We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
212
13
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
13
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal pubthe main houseparsnip placelettuce lodgerutland waterpennewonderful hostswell equipped kitchenexcellent accommodationb and bperfect locationdouble roomcomfortable bedsshort walkbreakfast was deliciouswonderful staylovely break
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Brilliant Brocolli....stayed in Fennel Folly ,not huge but that is reflected in the price.....clean and comfortable. Perfectly located for Rutland water with a lovely pub within walking distance. Our hostess was helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Perfect for our short break.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. Fennel is lovely, especially with its new balcony. We are pleased you enjoyed your break and the location.......hopefully we lived up to your area of France......which is beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having spent a week at Broccoli Bottom in May we found our accommodation spacious and well equipped for the two of us, the bed was comfortable and afforded us great nights of sleep.It is a perfect location for exploring the Rutland countryside. Sally and her family made us most welcome and we will certainly be returning to B.B. on our trips to Rutland. Hope to be seeing you all again in the not too far distant future.

Room Tip: Parsnip Place is great for two people and over looks the fields from the private patio area.
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us......we certainly enjoyed chatting with you about France. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just had a wonderful few days in Rutland staying in lettuce lodge! We particularly enjoyed having an evening drink on the patio overlooking fields. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and everywhere was spotless. Hope to see you again.

Have a lovely time and love to all xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Broccoli! The patio at Lettuce is a lovely spot for evening drinks......we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After visiting my grandma who was staying in lettuce lodge for 10 days I wanted to highlight one or two negatives that could easily be corrected.
The main problem was the size and location of the TV! In order to see the screen we had to perch on the end of the bed as it was not possible to see anything from either in the bed, or from the ONE armchair (the room is meant for 3 people). The screen measures 12 inches and is placed very high on the wall.
Other points would be -
lack of none slip matting in the bath and no hand rail. No shelf for toiletries.
A wardrobe full of cleaning aids (iron, ironing board, Hoover etc) leaving little room for clothes

The room it's self was very nice, however we would be reluctant to stay again unless changes were made.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelacb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all customer suggestions seriously and having brought it to our attention, I realise that viewing the T.V. from the single bed would be difficult. From the super king bed it is easier as it is directly on the wall at the bottom of the bed. It is high to avoid it being knocked, but I will be going off this week to purchase a larger T.V. for easy viewing.
Lettuce Lodge is a small studio usually having a couple or a couple and a child staying in it. It is one of our more popular properties with a high number of repeat guests. However, with hind sight, perhaps our other one bedroom ground floor property would have suited your grandma better.

With regard to the bath mat, I can only apologise....this should have been standard and an oversight by the housekeeper. I will ensure there is one in there immediately. I do wish you had come and spoken to us about it. We would have made sure you had one there straight away.

We would be delighted if you would come and stay with us again and I would personally make sure your visit was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a two night break so we could bike around Rutland water, perfect location to do this and only a short walk to a great pub the horse and jockey. We stayed in Fennel Folly which was small, I knew this as I had read it on other reviews. We found it very strange there were no hand soap to wash your hands in the bathroom and no welcome tea and coffee which we though was standard as we have stayed in many cottages and Fennel folly was the first not to do this. This cottage is very tired and needs a bit of updating, especially the bathroom and kitchen. When it was time for us to leave we looked around for Charlie (the son as Sally was on holiday), to pay our balance for the weekend, nobody was to be found anywhere, so was going to ring and pay balance when we arrived back home, but already had an email from Sally saying she had taken the balance out of the account which I payed the deposit!! Lucky I was paying out of this account and not another :(

Room Tip: Sounds like people staying in the b & b have a better experience than those staying in the cottages.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushroom217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Oh dear....it sounds like Fennel Folly wasn't for you. Just to clarify to prospective clients re your payment.....my son asked for payment on arrival, as we do with all guests. Most self catering properties are paid for in full 6 to 8 weeks prior to arrival. We find it easier all round to collect the balance on arrival and we bring this to guests attention when they book, as we did with you. I arranged an early check in for you and my son requested once you had settled in to pop down and settle up. You didn't. On your day of departure my son was on site and my housekeeper was in our kitchen awaiting to clean Fennel. On seeing you heading up the drive, my son called you and left a voicemail. It was not returned. My housekeeper did not hear you come over and if you did, why didn't you ring the bell, try to ring us by phone or leave a note to say you would call when home to pay, instead of just leaving the premises. No one has ever done this before and I believe I did as all owners would, use the card details left as security when paying the deposit.
Although away on holiday myself, I am in constant contact with home and indeed answered a couple of emails sent from your iPhone the day prior to your arrival. Knowing you have an iPhone I emailed you at 20:22 on your day of departure to say I had taken the money. I had waited all day to hear from you giving you the benefit of the doubt that you had simply forgotten to pay. However, on reading your review, it is clear that you knew you had not paid and thought it was perfectly reasonable to disappear without a word.
We are bemused that you think Fennel Folly is tired. It has had a new bathroom and was decorated throughout in February this year.
With regard to the soap and welcome tea and coffee, we thank you for your comments and will be taking this up in the very near future.
Apologies for the lengthy reply, but it is only fair that future prospective guests hear both sides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews