We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Riva

Riva
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Bothwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Well decorated restaurant with some signed and framed football shirts and I think a vespa. Good atmosphere with friendly staff. Friends ordered the mussels for starter and it was HUGE portion! My starter was okay, wish I had ordered something different. My main of seabass was well cooked and tasted good. Good amount of sides too. Would definitely reccomend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hint_of_Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    119
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food lovely Atmosphere.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying closeby whilst watching the commonwealth games and had a day off to play golf at Bothwell Castle. (Very nice course by the way) Driving through the village on the way to golf we spotted the restaurant. Checked out its rating on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try after the round.
It was quite busy and we had to come back a bit later for a table but well worth the wait. Atmosphere was very lively and a nice bit of live music as well.
I had a mussels in tomatoe and chilli starter followed by a chicken and chorizo rissotto. They were both delicious.
Bill for 2 of us with starters and mains and 2 glasses of wine was £45.
What a great surprise. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Risotto you can trust!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I never eat risotto in restaurants outside Italy - they are always overlooked and flabby. But I could not resist ordering grilled tuna steak which came with saffron risotto. It did NOT disappoint - fragrant, glistening and deliciously firm to the bite! The tomato and caper sauce raised delicious to sublime. My partner opted for humble carbonara, which was cooked to perfection. The waiter grated Parmesan from a big block held in a white linen napkin with theatrical flourish. We were too full for dessert but finished with a great cup of espresso each. Stylish decor, great ambience, friendly and attentive staff. Will be back. Ylva and Andrew

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“mid week special”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went in for the 2 course meal for £12.95.
Pate starter was delcious with lovely salad and dressing. Pate was one of the nicest I've tried.
I then paid £2 extra for the rib eye steak which was delicious and cooked to perfection with bowl of real chips and yummy Diane sauce.
We added the pudding which I must say is the most amazing stickytoffee pudding I've ever had. Highly recommended.
The service was lovely. Very polite. The decor is very tasteful.
Then a lovely singer came in for background entertainment.
Just terrific.
Brilliant value for money.:-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank k33ssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Polite and helpful staff who have excellent knowledge of the menu on asking advise (Cheryl) gave some outstanding recommendations and we were not disappointed. The standard of the food was extremely high and was only surpassed by its presentation. The 3 children in the party were not kept wanting for anything drinks filled and dessert served promptly allowing the adults to relax and enjoy their meals. Highly recommend this restaurant lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riva also viewed

Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing