We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heritage Killenard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This was the nicest place we stayed while in Ireland. The 5 star rating system isn't quite the same as we have in the US, I would give it no more than 4 stars based upon the US standards. That being said, it was clean, comfortable and provided a good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear SherryVee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you found our resort the best place that you stayed in Ireland and we hope you had an enjoyable holiday.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    371
    144
    49
    37
See reviews for
422
743
22
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for weekend for conference. The complex is very attractive and the hotel is lovely. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable and so quiet. I loved this hotel and felt at home straight away on arrival.
The food was of a good standard in the bar and the service was excellent. I plan to return and take my partner for a leisure weekend soon.

Room Tip: My room was a standard double and it was quiet and very comfortable. From talking with colleagues I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Carol L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was pleased to see you found the resort to your liking for your conferencing needs and also plan to return for a leisure break.

We look forward to your return visit and once again thank you for your lovely recommendation.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our first trip to Ireland (March 2010) and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The resort was beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful. My husband and his friend played golf while here and the course was beautiful and well-maintained. We stayed in the carriage houses. Our cottage was very impressive. We had two bedrooms (Master with its own bathroom), a separate bathroom, full kitchen and living room. The rooms were decorated very nicely and we had a beautiful fireplace in the living room. We had our own patio area which overlooked the golf course. The bar/lounge in the main hotel was a great place to relax and mingle with other people staying at the resort as well as the Thatch... the pub located on the premise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and got to sample many of the amenities that we have to offer.

We hope if you return to Ireland that you return for another visit.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed just one night during an 8 day trip, and of all the places we visited, this is the one we'd be least likely to return to. The staff was extremely gracious and accommodating but our room had some maintenance issues (peeling wallpaper due to water damage), we had to ask for bottled water to be delivered to the room and were charged for ice. The walk to the pool area was via a dank underground passageway and when I asked if I could see the spa, I was told that there was an additional charge for that. It was not our favorite stop, but we did sleep well and were well cared for during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandishoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Sandishoes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was disappointed to see you had mixed emotions regarding your stay and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you.

I can be contacted on 057 86 95000.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Played the golf course.did not stay.this place is easily accessible from dublin.well signposted.the golf course is very well maintained.greens very good.par 3s are well protected.good test of golf.its definitely on the same page as other great irish courses.it has hosted the seve trophy and his memory is honoured by the club with a statue and iconic photos

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phill053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear phill053,

Thank you for your review from your recent visit The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort to play our championship course.

I was delighted to see you found the course to be in such great condition and also a challenging track to negotiate. Seve Ballesteros was instrumental in creating a wonderful course here and we are delighted with how it is maturing into one of Ireland’s best layouts.

We hope you come and visit us again in the not the distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a two night midweek break there which was good value and a pleasant experience. We had dinner in the hotel one night and in the Sol Orien the second night. Both were enjoyable. Unlike some other contributors we did not think the hot breakfast buffet was good. We found the food tasteless and bland.On the second day we had fruit and cold buffet and this was fine.
The spa looked to be good but pretty expensive for treatments and also a charge for entry.
There is a 5k walk around the golf course which is well worth doing and having played the course previously I can vouch for it being top class.
Overall it was the friendliness of the staff that made the place for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Golf Course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear michnall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent midweek break with us at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening meals in both our restaurants. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. I will pass on your feedback to the breakfast chef.

It is great to hear that the friendliness of our staff made your stay most enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lucky me as this was my 8th time to the Heritage Golf and Spa over the last few years. From the first time ever I set foot in it to my visit there in early November 2013, the staff have to be the greatest asset this hotel has. Everyone of them welcomes us like friends, nothing is too much trouble. Our room as ever was so comfortable and cosy. Breakfast a banquet and as usual the range vast and tasty. And of course the Sol Oriens surpasses itself on every visit we make. Faultless visit again and looking forward to another visit as we cant even imagine going anywhere else except the Heritage. Thanks to everyone who works there for doing such a brilliant job!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear limericklady,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your latest visit to The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

Our return guests like yourselves are the main reason that our resort has been such a success and we are very appreciative of your loyalty.

I shall pass on your lovely complements to the staff and we look forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
12.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Property: The Heritage Killenard
Address: Killenard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing