We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Marks Tey hotel on a business trip and would like to thank Darren and his wonderful team for an excellent stay. The meeting room facilities were of a high standard and Sam was particularly helpful in accommodating specific requirements for the room set up. My bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, and the meals were delicious. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Lucy,
Lovely to hear from you! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your training event and look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your great review we certainly do try to do our very best for our valued customers.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked this as a short 2 day break in an area, where though I had driven through the area ,had never really explored Constable Country.
The room was a good size- the shower is interesting to operate.,especially if you want a bath! I will say no more...
Great location , and though close to A12 we never heard the traffic. Really good breakfasts, plenty of choice and piping hot.The staff were pleasant etc ... BUT
Our gripe was the overpriced food in the Brasserie and on the A la Carte menus. Having paid around £70 on the Friday evening for a 3 course meal INC the wine, we had expected far better. I chose the Mushrooms, which came with a pile of rocket some melted cheese and oddly enough some pine nuts - the mixture didn't really work with Balsamic dressing. My wife chose the shredded duck in fillot pastry with a salad on which the dressing was far too acidic- Very little Duck either. - for mains I had the pie and that was really fine my wife chose the Sea Bass and though the fish was done really nicely the sauce had far too many capers in the cream with cherry tomatoes plus potatoes. We both had the warm chocolate pudding with ice-cream - Pudding was far too rich and the amount of ice-cream was miniscule. Wine was nice but we felt for what it was was over priced...
So on the Saturday after having driven all over the area, we decided to give the restaurant a miss-
We turned right out of the hotel and walked over to the American Diner... DO NOT LET THE OUTSIDE PUT YOU OFF....
We had a massive 1 course meal plus drinks for around £20. We could have had starters etc but as the portions are massive you would probably have needed a doggy bag. The staff were really friendly and we would happily stop off there on our way back down the A12 any time.

Room Tip: Don't get 104 ,the mattress on the bed looks like its damaged - there's a ridge across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miker-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Miker-Gill,
Thank you for your review and for your valued points on where we can make improvements.
We have today replaced the mattress in 104 in response to your comments and thank you for letting us know. We have also set in motion a plan to review the pricing of our meals and will be introducing a new menu with new pricing in June. This includes breakfast where we will be running our Summer promotion of breakfast for less.
We do hope that you enjoy the new menu on your next stay.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staff to mindful of Customer at the counter other wise my stay was pleasant, did not have made for dinner breakfast need to make sufficient for choice at any time, the hotel was nicely presented overall stay was pleasant, unable to post this as it regulate amount wording it require before you can submit it this needs to be reduce, Trip advisory sort it out otherwise this is review will not be fill

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Prev56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Prev,
Thank you for your review.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with husband, and two daughters - 6 years old and 7 months old.

Very impressed with this hotel - great value for money and lovely members of staff. It is certainly not modern inside but personally I like that, giving a more homely feel. The hotel was very clean and smelt fresh and the rooms again had also clearly had a good clean. The size of the room was fantastic for a family. We had a put up bed in the room and also a small baby bed and there was still plenty of space to move around. Wardrobe was huge!! Also bathroom very generous with nice deep sink and heated towel rail. Bath filled so quickly with lovely hot water (I am a big bath person so was great for me!). The bed was so comfy and the padded headboard was just perfect for sitting up with the children and doing night feeds!

Breakfast - what can I say?? AMAZING! They literally have everything you can think of, even chocolate muffins!! The sausages were of a great quality and the bacon was also lovely. They had scrambled egg out in a warmer dish but you could order any style of egg you liked to come to your table (very quick). They also did freshly cooked omelettes for breakfast too which dad and eldest daughter were delighted with! You cannot come to this hotel and not try the breakfast - trust me you do not want to miss it!

The staff - they are just so lovely! All of them. They do Galaxy hot chocolate in the room which dad and eldest daughter devoured instantly, so they went to cleaning ladies in corridor and asked for one more and they gave them handfuls! And the next day left lots extra too! Just so kind and going the extra mile to make sure we were all happy.

The pool. Its absolutely great and lovely and warm, so perfect for small people (and big people!). Good size too for lengths. Wide descending stairs into pool with lots of handrails which are great for the kids - especially getting in with the baby, made it so easy. Also makes a good area for kids to splash around in out of the way of any serious swimmers. Lovely big disabled changing room with baby changing table and family changing space. Gendered changing rooms also great - big deep lockers and cubicle showers with doors. Not too hot either so clothes don't stick to you once your dry.

Other positives: big car park, seating area around reception, very quiet - hardly any road noise and no door slamming when in your room, flat screen TV, free wifi, brilliant heating that heats radiator in matter of minutes! Lots of plug sockets. Great folder with all info you need about hotel and area. Option to have breakfast in bed for an extra £5 tray charge to room!!

All in all...
Do not be put off by the decor - although it looks more like a 3 star from a decor point of view everything else is 5* I can assure you. If you want a very comfortable stay, with lovely people, great food, a happy family, pool, hot chocolate, big room for extra people etc etc then look no further and book this hotel now.

We have just booked to go back at the end of May and are also looking to book again during Summer holidays.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical so don't worry about what room you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tugwell_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Tugwell Family,
What a delightful review!! Thank you so much for your very kind words and the detail behind all aspects of your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. We will ensure you get the same room seeing as you enjoyed it on your last visit!
Best wishes to you all,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ive stayed in a good few hotels in my time and a few best Westerns, this is potentially the most dated ive had the pleasure of staying in, the carpets were close to total fade the woodwork in the rooms probably worth more in a London antique store, the TV was wonky and the Wifi is basically non existent, and im yet to try the bed !! I have to say when hit with a bill upon arrival of £208 I nearly choked !!

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrinaharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Corinna,
Thank you for your review. We do indeed have a hotel with old decor, however we do all we can to keep her impecably clean and to deliver excellent service.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very pleased good hotel, nice staff,excellent breakfast with lots of choice, good parking, will use again, easy to get to just off the a12, Lots of local shops and pubs nearby. Just one thing some rooms can be a tad noisey as this is close to main a12, but must say that I slept ok

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Chas788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Chas,
Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Colchester.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a two night break at the Marks Tey best Western Hotel, courtesy of my aunt who was staying there. Our feelings about the hotel are decidedly mixed. Our ground floor room was fine. The twin beds were comfortable, the bathroom was ok but perhaps not 4star standard, and although the room was on the ground floor facing the car park, it was quiet and we slept well. On each evening a wedding was taking place, but we were not disturbed at all. This has not always been the case at other venues!

Breakfast both mornings was excellent with a good selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juices, pastries and also the traditional English cooked breakfast. Everything was frequently replenished, so although there was a full dining room, everyone was able to have just what they wanted.

However, the same accolade could not be given to the dinners in the evening. Now I realise we had joined a coach party, and, as we were there as guests, I do not know how much money was allowed by the hotel for dinners, but the quality was really awful. The starters and the desserts appeared to have been portions of bought in food, ie slices of pate, portions of cake just like you could expect from an indifferent pub lunch, but not a 4star hotel. But the worst thing was the main courses. There was a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian but everything was plated up with exactly the same vegetables. Fish in a cream sauce with sprouts, plain boiled red cabbage and again plain boiled new potatoes is just bizarre! Red cabbage can be delicious but you need to put a bit of effort in. The day we left the hotel we visited some friends who live about 15 miles away. They had also visited the hotel for a company dinner, and they also had had plated dinners with the same vegetables no matter whether they had had meat, fish or vegetarian. Very strange!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Brownie,
Thank you for your comments - they are all very valued and will assist in making improvements.
You are right about our vegetable selection and I will be addressing this with our Chef team today.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention and we will certainly review our group menu's as a whole.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
924 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
593 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range: £47 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing