We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect 30th Birthday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The spacious lounge/dining room with log fire.
Spacious fully equipped kitchen.
The family bathroom with walk in shower.
The Old Chapel, Dunhallin, Waternish.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hallin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect 30th Birthday”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived after a long journey, to find the fire lit and wine awaiting us. The cottage was well equipped - the hosts going above and beyond to provide for us - even giving my boyfriend a 30th birthday card. Because of our brilliant hosts, we were able to book tables at the best local restaurants before we arrived on their recommendation. The cottage has gorgeous views over the bay, and is in easy reach of Dunvegan and Portree. This place stole our hearts <3

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaS14...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We visited the Old Church first of all in October 2017 and immediately rebooked to return February 2018. The owners were wonderful, the house stocked with everything you need and more and brilliantly dog friendly. We arrived to a roaring log fire, a bottle of wine and 6 freshly laid eggs ready for us - a welcome that was much appreciated after a 10 hour drive from the Midlands. Sometimes places just steal your heart and this is one of those for us. Gorgeous house, gorgeous location and amazing hosts and dogs Selkie and Skye. We hope to return really soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidwest...
Wappenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A superb stay.”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for seven days, Stephen and Kim were great hosts with nothing being to much trouble.lovely accommodation, warm and cosy in a beautiful setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“James Lewis”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived, and enjoyed Steve’s hospitality throughout the week. The Old Church is a very nicely converted property and fitted our needs exactly.

There was plenty of room for all 5 of us, with a spacious and comfortable living room with a coal fire, tv, bluetooth speakers and a sea view. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need for self-catering including a fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble drier, oven/hob.

The two bedrooms - sleeping 2 and 4 - were very warm and comfortable with sea views and the larger room with an ensuite.

There was plenty of information on things to do on the island and Steve was particularly helpful in this respect. We spent a great morning out on his boat fishing and photographing White-tailed Eagles feeding. Aside from the other fantastic locations to visit on Skye, we were treated to the Northern Lights locally on our final night.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at The Old Church and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a taste of island life on Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackPerks...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm weclome and a warm fire!”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely self catering accomadation with lots space and facilities. Worth going out on steves boat also for the sea eagles!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaggard15
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cracking place”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great place and good location. Everything was clean, people were very helpful and would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vistasun
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Space”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cannot praise this property enough. Filled with character & a very warm welcome.
It is so well equipped, no matter what your plans are, it accommodates. It's cosy, peaceful & comfortable, with the added friendliness of Steve, Kim, their son & dogs
we really can sing the praises enough of this converted Thomas Telford Church.
Highly recommend Wildskye boat trips, with Steve as your captain you'll have the most enjoyable informative few hours on the water, seeing Eagles, Seals & trying your hand at fishing, while experiencing a bit of history of the local area.
Many Thanks we will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing