We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge complex right in the middle of Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heritage Killenard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Huge complex right in the middle of Ireland”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Big spa and golf hotel used for business conferences and weddings. Food is fine, the service is good, the rooms are well appointed.
Book in advance if want spa treatments - no space at all in the two and a half days I spent, but that's more down to my lack of planning.
Rooms for conferences are traditional and ballroom-esq in decor and layout, and as was used for wedding the night before, possibly more suited to that.
Easy parking. Easy to find. Not bad value

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Uktraveller9569,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay for a business conference.

It is also good to hear you found the food, service and rooms good.

We would be delighted to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort should you visit the area again.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    382
    147
    50
    37
See reviews for
433
771
23
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here at the weekend at a do. This is actually our second year and this year was even better. Hotel itself is fab, all the staff that we met from front to serving staff couldnt be nicer.
the rooms are lovely, with the turn down at night. the bathroom very well stocked. We had to leave on sunday morn a half an hour befor breakfast, and fair- juice to the waitress she said go in and have ur breakfast its nearly set up which was brill, its easy to see why this is a 5 star. The breakfast was lovely plenty of variety and hot. again a big thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONBRI536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear JONBRI536,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review the resort.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort once again.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that we could accommodate you with breakfast before your early departure.

Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort next year.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Excellent reception, bar,restaurant, turn down, and room servicing staff who all made us feel very welcome. They were courteous, helpful and professional throughout our stay. Food was of an excellent standard also in the Arlington Restaurant, the golf club and Sol Oriens Italian restaurant. All round 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K30NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear K30NE,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and found the food of an excellent standard and staff courteous, helpful and professional.

We would be delighted to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had a fabulous Halloween here. Faultless. We just needed some r and r and can't wait to return! Food great, staff very friendly, rooms top class. It's our secret hideaway! Great with the family or alone as a couple. Also love the walk on the grounds. Fab all round.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marytIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear marytireland,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed Halloween with us.

It is also great to hear you found the food great, staff very friendly and rooms top class.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in the Heritage for two nights in October 2012. We paid a small amount more per night for a superior room which was definitely worthwhile. Our room had a lovely large bathroom with an old fashioned tub bath, double sinks, double shower and separate toilet. The room itself had a large bed with a large dressing table, office corner and two armchairs away from the bed. The room also had French doors out onto a balcony with views of the golf course. It was quite cold in October so the balcony wasn't used but I could imagine in the summer it would be lovely. We had an excellent meal in the hotel on the first night as part of our package which was restaurant quality. On the second night we ate in the Italian on the hotel grounds which had a nicer atmosphere and while the food was good it wasn't as good as the first night. Breakfast was a buffet and was pretty standard. I really enjoyed the hotel bar as it was small enough to be cosy but not cramped. The hotel is within easy driving distance of many different "things to do ", Kildare Shopping outlet, White water shopping centre, National Stud and more. We mostly stayed on the hotel grounds, there is a golf course and spa (the pool is very small). There seems to be varied packages on offer all year around so the hotel is great value for money. If I had one complaint it would be that their policy for "stay-overs" is that the room is not turned until after 3 pm, I found this rather late in the day. Also the underground tunnel that joins the hotel to the spa and golf club is freezing. If you were going for a swim in your togs with nothing but the bathrobe you'd be blue with the cold! (In October anyhow!) Overall we really enjoyed our break, the staff in all areas of the hotel were very professional but friendly, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: If your budget stretches go for a superior room - it really is worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisseyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear MorrisseyFan,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay from the views from you room to your dining experiences and the attractions in the local area.

It is also great to hear you found the staff professional and friendly.

Our policy on rooms would be for housekeeping to clean rooms due to arrive that day first as we have a guaranteed check in time of 3pm and then to refresh rooms which are staying over with us. Should guest request for their room to be refreshed earlier we would have no hesitation in doing so.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Beautiful resort, lovely grounds AND best of all a fabulous staff. Paula at the front desk was amazingly helpful and empathetic to our travel weariness. Michelle was a sweetheart and got us a bite to eat before the restaurant was open and later that day - she opened the kitchen and got us ice cream. Kevin at the bar was very friendly and an good referral for excellent food. Wings, chips, ravioli and Josh's choice were delicious.
Huge room, huge bathtub, terry robes and slippers - decadent touches.
AM breakfast was very yummy.
Brown soda bread is to die for.
Great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyFAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear SandyFAppleton_WI,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff amazingly helpful.

It is also great to hear you found the food excellent and the resort great value.

Should you visit the area again we would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort.

Kind regards,

Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallaght, dublin ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I'm sure "back in the day" this was the place to go to, but I cannot see it now. Its easily accesible within 45minutes from Dublin and very easy to find. Its #1 Hotel in Killenard, becasue its the only hotel there in fairness.

Was at a wedding here at start of October and had originally booked a room there for aprox €165. We decided to cancel with a week to go and booked a B&B close by, thus saving ourselves €90.

The wedding itself was a good laugh, and in fairness to the Chef at Heritage the food itself was superb! The Ballroom in my opinon is dated though and the bar area including the brass pannelling on the draught taps needs a major clean. I got the impression that its not used as much as it probably was so the attention to detail in a 5 star hotel has dropped. My first pint of beer ordered was sent back due to "floaters" in the bottom of the glass....from my own bar work, this is simply glasses left lying around and not used regularly.

Theres nothing overly wrong with the Heritage, but its most certainly in this contributors view not a 5 star place, but it does charge 5 star prices. I have heard to that it was taken over along with a lot of other golf hotels by NAMA/IMF etc.... clearly they are working on a reduced budget, but in order to get more money in, they really should reduce their room rates for starters.

Room Tip: Book a B&B close buy and have more money in your back pocket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear flended,

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable evening at a wedding reception in the hotel and found the food superb but disappointed to hear you felt we were lacking for a five star establishment.

I can assure you that the ballroom is in regular use on a weekly basis between weddings, conferences and other functions.

My apologies your first drink had to be replaced and I will address the cleaning issues with the bar manager immediately.

I am surprised to hear you feel the ballroom is dated as we receive regular praise on the décor and its wow factor from many guest and wedding couples.

May I also state that the hotel is neither in NAMA nor the IMF but in receivership and being successfully run by Dalata.

We have also reduced our room rates and are quite competitive with other properties within the 5* market and have had a very successful year to date.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
668 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
264 reviews
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Property: The Heritage Killenard
Address: Killenard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing