriendly and unhelpful. Pool is too small for the volume of holidaymakers but we spent most days on the lovely beaches nearby. Recommend new waterpark and improving the quality in restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ssttcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Julien-des-Landes
12.8 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
964 reviews
4.3 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fo...
#1 of 1 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
218 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix de Vie
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix d...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Domaine de Brandois
Domaine de Brandois
#1 of 2 in La Mothe Achard
335 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
#1 of 15 in La Roche-sur-Yon
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garangeoire

Address: la Garangeoire | St Julien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range: £32 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 356
Also Known As:
La Garangeoire Hotel Vendee
La Garangeoire Saint-Julien-Des-Landes, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing