We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

A well-run, clean and friendly hotel that I've had the pleasure of staying at on two occasions now. Good breakfast and comfortable rooms. Only criticism is the bar still shuts far too early, even with over 20+ still drinking but would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranklyMrBillShankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and a colleague had stayed in The Bothwell Bridge Hotel for a week for our company and we were both very happy with the hotel.

We found the hotel to located in the center of Bothwell town and was therefore close buy to local bars and restaurants and therefore gave us the option to go out for the evening without the need to take a car, which unfortunately was not so much the case during my stay at the Alona just short drive away.

Although the hotel is much more dated in its decor it is still a good quality hotel. The rooms were very good too, however you would require your own hair-dryer and was a trouser press as appose to an iron and ironing board.

The food was served in the Italian restaurant that is a part of the hotel and was extremly good quality food and was always tasty and fresh, this applied to both breakfast and evening meal. We were both very impressed with this. All the waiters in here were also very friendly

Again my collgue and I were very happy with the stay and service received and would recommend this hotel for leisure stay or business stay,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlou251187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The beds here were dreadful. This venue would win the award for really awful beds. AND it wasn't just room 62 - nearly every guest reported the mattresses were of a really poor standard.

A plus for this hotel though were the staff - everyone was helpful, the customer service would get a 10/10.

Room Tip: I heard that room 5 had a good layout - with double windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsrizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Location: Perfect location set back from the main road in the middle of Bothwell, opposite the parish church and close to the shops.

Room: Somewhat dated with a bizarre looking framed bed and droopy curtains, but large, confortable and with a very good bathroom (light went on automatically as you went in). The one real downside was the security light which went on intermittently, lighting up the room and not conducive to a good night's sleep.

Restaurant in the conservatory was bright and cheerful. Food is mainly Italian, served in copious portions to satisfy the hungriest of diners. The other side of the reception is a cheerful and comfortable bar.

Service: First rate. Enthusiastic reception staff and barman (who retuned my television which initially showed only in Russian!!).

I would certainly stay here again, and also again use a booking website (my room was £14 cheaper than if I had booked directly with the hotel). I did find the pricing a little strange.

Room Tip: Prehaps an upstairs room would avoid the security lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Steven was very professional and detailed in his planning and everything was done as we had requested. Food was great and many guests commented on it. Buffet was hot and very tasty. serving staff were discreet but very efficient. Only small issue was the bar. It took a bit of time to get organised and till didnt work, had to be replaced. Also there wasnt enough change and people had to be owed a few pence. Barmaid seemed a bit inexperienced. Other than this would have given 5 stars. We have used Bothwell bridge often for family events and would definitely do so again. Not many places if any in area can compete with Bothwell Bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Food and staff excellent, bedroom a bit dated but very clean and comfortable though part of the curtain was hanging off the track, in a very quiet section of the hotel but the bathroom fell far short of this. I was not expecting what I found, dirty finger prints on the shower curtain, the extractor fan grill needed a good clean, cracks in what appeared to be a very old bath, a broken toilet paperholder, cracked, broken and partly missing tiles showing the grey breeze block and plaster beneath, mould between the tiles above the bath, cobwebs near the ceiling and a loose toilet seat. The bathroom had obviously not be refurbished since it was installed in the early 80s and a 1" jagged gap between the wash handbasin and the formica surround is just not acceptable in today's hotel.
No lift available when a function is taking place in the function suite but staff did carry my case to my room. There are quite a few steps within the hotel so if you have walking difficulties please be aware before booking.
Apart from my bathroom the rest of the hotel, food and the staff are brilliant and strange to say I would stay there again and just hope I would not be as unlucky with the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Was a guest at a wedding 23rd Aug 2013, the hotel was gorgeous, the waiting staff were so professional in their duties, Sandra Mc Queen was one of the nicest caring and attentive waitress I have come across, being there supporting my disabled sister who is a wheelchair user and has very sever complex needs. Sandra could not have been more helpful from talking to her asking her what she would like to eat and putting this food into the appropriated dishes that she has to use, washed them and returned then without question of leaving it to myself to do as I find this is what happens anywhere I have been to in the past, no one has treated my sister the way Sandra did. so a big thank you for that. The Co ordinator was very good at keeping the plans and everything went accordingly in a professional fashion. Well done for the attention you showed the most important people there ( Danielle & William) the bride and groom. overall everything about the hotel was very impressive as was all of the staff except Sebastian the male receptionist, he is extremly rude and the mangager requires to send him for more training when working with the people who visit and pay a lot of money in the hotel. Sebastian requires training in people skills and has to drop the attiude that he has if he wants to keep a career within the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Ensure you get the correct price when booking your and only pay that on the day of check out as I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
2.8 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
383 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
162 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range: £80 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing