We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Village de la Guyonniere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Village de la Guyonniere
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holiday 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Our second holiday at this site stayed two weeks at the end of August, great weather, site busy but not crowded, the large pitches help with this, free wifi good entertainment and the location by the lake for walks and cycling but 20 mins from the best beaches in France. Please Don't tell anyone.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    37
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Itchington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you like camping in the fresh air in a site where you have massive pitches ,the service by all the staff is amazing,the facilities extremely clean and we'll cared for and it is the sort of place that you would go back to year after year .Then please do not book or go to this site or tell anyone about it.

(Please note that all the words in this review are lies and are as far from the truth as you could get)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IDEANATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The owner is dutch... and so is 90% of the guests. We were in low-season (september 2013) with only half of the mobile homes occupied (and almost no tents) with mostly families with children in the 1-4 age range. So perfect for us.
What can be added to the other positive reviews? Just some tips: bring extension coard (as not so many 220V in the mobile home). Bring an electric kettle if you like tea (coffee maker is available). Find quickly the SuperU or the Lidl in the village La Mothe Achard. Bring a cheap barbecue (and buy coals at SuperU). Bring a small bicycle or rent one for the kids as the camping is HUGE. Only small drawbacks: wasps and bees and the (very) soft beds. The double bed is only 140 cm wide... take one room extra and concatenate the two single beds. Enjoy as this is really a place to go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a mobile home in the shade if you have children having an afternoon nap. Take an extra room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

What to say about La Guyonniere? well to start we were a family of four, 2 adults and 2 teenagers 13 & 16. We pitched on the "La Ruelle Basse site of the park on a small pitch which had enough space for my Grand Scenic, 6 man tent, 2 person pup tent & a gazebo!!. The shower / toilet / dish washing area was immaculate very big, clean and bang in the middle of the camping area. The only downside to our pitch area was the resident goats that for some reason kicked off at about 2am, bleating and screaming! (see the Taylor Swift goat video on You Tube). The campsite itself is generally made up of 50% dutch, 25% french, 20% british & 5% german, not a bad mix i thought ! and with continental feel the staff spoke fluently in all languages.The outside and under roof pool area was clean, well life guarded and never felt too crowded or hectic. The entertainment was the usual stuff like, bingo, karaoke, disco but then came the band evening and what a surprise to find an amazing bunch of talented musicians playing at this campsite over the 12 days we were there, we had a group of old rockers that looked ready for the knackers yard but when the band started to play it was like watching the stones but without the infamy! the band on the second week surprised me even more you had them playing the doors to bruno mars and what a delight to see the old and young dancing the evening away. The Spa facility is amazing, jacuzzi, hot tub, steam room, sauna, you have to give it a go. The last thing to say is about the Vendee itself, you have the weather, the food, the beaches and the people. We as a family love it here thats why this has been our fifth visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned from a good 2 weeks stay at this campsite in a 3 bedroomed Octalia mobile home.

I would say that it is mainly Dutch travellers here 90% with a few British and French.

The campsite very spacious with huge emplacements and many different areas. As the name suggests, it's more like a village, but does not feel busy.

The accommodation was good and adequate, but nothing extra special. Our accommodation had a decked terrace with a mis-match of plastic furniture and a light that was located outside of the decking area which was all but useless.

The kitchen was well equipped except for no kettle (apparently it blows the electricity) but no hob kettle either. Also the coffee filter machine comes without filters.

Bedding (sheets + pillow cases) are not provided but can be rented at extra cost.

The pool area is good (but I have been to better) and well marshalled with a nice bar area (happy hour, half price drinks 5 - 6 pm) attached.

The restaraunt was ok with a basic menu. We had the paella special one day, again nothing special, and the snack bar is as you would expect; pizza and frites.

The main bar is great, good choice, nice atmosphere and with free (but temperamental) wifi.

The entertainment program was good, catering mainly for Dutch, but then that is 90% of their clientelle.

Overall we had a very good holiday, but this was spoiled by an email we had from the campsite on our return home.

They wanted to charge us 100 euros for having to clean our mobile after we left. This I contested as we had spent over an hour sweeping and tidying, even using detergent on the toilets and sinks. However, their cleaners claim it needed them to also spend an hour and a half to clean it.

You are provided with a broom, dustpan and brush. I don't know what they expect you to do apart from sweep and brush, but I know we did a bit more than that and left the place in as good a condition as we found it.

My recommendation therefore is to book their inventories and fixtures check-out by their house-keeping team to avoid the dispute that we have had.

All in all I think it is a good campsite, generally worthy of it's five stars, although for this, I would have expected better patio / garden furniture (a couple of sun loungers would have been nice), a kettle and bedding as part of the package.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJabini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Julien-des-Landes
21.3 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 36 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riez a la Vie
Riez a la Vie
#3 of 33 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
20.8 mi away
Camping Le Petit Rocher
Camping Le Petit Rocher
#2 of 10 in Longeville-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
La Yole
La Yole
#4 of 36 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
12.6 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#3 of 6 in Chateau-d'Olonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.8 mi away
Camping L'Ocean
Camping L'Ocean
#2 of 5 in Brem Sur Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village de la Guyonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village de la Guyonniere

Property: Camping Village de la Guyonniere
Address: la Guyonniere, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Village de la Guyonniere 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Vendée in France, at only 10 km from the coast, the campsite La Guyonnière'll welcome you in a warm and homely atmosphere. Enjoy the various relaxing facilities and escape the crowdedness of the coast.You can choose your rental from a variety of mobile homes, chalets and equipped tents or rent a camping pitch for your tent, trailer tent or caravan.From camping La Guyonnière you can take a walk to the Lac du Jaunay (300 meters). This lake is famous for beautiful fishing spots. But you can also enjoy the lovely tracks for hiking, cycling or horse riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Village De La Guyonniere Saint-Julien-Des-Landes, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing