We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Trethurgy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I booked this B&B after reading reviews on here and I wasn't disappointed. My daughter and I had tickets for The Eden Sessions and we wanted accommodation nearby. Marian greeted us showed us the downstairs layout and then showed us to our room, which was the twin and it was lovely (just like the photo.) She then offered us a much needed pot of tea which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden. When we left to go to the Eden Sessions, Marian gave us a map and also a card for a local taxi just in case we didn't fancy the walk back. Breakfast was delicious. Such a lovely friendly B&B. Definitely a 5* rating!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This excellent B&B cannot be faulted, only superlatives are needed!!
We had a lovely welcome cup of tea in the cosy sitting room and directions to a number of local hostelries for an evening meal. We'd recommend the Rashleigh Arms at Charlestown, only a few minutes' drive away down a long winding hill. We had a good night's sleep in the very comfy room, plus perfect shower, before delicious breakfast in conservatory overlooking the gorgeous garden. We had the choice of full English, different egg dishes, five choices of cereal, two juices, perfect strawberries, pineapple and melon and endless tea or coffee. We were really set up for the day of walking around the Eden Project (3 mins drive or 20 mins walk) or Lost Gardens of Heligan (easy 20 mins drive away). Thank you Marian and Mick and just keep doing what you're doing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just spent 4 days at this idyllic B&B set in lovely quiet countryside. The owners Marian and Mick made us feel really welcome, Marian appeared to greet us as we arrived at the front door offering us tea and help with our luggage. The room was spotless with tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries plus chocolate, such a welcome touch, nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a wonderful breakfast which kept us going all day. We had the use of a very nice lounge where we were able to relax after our many excursions. We will definitely be visiting again and we will be sure to recommend the Little Grey Cottage to family and friends.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nej44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This lovely B&B is located in a quiet woodland within an easy country walk to the Eden Project. Marian went out of her way to ensure a comfortable stay - storing our luggage to give us more space in our room, providing a map for the walk to Eden, providing delicious breakfasts in her lovely conservatory, and taking care of us at every turn. She remained unflustered and tremendously helpful even when a travellers' "bug" led to an emergency medical call, and kindly provided a light and very welcome supper when we finally returned from the local hospital. She did everything that a caring family member would have done in the same situation while maintaining her usual hospitality for another guest. Truly an extraordinary B&B host!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had travelled from Yorkshire to Bognor Regis and after four days went on to The Little Gey Cottage. Such a friendly warm welcome. Even though Marian and Mike were about to collect their grandaughter from school Marion was willing to make us a pot of tea.
We had the Master bedroom which included tea making facilities so we just rested there in peaceful bliss. A beautiful room (the photographs do not do it justice). We used the frig for wine and nibbles so as to relax before going out for an evening meal. The breakfasts were first class and beautifully presented.
The cottage is perfect for the walk to the Eden Project and close to the Lost Gardens of Helligan and Charlestown.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Choose the Master Bedroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed a peaceful relaxing stay in our Master Room. We are delighted to hear that you found our breakfast to be ‘first class and beautifully presented’. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A nice B&B with friendly owner who made us feel at home in the area and even gave us a ride to the local restaurants. The walk to Eden project is about 10-15 minutes on quiet country roads and paths. We had to leave our bags and return to pay and the owner was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munndaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

We are delighted to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at Little Grey Cottage. Hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed here with my son, my uncle and aunty from India to see the Eden Project,the Lost Gardens of Heligans and show them a beautiful part of the UK. This guest house is the perfect location, Marion cooked us a delicious breakfast the best my uncle and aunt had tasted in a Guest House in the UK. It was clean, beautiful and the beds were sooo comfortable that we did not want to wake up!

Everything about this trip and guest house was magical. Which Marion made very very special for us right from the start with the warmest welcome!

I highly recommend this guesthouse - you will not regret it XX

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are thrilled that you stayed with us whilst you visited some of Cornwall's best attractions. We are glad you agree that we are perfectly based in the centre of Cornwall for touring this county. We are especially pleased that you found our B&B magical!
Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Trethurgy, St Austell PL26 8YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Trethurgy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trethurgy
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Grey Cottage is a charming character bed and breakfast situated in the rural hamlet of Trethurgy, on the outskirts of St Austell town, only one mile from the Eden Project.PROPERTY AMENITIES:• Guest lounge• Sky TV• Internet access – wireless• Guest computer• DVD player• CD player• Iron/ironing board• Conservatory breakfast room• Smoke-free property• Safe car parking• Bicycle storage• Barbecue grill(s)• Guest patio areas• Mature gardens.ROOMS:Our cosy double en-suite bedrooms all have colour TV's, hairdryer's and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. The master double en-suite bedroom is a spacious room with TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. As well as leather chairs, table and mini fridge for extra comfort. The twin room has a colour TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. This room has a private shower room across the landing.BREAKFAST:In the morning a hearty breakfast is served in a bright and airy conservatory overlooking the gardens.Serving; fresh fruit juices, fresh fruits of the season, a wide selection of cereals, a full English breakfast including award winning Mr Kittow’s sausages, free range eggs, local tomato’s or home grown when in season and tea or coffee.Alternatively they offer a unique Cornish cheese and ham platter with local chutney, Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Smoked haddock with poached eggs. They also have a vegetarian breakfast and are happy to cater for any dietary requirements on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing