We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yelloh! Village Chateau de la Foret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a really friendly park with a nice feel about it where the owner is very active and keen to maintain standard. We stayed for 10 nights with Eurocamp in July/Aug in a 2 bed classic+ which was spotless and functional. The EC reps, were the nicest / best we have ever experienced! The camping area itself is relatively small but didn't feel overcrowded as the pitches are reasonably spaced out and it is based on 150+ acres of forested grounds. In my opinion the facilities were very good but not quite outstanding. Only little things like toilets near the pools for the little ones. We only tend to chose small and quiet sites and weren't disappointed although our pitch could have been a bit better as it backed on the D55 which isn't at all busy but cars driving "in rush hour" were noticeable to us. We were also under the trees so got very little direct sunlight, on the plus side the mobile was very cool which was great. I would say half the site is in the sun and the the other in the woods, you pay your money and take your chance as they say but worth requesting at booking if its important to you. There are two main pools, one covered which never seemed to be overcrowded, one much quieter than the the other with the slides. The real highlight for us was the high-ropes courses within the grounds (Grand Defi) which were brilliant fun for everyone from 2 to OAP! There are some lovely walks / runs around the site / forest as well, it's beautiful. The restaurant served good quality food (had three evening meals) and the bar / courtyard area was a very nice place to sit and have a beer whilst the kids played, a sun trap! We also didn't feel ripped off by the prices as on some camp sites, e.g. you could eat three courses for 16 euros. Pony rides, crazy golf (which had seen better days), tennis, table tennis and a mini petting farm kept my two kids very happy. You could also walk to the friendly little supermarket and bakery in the village and there is also a chemist if needed. Also try Sauvettre beach as it is lifeguarded with lots of parking and good on beach facilities. All in all a great little place in a lovely part of France! We'd go there again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ianthemood4aholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Yelloh! Village Chateau de la Foret
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Cheateau de la Foret. Axel (owner, manager and all round nice chap) and his team gave us a wonderful week, entertaining us with wine tastings, welcome drinks, cabaret, cooking lessons and so much more.
The campsite is set in the grounds of the beautiful Cheateau de la Foret. It really is stunning. It suited my family of two daughters (aged four and six) who were able to wander freely, playing on the bouncy castles (sometimes a little hectic later at night with bigger children), trampolines, playground with sandpit, mini-farm, as well as the amazing tree climbing (like Go Ape, only better!) across the lakes.
We were put on pitch number one - try and avoid this one - it's closest to the central part of the site where all the entertainment happens. It's not grassy and tent pegs are hard to put in to the stony ground and, what's more, it doesn't get much sun. But that didn't put us off!
The site feels like a small village with the wee epicerie, the restaurant (which is really very good, though we wished they had more seafood!), bar which is located in the stables and friendly staff. They have a great team of girls who took our daughters for a couple of hours every morning which they loved. They fed the animals on the farm, fed the ducks in the pond, did crafty things and were very happy. Older boys enjoyed football and other more active things.
The site is about an hour from Puy du Fou, a must-do place for kids and adults of all ages. We really enjoyed our visit there and will go back in the future.
All in all, we'd go back, we loved it, it's not too noisy, despite the review from someone who was there the same week as us, it's not dirty (though the swimming pool foot cleaners are devoid of water!!) and the staff are really helpful. We'd recommend it. It's not five stars because of our pitch.....But there are a lot of much more beautiful, grassy and bigger ones. Thank you Axel and team.

Room Tip: Don't choose pitch one!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wickedkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights in a mobile home having booked through Canvas. The unit was clean and located in a very peaceful area towards the rear of the site but the unit is old and lacks decking and the shower was very poor but nothing to complain about. The units we saw, if you book direct with the camp site are much more modern and do have decking, which prevents you carting in dust and dirt, and offers a better place to sit out and have a meal. The one Canvas rep on site also very helpful I must add.

We were with our eleven year old daughter, having booked this because the website stated it had horse riding on the camp site. There were pony rides but no horse riding(canvas holidays did not suggest there was). However, when we discussed it with the owner of the Chateau who runs the camp and is always on site working and helping, he could not have been more helpful and got on the phone to the stables that are only about one mile away and provided us with all the information required. He speaks perfect English as do many of the staff. He is a first class host.

While the Chateau needs investment and more attention needs to be given to cleaning areas up the general feel is very good. Most people we met were very happy and many returned year in year out. There are many Dutch campers and our daughter made many new friends in this short time.

We would have been happy staying here for two weeks as there is plenty to do around. The outside pool is cold, however the covered pool is warm but as pointed out by the previous reviewer, the foot cleaner was empty but I did not see any scum and the pool and slide was being enjoyed by the children and a few adults. There is plenty places to sit around the pool under the covered area and as the lawn is vast plenty of outside area to put a towel down and enjoy the sunshine, there are numerous chairs around the pool and people come and go and do not take ownership of these.

The lakes, fishing, zip wire course, paint ball plus entertainment around the bar of a night and bouncy castles, ping pong plus plus - This is a four star site and it appears to me that the owner likes it the way it is, relaxed - causal - friendly - and good value for money.

We would be more than happy to come back again but because the riding school is not on site we shall stay on another site a mile away but would rather be here than on the five star a mile or so away. If you do not have children that want to ride and spend there time around horses and stables all day then stay here rather than a crowded five star. Also those that run the riding school speak perfect English and because they are so professional we are booking up for two weeks next year as do others that we spoke too.

Drawbacks - do not stay with young children by the bar area as they might not sleep till about midnight but it is all good family fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this based on reviews. Wanted a quiet, low key site so didn't have high expectations. Swimming pool was a bit cloudy, with huge dirty scum mark round the edge. The foot cleaner was empty and full of dirt. The whole place is crumbling and not very professional. Needs big investment and time and effort spent on the grounds. Ok if that's what you are after. We had a caravan quite a way from the bar reception area but every night is noisy with music and there doesn't seem to be a no noise after 11pm policy. We have a 3 year old who goes to bed earlier than everyone else here- it would be ok with older kids if you were happy and keen to join in. The site is spacious with lots of room for kids to run around and play football in the adjacent field. Nice to have animals - goats, pig and rabbits to pet and feed but poor rabbits have a very small cage and don't ever get put in a run it seems:( Seems there is some big local festival going on this weekend. Live music and fireworks!
Did anyone care to tell us about it? We have had a nice week, a good base for the surrounding area but I wouldn't come back. Family run doesn't mean better.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank RachelLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just had a brilliant week with Eurocamp staying in the only tree house at this park. It has been built right on the edge of the lake and so from the main bedroom you can see straight across it as well as get to see the lovely sunsets in the evening as the sun goes down. There are frogs, ducks and fish all making their presence known especially at night but it is very romantic. There is a second bedroom with 3 single beds which overlook the forest. On the platform between the bedrooms you have a table and chairs where you can sit and admire the views For anyone that loves to fish this is an ideal location and if you are lucky you might even see deer and wild boar according to the owner Axel. It is very comfortable and there are nets for mosquitoes but we didn’t actually see any.

You are also given a tent for your cooking and for if you want to sleep on the ground rather than in a tree, there is a bit of a walk to get to the tree house but they do give you a trolley for your bags and we did hear that the path would be made in a more direct route. If you like to be away from the crowd this is ideal as you are at least 500 m from the nearest tent.

There is entertainment on every night in the bar including wine tasting with the owner Axel. He takes great pride in his park and makes everyone feel very welcome. There is plenty for children to do on the park with a bouncy castle, crazy golf, ping pong, trampolines etc.

And just next to the park just across the lake is a tree adventure park called Le Grand defi with zip wires over the lake, it is open to all ages and you can stay all day which is good value, it is run by professional people and you get a training briefing before you start, it is very well done and very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cooper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our third camping trip as a family and I finally found what I was looking for. Travelled with friends and booked two pitches through yelloh village. Upon arrival (not easy given the streets have no name) was delighted to find a rustic Chateau and grounds brimming with charm. Also relieved to find we would be pitching on a lovely large grassy pitch rather than miniature plots of dirt that we have had to contend with in previous years. They allow barbeques on the pitches which made for a memorable meal as we watched the sun go down the first night.
The activities have been mentioned in other reviews and I can only suggest to leave lots of time to do them AND factor in some downtime to enjoy the peace and tranquility on offer.
We did loads and still feel that we only scratched the surface of what Le Chateau offers. Its a great place in a great location. The only solution is to return next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here is august 2013 with our 3 children all under 11 and had a great time. The site is perefect if you want a more relaxing holiday but still with enough to entertain the chldren, and small enough that you can let them enjoy some freedom. There isn't much in the village and no restaurants but the one on site serves decent food at reasonable prices. There is a large super market within a 10 min drive so we ate on the BBQ that was provided with our tent. There is no noise in the evening so any pitch on site is a good one Puy du Fou theme parc is an amazing place and a must if you have children, ours couldn't decided which was better puy du fou or disney!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Julien-des-Landes
5.1 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fo...
#1 of 1 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
218 reviews
23.2 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
159 reviews
5.7 mi away
Camping Le Parc De La Greve
Camping Le Parc De La Greve
#1 of 1 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Oiseliere
Domaine de l'Oiseliere
#1 of 1 in Chauche
21 reviews
11.9 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#2 of 7 in Chateau-d'Olonne
377 reviews
14.4 mi away
Camping La Puerta Del Sol
Camping La Puerta Del Sol
#20 of 36 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelloh! Village Chateau de la Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelloh! Village Chateau de la Foret

Address: 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelloh! Village Chateau de la Foret 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Also Known As:
Yelloh! Village Chateau De La Foret Saint-Julien-Des-Landes, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing