We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rutland water golf/ bird watching break”
Review of Broccoli Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broccoli Bottom
Ranked #1 of 2 Manton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rutland water golf/ bird watching break”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the main house as bed and breakfast guests, in the double bedroom. Colin and Sally are very good hosts, always cheerful and smiling.
Room is spacious and very clean with a very big bathroom and a very comfortable bed
Home made jams for breakfast and good company.
The other guests were returning time and again, which speaks for itself.
Very good evening meal available at the nearby horse and jockey pub

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Broccoli Bottom and enjoyed some of what the area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    12
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
101
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

...well that was my partners view anyway, and the damson jam was pretty amazing too! Lovely room, nice and friendly, great location, so all in all a great stay. We only stayed for one night but would definitely return. The cottages looked nice too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahbutterfly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay........you can't beat a bit of homemade preserve and marmalade!! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived on the Friday for a short weekend break for my sisters birthday. Four adults, two children and two dogs. We were meet with a friendly welcoming host. We were pleased with the living area and two bedrooms , the kitchen area had everything needed for a weekend break.Great location walking distance to dog friendly pub serving good food. Wouldn't hesitate to come back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review and your recommendation for others to visit. We particularly enjoyed watching your dogs taking the children for walks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in Fennel Folly (upstairs) and Beetroot Barn (ground floor) over Easter weekend, 3 couples, 2 of which had an infant each. It really didn't work out well for 3 couples and on the first night one couple with baby were ready to leave, but we managed to resolve this. The bedrooms in Fennel Folly are very small and there are no windows apart from the entrance French door, all other daylight is from Velux rooflights. Ceiling height is very sub-standard, and two taller members hurt their heads more than once as a result. The twin room was tiny with awful headroom. These two bedrooms should really have been one. Kitchen area very cramped with poor headroom. The bathroom is not en-suite. Great lack of electric lighting, none over the table, no light over mirror in bathroom; it's as if they forgot to install it all.
Beetroot Barn looked newer and fresher, with good space and no headroom problems. Nice bathroom. However, the sleeping area was one double bed and two single beds in one big room. As a room for 4 people this would probably only suite a family with kids between 2 and 12. There was no oven or dishwasher but there was a microwave oven, and a gas hob, fridge etc.
We thought it was all more expensive than it should have been at around £600 for the weekend.

Room Tip: It was alright but we wouldn't re-visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are so sorry you had a disappointing visit to Broccoli Bottom, which is contrary to 98% of reviews.

As the owner, I find it particularly upsetting to read your comments as there are photos and descriptions of each property on our web site, which clearly show and describe what is on offer, which does not include an en suite in Fennel Folly. We strongly believe that £33 per adult per night, with the children free of charge, represents extremely good value particularly over the Easter weekend. You ordered an additional mattress without linen for the little girl in Fennel and I explained, as I always do, it would be cosy; it is after all a sleep four property. We regularly put an additional mattress in Fennel Folly and Mange Tout Maison in response to families who do not want the additional expense of hiring a larger or additional property.

With regard to Beetroot Barn, it is exactly as described on our web site and the microwave is in fact a combi oven, with instructions provided.

We cannot please everybody all of the time, but thankfully, we do, most of the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Carrot Cottage which sleeps six and is pet friendly. The cottage is beautifully decorated to a high standard. Colin and Sally are very welcoming and good fun. We enjoyed a cooked breakfast in the main house which was delicious. Broccoli Bottom is close to Rutland water and Rutland Water golf club which is friendly with excellent facilities. We had such a good time that we have booked for next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Broccoli Bottom. How lovely that you booked again whilst you were here this time.......we look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for a few days before a wedding in Rutland. The site is beautifully kept and each house seems to have its own character, and unlike some holiday lettings, the furnishings are charming without being dated.
We stayed in Mange-Tout Maison, which is up an exterior staircase, so not suitable for those with severe mobility difficulties. There are adjoining bedrooms (one double with king-sized bed and a twin room). This would be perfect for parents and children (but slightly un-nerving for a couple and two singles!!).
There is one bathroom, with over-bath shower. The shower was powerful despite being upstairs and there was enough water for us all to shower in the morning. The kitchen benefits from a dish washer and fridge, but the freezer compartment is very small. Not a problem for us, but something to consider when self-catering.
All in all a very comfortable stay with great views, extremely comfortable beds and plenty of parking space.

Room Tip: Mange-Tout Maison is ideal for parents and 2 children but not accessible for those with mobility dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Eccleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always rewarding to have positive feedback......thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very well appointed property. We stayed in the double guest room in the main house and had a large bedroom with full size en suite bathroom. All tastefully decorated, very clean and with a lovely comfortable bed. The owners Sally and Colin were very welcoming, warm and friendly. The breakfast menu had a lot of choice and the marmalade etc was all home made. We only stayed for one night, en route to our final destination, but wished it had been more. We highly recommend this B & B and will definitely return when in the area again. Brocolli Bottom is situated within walking distance of Rutland Water with a good local Pub and Restaurant nearby too. Surrounded by countryside so a peaceful nights sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
It is always lovely to read that guests enjoyed their stay and the local amenities. We pride ourselves on offering comfortable beds with a view to a good nights sleep. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manton
3.3 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broccoli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broccoli Bottom

Property: Broccoli Bottom
Address: Brocoli Bottom Wing Road, Manton, Oakham LE15 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Manton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Broccoli Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Broccoli Bottom is set in Manton in the heart of Rutland. Three miles from Oakham, the county town of Rutland, and only three miles from Uppingham, a traditional market town and home to Uppingham School. Broccoli Bottom is the idyllic location for all your Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Rutland Water, with its fishing, walking, birdwatching, sailing and cycling attractions is within easy walking distance, as is our village inn. Birdwatchers will not want to miss the Red Kites and Barn Owl that frequently visit Broccoli Bottom. Ramblers routes are close by as are many restaurants, traditional pubs and hotels offering local fare and international cuisine. The road from Broccoli Bottom leads to many well known places including Burghley House, the historic town of Stamford, Belvoir and Rockingham Castles and Barnsdale Gardens. 5 mins to Rutland Sailing Club, The Bird Watching Centre, Cycle Hire & Rutland Fishing Lodge. We have free WIFI and have pet friendly accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Broccoli Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing