We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Best place I've ever been', Will, aged 11”
Review of La Garangeoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Garangeoire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We booked this holiday through EuroParcs, who were considerably cheaper than the other operators. The chalet was immaculate and stocked. It was the perfect distance from the Chateaux, quick to get to for the amenities and far enough away to be quiet in the evenings.
There was more than enough to keep our kids entertained; well organised events, football, table tennis, bikes, pedalos for instance. The swimming pool was excellent, cared for by someone who insisted on rearranging the loungers in perfect rows! Even though we did not use the bars and restaurant, judging by their popularity, they must've been excellent.
La Garangoire is looked after by a very conscientious family. We were cared for by a chap called Jean-Luc, who was excellent. It only took minutes to have our gas bottle changed.
As for the location, it is excellent. The drive down from Cherbourg wasn't too long and took us far south enough to have good weather. There is plenty for us to do close by. It is a short drive to the excellent sandy and huge beaches and there are plenty of wonderful French museums and villages to explore. We took a day trip to the Puy du Fou, which is an incredible medieval theme park. Well worth the drive!
Everyone loved it, so we booked it up with EuroParcs again for a fortnight in August. Looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

La Garangeoire is part of the "Les Castels" chain. Anybody who has stayed in a Castels campsite will know that they are considerably better than the average campsites throughout France.

We (2 adults & 2 teenagers) spent the last 2 weeks of July 2010 at La Garangeoire and we got very lucky with the weather, sunshine almost of every day, with only a small amount of rain. We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet which was very spacious with good storage, our pitch was a very good size (big enough I'd say to park 4 cars) and private . It appears that pitches owned by & booked directly with the campsite are considerably bigger than those occupied by the various operators on the site.

The site is family owned & run. The family are evident throughout the campsite, the bar, the reception, the pool area, the restaurant and the maintenance staff. Reports on some other websites gave the impression that the family ruled with an iron fist, this wasn't our experience. We has a small problem withour chalet, which I reported at reception, by the time I had walked back to the chalet (150mtrs), maintenance had arrived and fixed the problem.

We didn't use the main on site restaurant by choice, although judging by how busy it was every evening it must have been good. The take-away service was very comprehensive.

There are 2 bars on the campsite. The main bar is by the pool area and is where the nightly entertainment takes place. I suppose, like any organised entertaiment there's good and not so good. In our 2 week stay we had the full range. The weekly table quiz was good fun, although the questions had a very British slant !!!! The smaller bar, beside reception, dates back to the opening of the campsites in the 1960's is excellent, small & snug and just the spot on a night when the organised entertainment leaves a lot to be desired.

The campsite has a very well equipped bicycle hire facility which also organises guided cycles in the local area - not for young kids, older teens & adults.

The nearest beaches are about 7/8 Km away in Brem-sur-Mer & Bretignolles-sur-Mer, or for larger beaches, Les Sables d'Olonne is about 20km to the South, whilst St Jean Des Monts is a similar distance to the North. The nearest decent size super market is at La Mothe-Achard. There is a very big Leclerc at St Gilles Croix Des Villes.

St Gilles is well worth a visit, especially if you want to eat out some evenings, its got a very good selection of well priced eateries. It's about a 25 minute drive.

Overall, I'd be happy to recommend La Garangeoire. It's a well run campsite with plenty to do for all ages. Pool complex is very good.

Travel time to / from Roscoff is about 5 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Ok, so this is not a hotel but a campsite. Have seen loads of questions on TripAdvisor asking if anybody had been...so here is the review.
We booked thru Keycamps and had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom mobile home/caravan with decking and gas BBQ. It was all clean and tidy and plenty of room for me and the wife and our 3 children (ages 15, 13, and 6). One thing to mention is there is no TV! They also are supplied with deck chairs and sunlougers. Many of the homes are set within a wooded area.

Check in was painless and every member of staff is helpful and speak good english (although we did try to talk french)

The campsite is lovelly and clean, and is very quiet in the evenings, the home has blackout blinds and is pitch dark so great for a good nights sleep. Its all very quiet in the mornings as well as people seem to get up slowly and start the morning at a slow leisurely pace.

Facilities on the site include cafe, bar, restaurant, takeaway, all good prices however maybe better quality and choice could be needed but we had no complaints at all. Prices very good.

Pool complex including pool side bar, covered pool, main pool, 2 chutes, loads of sun loungers etc.

Games room including pool tables, pinball machines, arcade machines. Sports facilities include tennis, archery, free fishing (3 lakes) horse riding, table tennis, running courses, bike hire. Also on the lake there is free boating with canoes, pedalos and rowing boats.

Entertainment in the evening included a clown, face painting, sky sports, live group, quiz night, crepe nights (cook your own on your own crepe table).

Kids clubs were good for the children as well and were available everyday if needed.
All in all, this is a great campsite with loads to do for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RustyForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

we thought we would try La Garangeoire out, as we have 3 and 2 year old boys and this camp site catered to toddlers. In fact Eurocamp calls it a "Petit Paradis", however your's truely didn't read the small print which notes that between July and August most toddler activities are suspended for the school holidays.

4 of us stayed in a "premier" mobile home, which had enough room but was pricy. Other pitches are very close, so there is not much privacy. If you book to come here with Thomson their allocated pitches are a long way away from the pool, bar, reception etc.

Some plus points - Cabins and facilities were clean, staff were helpful and our boys loved it.

On the negative side - The beds/mattresses are poor quality, take your own pillows at the very least.
There are 100-120 sun beds around the pool, this site has 360 pitches with an average of 3 people per pitch, you do the maths.

Food from the camp take away was rather unimaginative, if you like chicken, pizza and chips every night then you're in luck. Our pitch came with a gas bbq and there is a large supermarket (Super U) 10 minutes away so we didnt have to eat at the camp restaurant which was a little soul less. In addition the creche wasn't designed to hold our 3 year old for longer than 2 minutes.

Internet access via wifi and your own laptop, or one of 4 Macs, was 5 Euro an hour and only available within 10 yards of the reception. I thought this was a bit of a rip off.

I'd reiterate what a few other posts have noted. There is a 10pm cut off for any noise - social or otherwise. So if you have teens they are probably going to want to escape, however the nearest village is 4 miles away. In fact I'd go as far as to say that this camp is aimed at 5 to 12 yr olds only.

Most "campers" we spoke to said that this camp is the best in the region, though the famous Vendee microclimate seemed to work the other way round whilst we were there as the sun was always over the horizon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank besseau m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank persofre85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Julien-des-Landes
12.8 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
1,017 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
409 reviews
12.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Domaine de Brandois
Domaine de Brandois
#1 of 2 in La Mothe Achard
340 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sulpice-le-Verdon
176 reviews
22.4 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garangeoire

Address: la Garangeoire | St Julien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range: £32 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 356
Also Known As:
La Garangeoire Hotel Vendee
La Garangeoire Saint-Julien-Des-Landes, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing