We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great meal but setting and singer first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My partner and I had a meal at the Bothwell Bridge Hotel in the main restaurant a couple of weeks ago and sadly it was not good! He ordered steak and chips, medium done and the first meal arrived very very well done and cold. Staff who were more than helpful immediately changed this to another meal and stated it was the wrong meal unfortunately this steak was also well done, chips were burnt and crispy and the meal was again cold. On the third occasion a manager personally delivered the steak as ordered with two glasses of wine as an apology. We will not rush back although the setting and singer were fantastic, just a shame about the food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 30th November for a dinner dance and although the actual hotel is great, the rooms were awful.

Having stayed twice previously, I was very disappointed with the rooms we were given. Rooms 201, 202 & 203 - very tired and desperate to be modernised!

On previous visits we have stayed on the 3rd floor and ground floor and rooms were much nicer. Very disappointed considering the rooms cost the same!!

The hotel itself is very friendly and reasonably priced for drinks. The dinner dance was great and the food too.

Breakfast here is one of the best I have had.

Overall, Bothwell Bridge is a great hotel and we would stay again - if we were guaranteed a decent room!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in room 34 which was directly next to the 'smoking area' rude guests constantly talking loudly outside the room at unsociable hours. The room directly above actually felt like these guest were in the same room. The food however was excellent but the staff on reception quite rude and when we pointed out our restless night we were advised that the hotel was in fact quite and they found our comments hard to believe ! The rooms definitely need a re- vamp and some form of floor insulation .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room was comfy but the décor (curtains, furniture, décor) is looking really tired. My room had a bathroom that had been modernised and refurbished but the whole hotel desperately needs some money spent on it. The food in the restaurant is very good (Italian in the evening) but some of the older waiters could do with attending the "customer care course"!!!! All in all ok for a night or two with business but would not choose to stay with wife or family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pea-n-pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

On the 18/11/13 we booked and expected to be hosted with service to a funeral party of friends and family. Unfortunately it was a very sad and stressful time. Additionally the service provided, quality and quantity of foods provided were disgraceful. Secondly the attitudes and behaviour of staff was sickening and in turn elaborated on our emotions at this particular time. We approx booked for 40 guests £ 9.99 per head. A member of staff rudely approached me in an abrupt tone to inform me that there were more persons present than anticipated. Yes I agree 4 more. Our billing receipt should have been £400. The bill states £435.60. Am I paying for the extra 4 seats for the extra 4 persons as there was no sign of extra food service/ teas coffee which were minimal effort in the first instance. Furthermore some guests had booked to stay overnight and at that time did not feel the need to exit their seats but felt uncomfortable as again members of your staff were evidently staring, muttering to each other about the remaining persons that would not more or less clear off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliejailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I visited the Bothwell Bridge Hotel with my wife in MAY 2013 fpr a family occasion. The service was very poor and the food was the worst we have experienced for a long time.We didn't even have time to get any tea or coffee as we had run out of time, as members of the family had booked a pre arranged taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Staying on business twice in Nibember and looked this hotel up on Expedia. Having booked 4 colleagues in too, I was a little bit cautious given the very reasonable price. Local colleagues reassured me the hotel had a good reputation and they weren't wrong! The rooms show some signs of age but super clean, warm, a decent bed and a you'd shower. What did make a real difference was the staff, they're excellent (particularly the restaurant team who were brilliant at breakfast, dinner and for room service)! Really great team! The food was good too! Simple, wholesome and very reasonably priced! Room service was great quality and speedy, friendly service. Breakfast is great too! On the one occasion I needed to speak to someone about a missing remote control, the manager himself sorted it out and promptly found me one! All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend it and will use The Bothwell Bridge again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
2.6 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
866 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range: £80 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing