We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melting !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Melting !!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As mentioned by others ... a clean hotel, but the rooms were soooooo hot !!!
We asked at reception if they had any fans and were one of the lucky ones ... or so we thought !! They did indeed have one last fan available and it was bought to our room - however, the stand was broken so it needed to lean against something and when we plugged it in we found it didn't work :-(
Others in our party were also left in sweltering as by the time they arrived there were no fans available (even broken ones !!).
Even with the windows open it was unbearable in the rooms ... surely, in this day and age the hotel should have either air-con, or at worst, fans !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Rob,
Thank you for your review. We are certainly feeling the heat with this great summer and are placing fans where we can. The public areas are all air conditioned as are our executive bedrooms. We do not, however, have air conditioning throughout and it is certainly true that we struggle to keep the rooms cool.
Thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    229
    117
    90
See reviews for
167
332
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is definitely not the kind of hotel you'd book for a romantic weekend but if you want a clean room and comfy bed for the night then it fits the bill. The hotel itself is located in a rather unlovely 70s style building and the decor is very dated (though rooms on the ground floor are apparently being modified), however, our room was a good size with a new mattress on the bed and powerful shower in the bathroom. Staff were very friendly and luckily were able to give us an early check-in so we could get to a wedding we were attending and helped out with booking our taxi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThePiemanAndHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Pieman,
Thank you for your review.
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The overall impression is that the hotel needs a good redecoration. It's clean but needs sprucing up. The room was adequate but unbearably hot with no air conditioning and no fan provided

My friend who had a different room on the other hand found it reasonably comfortable; so avoid a West facing room!

The restaurant meal was excellent although they forgot about us for an hour, although apologized profusely and gave us free drinks to make up for it

Room Tip: Avoid West facing - rooms are like a furnace in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that we delayed your dinner service but I am pleased that the team looked after you with complimentary drinks!
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Nice clean simple hotel.if you stay on the top floor"only a two storey building" please note it has a flat roof. So on hot sunny days the roof turns into a giant heater.even with a fan in your room with a window open its WARM.....to say the least.
Im sure the ground floor would be cooler, but couldn't get a ground floor room.
Other than that, has a small bar, a very large car park.and a bonus of a small pool. Very popular for weddings and coach trips.

Clean. Tidy.and a good location...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Duke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tony,
Thank you for your review. The flat roof has certainly presented its problems this summer, however the pool remains cool and is proving popular!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marks Tey for one night on Friday 27 June. Checked in early as room was ready, nice quiet large room with very nice bathroom. Did not eat in hotel but had drink in bar that evening and was impressed with the professionalism of the bar staff whilst dealing with a disgruntled customer. Breakfast was very nice lovely big dining room and good choice of food. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient and will definitely stay again,

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed there recently for the first time, Staff were good and W**** the waitress was great. The place is quite opulent looking inside and well kept. The rooms were very nice, I got a good nights sleep. Ordered a fish dish and was told I'd get cod - but I got pollock, that was a bit disappointing.
Overall a nice stay and I'd go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvorD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Check in was a nightmare. I'd requested a twin room and asked for it to be a quiet one since I was travelling with my elderly mother. I was already disappointed that the hotel didn't have a lift- but that was my fault for not checking.
Check on time was 14.00. I arrived at 13.50 and reception couldn't allocate a quiet twin room because "the system hadn't been updated."

We finally checked in at 14.15. The room was very clean and a good size but what we didn't know was that it directly above the service entrance and from the early hours of the following morning all we could hear were staff chatting outside and trundling service containers in and out of the door below. The window didn't shut properly and so what double glazing there was, was totally ineffective.
If we'd been staying more than one night we would have asked to be moved.

Breakfast was a joke. They serve until 10.00 and we arrived in the restaurant at 9.15. There were no staff in the restaurant and so we seated ourselves and helped ourselves to what was left of the hot buffet. The dried up baked beans, watery orange juice and one scruffy piece of bacon didn't really add to the appeal of what was a very disappointing experience.

We certainly won't be returning to this hotel and wouldn't recommend it unless there was absolutely no room anywhere else in Colchester.
We have never been made to feel less welcome anywhere in the UK and when I mentioned all of the above at check out, the girl apologised and moved on to the next customer.
We really meant nothing at all.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217 if you want a good night's sleep- it's directly above the staff service entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
756 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
6.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
660 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Marks Tey Hotel

Property: Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing