We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for family get together”
Review of Broccoli Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broccoli Bottom
Ranked #1 of 2 Manton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a fabulous stay for my parent's Golden Wedding celebration with the cousins having lots of space to play badminton and ride their bikes. Cycled around Rutland Water and explored some of the other local areas. Very relaxing and very friendly. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed having all your family stay with us and it was a pleasure to see the children having lots of fun playing outdoor games. For me....rescuing the baby hedgehog was a highlight! We are ideal for family/group get togethers and we are pleased you chose us to have yours. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a lovely, relaxing 3 days in Fennel Folly. Watched the sun come up and go down from the balcony as well watching the 2 resident horses get giddy!! Ideally placed to walk to Rutland Water, which is beautiful especially early evening! We did 14 miles on foot but it is also has a well maintained cycle path. The house is only 2 minute walk to the fabulous village pub for a drink or meal. Lots of lovely villages nearby too to stroll around. The hosts were very welcoming and the accommodation was clean, comfortable and very peaceful. Would definitely recommend a stay here, it is really lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbiekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am so pleased you were able to take full advantage of the new balcony at Fennel Folly. It really is a very relaxing place to sit and look out after a busy day! The horses were obviously having a nice time too! It is very kind of you to write a review about your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I just got back from a three day stay at Broccoli Bottom and have had the chance to reflect on my short holiday near to Rutland water.

The house is fairly new and my room was very comfortable. The view from my window was of open fields and horses grazing. I felt very relaxed from the moment I arrived.
My host, Colin, was very attentive and made my stay an enjoyable one by making sure that I had everything I needed, providing plenty of brochures showing me where to walk and cycle and hints about places to visit further afield.
The breakfasts each day were delicious and very filling. I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day.

Not too far away from Oakham and the nature reserve at Egleton, this is the perfect location. I very much hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Tim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry I didn't meet you but I know Colin enjoyed your company. You obviously enjoyed the area and I hope to meet you next time you come to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Recent visit to show three daughters where I used to roam and cycle in the late 40s and 50s. Ideal base, with facilities in the cottage excellent . Self catering for breakfasts and one evening meal, sitting out for beer or wine. We cycled mainly in Northamptonshire around the villages, still unspoilt. Lovely views in the evening walking the short distance to the pub, where food was very good. Final morning we did cycle on our own bikes around Rutland Water. Sally very welcoming and accommodating during our short stay. voted such a success the girls want to go back. As an exta for me there was a walk to the nearby deserted village site along the ridge with tranquil views each side.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Fraser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It was our pleasure to have you and your lovely daughters staying with us at Broccoli Bottom. You got out and about and took advantage of all the local area has to offer. Hopefully you will be back to enjoy some more! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

just come back from a lovely break at broccoli bottom rutland arrived early lettuce lodge was ready for us met sally and colin lovely bubbly people the cottage was well equiped very clean and a great patio to sit on and have a glass of wine we have two english pointers brooke and poppy who are very energetic we asked colin were to walk them he pointed us to the back paddock which was fenced off this was ideal to let them have a blast one of sallys dogs used to pop over and sit on the patio wall enjoying the company of ours couldnt have wished for a better place to stay lovely pub at end of lane nice food good access to rutland water close to fishing lodge and cycle hire we had a lovely bike ride with dogs round rutland water will defenitaly return to broccoli bottom as we were made most welcome through out our break many thanks once again to sally colin and boys
terry mandy brooke and poppy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

It was lovely chatting to you and seeing you have such a great time with us. It is very rewarding to hear such kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Broccoli Bottom farm during the Rutland Water Triathlon in June (and our 1st wedding anniversary!) and LOVED every minute of it! We hired Lettuce Lodge for 2 nights (miniumum booking) and whilst it's on the more expensive side of our budget for overnight stays, it was such a beautiful location and setting, with a lovely patio which gets sun from 10am right the way through to sunset over the gorgeous rolling hills - totally made up for the price! Sally is an asset to the place and we felt very welcome throughout. Only a 10 min drive from the gorgeous Rutland water and Barnsdale Hall hotel which is worth a visit just to walk round the incredible grounds! Lovely villages worth exploring nearby and The Horse & Jockey pub was only a 5 min walk from Broccoli Bottom and perfect for what we wanted - great food & wine! The accommodation is well equipped, very clean and set in perfect surroundings - what more could you want? We will definitely be returning next year. M & D x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller86vdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Firstly.....well done for completing the triathlon and my offer of oxygen wasn't even needed!! So pleased you enjoyed staying with us......Lettuce Lodge has a lovely outlook and the weather was kind to you to enable you to enjoy it. Hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Brilliant Brocolli....stayed in Fennel Folly ,not huge but that is reflected in the price.....clean and comfortable. Perfectly located for Rutland water with a lovely pub within walking distance. Our hostess was helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Perfect for our short break.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. Fennel is lovely, especially with its new balcony. We are pleased you enjoyed your break and the location.......hopefully we lived up to your area of France......which is beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manton
3.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
950 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Tithe Barn
The Tithe Barn
#5 of 14 in Oakham
97 reviews
3.1 mi away
Apples in Rutland B&B
Apples in Rutland B&B
#1 of 1 in Bisbrooke
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broccoli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broccoli Bottom

Address: Brocoli Bottom Wing Road, Manton, Oakham LE15 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Manton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manton
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broccoli Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Broccoli Bottom is set in Manton in the heart of Rutland. Three miles from Oakham, the county town of Rutland, and only three miles from Uppingham, a traditional market town and home to Uppingham School. Broccoli Bottom is the idyllic location for all your Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Rutland Water, with its fishing, walking, birdwatching, sailing and cycling attractions is within easy walking distance, as is our village inn. Birdwatchers will not want to miss the Red Kites and Barn Owl that frequently visit Broccoli Bottom. Ramblers routes are close by as are many restaurants, traditional pubs and hotels offering local fare and international cuisine. The road from Broccoli Bottom leads to many well known places including Burghley House, the historic town of Stamford, Belvoir and Rockingham Castles and Barnsdale Gardens. 5 mins to Rutland Sailing Club, The Bird Watching Centre, Cycle Hire & Rutland Fishing Lodge. We have free WIFI and have pet friendly accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broccoli Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing