We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room, friendly staff, good breakfast choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here while meeting up with a large group of friends who were walking on and around Mersea Island. I have limited mobility as a result of a stroke some years back. My pal who had organised the weekend requested a disabled room for us, and I was very pleased to find that this incorporated a walk-in shower, with no step up or step-over to negotiate. I am often frustrated when checking in at an hotel to find that our so-called disabled room has a bath. This is of no use to me, as I simply cannot get in and out of even a low-sided one, with or without hand-rails. Apart from that, the room was very comfortable, with two extra-wide single beds, and it overlooked a pleasant courtyard area with trees and grass.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryw891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Barry,
Lovely to hear from you and thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure having you with us and I am pleased that you found the room to be just perfect for your mobility concerns.
They are newly designed and certainly appear to suit our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago for a night. We paid around £60 for night (without breakfast). The hotel reception area looks lovely however on arrival to our room we were quite disappointed. The room was very old and needs updated to look more like a hotel room and less like an old peoples home. The room however was quite clean. We would expect more from a Great Western Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura140811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Laura,
Thank you for your review. We are certainly aware that some of our rooms are looking dated and are moving through them and upgrading where we can.
We look forward to welcoming you back and please do ask to stay in one our newly refurbished rooms.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby at Prested Hall! The hotel was nice, clean and the staff accommodating at check in! The decor of the room was tired but fine and the bathroom was clean and the shower nice and hot!

We asked the main desk to book us a taxi...They called their local firm and said it would be £20 for a less than 5 minute trip! We were shocked but unaware of any other companies had to go with it! I would suggest that the hotel makes some sort of deal with local taxi firms as this was a complete rip off!! I was very disappointed!

The next morning we used the pool and sauna/steam facilities...Whilst small they were clean and quiet we had the whole pool to ourselves!

We didn't eat at the hotel but the bar and restaurant looked lovely!

It was a last minute booking and for the price we paid we were very happy and would stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank louiseb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Louise,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We will certainly look into finding a better taxi arrangement to get the prices down!
Thank you for letting me know.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea is fantastic and waitresses lovely, rooms clean and leave a choc bar and drink for you complimentary nice little touch however common spaces and halls etc need refreshing smells very musky in reception too just a little off putting, good hotel if you pay the right !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickymallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Vicky,
Thank you for your great review.
We will do what we can to address the musty smell in certain older areas of the building!
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel looked lovely on the inside (the outside doesn't really do it justice) and having stayed here twice - both for 1 night at a time (feb 2010 and May 2011) I would happily suggest this venue for couples for 1 night or weekend stays. There is a nice swimming pool, sauna and steam room which were clean and nice when you need to refresh. The staff were helpful and friendly, but appeared to mock us when we asked them to look after our belongings after we checked out the next day. The room was of high standard, with nice decor and a lovely ensuite. The bed was very comfortable spacious. The breakfast the next day was delicious and we look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sophie,
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived here on Friday 23rd May along with a large group of our family from Scotland as we were all attending a wedding at a near by venue on the Saturday. Prior to arrival I phoned the hotel numerous time asking for our booking confirmation to be sent out, I'm still waiting for it! We also had an email from the reception advising us one of our rooms was to be cancelled a few days be travel. I phoned up straight away saying that this was not the case and they said they had spoken to my husband who had authorised it? My husband works at sea and had no phone signal so this was not this case. The room was reinstated but other members of our party had similar issues with regards to bookings going missing and rooms being doubled booked then appearing again.

On arrival the hotel looked fine but not 4 stars. The reception area was nice and it gave us a bit more hope for our room but this was short lived. Our room (214) was tired, scruffy and in need of some TLC. At £80 a night this was not what we were expecting. The border in the room was peeling off, there was a massive rip down the side of the curtain, the carpet was very worn, the wallpaper had yellow/brown stains on it, the sink didn't drain and a bed side light didn't work. On top of this my husband had ordered champagne and chocolates which were missing from our room and turned up in our parents room - the rooms were under separate names so we are not sure how this happened.

As it was already 11.30pm when we arrived we stayed in the room as we had been told a few days earlier the hotel was full. In the morning I went down to make reception aware of how disappointed we were with the standard of the accommodation and at first we were just told that they would be renovating the room. Then when I went back a few minutes later after thinking everything though they decided to upgrade us to one of their Executive rooms (269) Yes, this room had air conditioning which was very welcome and the walls were now in a better state of decoration. However the standard of this 4 star executive room is still less than what you would receive in a Travel Lodge.

We were very disappointed with our stay and the amount of money we spent on 3 rooms was very overpriced for what the hotel actually offers. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel - 3 at a push. The only positive about our stay was the staff. The waitresses in the breakfast room were very friendly and the staff seem to be doing their best with what poor standard of accommodation they have been left to work with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Nic,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the confusion regarding your bookings. We did all we could to interpret your requests for the rooms and unfortunately the mix-up occured with a room being cancelled.
Please do contact me directly if I can be of further assistance with this.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the hotel but unfortunately that was the best part of our 2 night stay. Reception staff and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful but unfortunately the interior is rather tired and needs refurbishment if they wish to charge hotel prices. In the bed room the carpet was worn and on one side of the bed it appeared that someone had vomited and the attempt to clean it up had taken all the pile away. Not quite a doss house but on the way !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mike,
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion and would like to assure you that ongoing refurbishment is in progress.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
939 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
6.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
754 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing