We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hambleton Hall(Hambleton)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Old Plough(Braunston-in-Rutland)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Isle(Uppingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
212
13
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
13
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal pubthe main houseparsnip placelettuce lodgerutland waterpennewonderful hostswell equipped kitchenexcellent accommodationb and bperfect locationdouble roomcomfortable bedsshort walkbreakfast was deliciouswonderful staylovely break
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night break at Broccoli Bottom, staying in the bed and breakfast rooms.
Sally was a fabulous host who greeted us with a friendly welcome and made sure we felt right at home, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was well furnished and spacious with a lovely view over the fields, finished with a nice size ensuite perfect for what we needed.
Breakfast was served with a smile and portions were generous, setting us up well for a day of cycling.
We can't fault Broccoli Bottom, it was excellent value for money and having had a look around the cottages before leaving I am sure we will be back in the future with friends and family.
This was an excellent discovery in a brilliant location, with friendly dogs and an even friendlier hostess.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel-Spink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

How lovely to read your review.........we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is particularly rewarding to read such kind comments......we work very hard to make sure our guests are well looked after and enjoy their time at Broccoli Bottom. Come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a great find. This is a fabulous B&B. The best breakfast I have had in a very long time. Every single item perfectly cooked - what a great treat. The hosts are great fun and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome.
The location is perfect for Rutland Lake, just a short walk away, down some quiet roads. This was our first trip so we wanted to make the most of it. We walked round the whole thing in a day. The next day I cycled (on roads not round the lake). The roads are in very good condition. I'm very impressed by the B&B and Rutland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room in the main house which has a separate bathroom for sole use. Robes are provided. The bathroom is really luxurious - great shower and separate bath..
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience with others. Our aim is to make guests feel at home so I am pleased we achieved this. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A group of us stayed in Fennel Folly and Mange Toute Maison for a friend's wedding in nearby Oakham. The accommodation was perfect and just wanted we needed. The cottages were nicely furnished and clean and the location was peaceful yet convenient. We found the kitchen to be well equipped and were able to cook several meals there, (not the usual one pan and one wooden spoon you often find in self catering places!). The hosts were delightful and even let us check out late when we were hung over and slow to start the following day. It was great to find somewhere self catering where we could do a short break. I would highly recommend Broccoli Bottom and only wish we had long to explore the surrounding countryside more...beautiful.

Room Tip: I think Fennel Folly was possibly the better of the two cottages we rented as it had a beautiful view over the fields and horses and was light and sunny.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your time at Broccoli Bottom with others. We are delighted you enjoyed the accommodation......we try to think of most things and with the help of feedback from guests we do our best to provide a bit more than the essentials. It was our pleasure to help with a later check out......we try to be as flexible as possible and we do remember late nights and delicate mornings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a fabulous stay for my parent's Golden Wedding celebration with the cousins having lots of space to play badminton and ride their bikes. Cycled around Rutland Water and explored some of the other local areas. Very relaxing and very friendly. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed having all your family stay with us and it was a pleasure to see the children having lots of fun playing outdoor games. For me....rescuing the baby hedgehog was a highlight! We are ideal for family/group get togethers and we are pleased you chose us to have yours. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a lovely, relaxing 3 days in Fennel Folly. Watched the sun come up and go down from the balcony as well watching the 2 resident horses get giddy!! Ideally placed to walk to Rutland Water, which is beautiful especially early evening! We did 14 miles on foot but it is also has a well maintained cycle path. The house is only 2 minute walk to the fabulous village pub for a drink or meal. Lots of lovely villages nearby too to stroll around. The hosts were very welcoming and the accommodation was clean, comfortable and very peaceful. Would definitely recommend a stay here, it is really lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbiekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am so pleased you were able to take full advantage of the new balcony at Fennel Folly. It really is a very relaxing place to sit and look out after a busy day! The horses were obviously having a nice time too! It is very kind of you to write a review about your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews