We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Trethurgy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A wonderful B&B stay that started with a very warm welcome and pot of tea served on the patio .Master bedroom was superbly decorated and clean. The rest of the accommodation was maintained and decorated to a very pleasing high standard. Breakfast included a very good selection of food and drinks.Marian was very helpful providing information about walking to the Eden project.This B&B is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I visit Cornwall every year and my usual b&b couldn't get me in this year.
It was also my partners first time visiting this beautiful place and I wanted somewhere that would completely spoil him/us rotten!
We arrived very late in the evening on the first day as we had some troubles leaving home on time. Marian kindly called us on the journey down just to make sure we were ok.
We arrived safe and sound and was greeted by a very smiley Marian and a cup of tea.
Even though it was late she still took the time to show us around her beautiful home and made sure we were settled in ready to hit the sack!
My partner and I were staying in the main master suit and it was decorated in whites and reds. The bed is amazingly comfortable and I have no idea what washing powder Marian uses but it smells truly lush!
Every evening we were provided with a little breakfast sheet of paper and nothing was too much trouble...I think I even managed to eat all the honey!
Even though we didn't have the best weather, sitting in the cottage's conservatory and being surrounded by its beautiful gardens helped us get over the rain.
Yes this b&b is slightly off the main roads, but who wants to stay around all the main roads when flying down the little Cornish lanes is such a huge part of the holiday :o)
I couldn't fault the place for cleanliness and even all the other people staying were so polite and friendly.
I sit here wondering what more the Little Grey Cottage could have offered.... I am drawing a blank other than maybe a pot of Marmite to go with the toast :oP
Thank you so much for the stay Marian and Mick. I have already passed on your business card to numerous people. Watch out for us again next year x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is one of the best b&b's we have stayed in. Very warm welcome from Marion who happily provided information about the area and especially about the route to walk to the Eden Project.
Very peaceful environment. Well equipped and comfortable room - we had the master suite. Delighted to see the commitment to using many Fairtrade products - an important factor for us in choosing accommodation. Delicious breakfast - the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were perfect.

Do check out the location as the b&b is a little out of the village and not the easiest to find unless you have checked on the website or asked Marion beforehand!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Salzungen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a lovley place to stay. First class rooms, Great breakfast and Marian and her
husband were so friendly. This was the first time that my wife who is German has stayed
in a B&B she was so impressed and fell in love with the cottage the moment she saw it.
Definitely a 5* rating!
Ramona and Michael from Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642155Michael_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Arrived after a long journey to be greeted by a smiling Marian complete with tea and coffee!This must rate as the best b&b we have ever stayed in.First class rooms with all the facilities you need to enjoy your stay.The breakfast menu is as complete as you could wish for,Next morning we sat down to a superb full English,well cooked and presented with top quality ingredients.Marian gave us advice for eating out etc and could not have been more helpful.The house and gardens are a delight and it was great to sit out with a pot of coffee and just chill.All in all a first class place to stay with the perfect hosts in Marian and Michael.Thanks for a great stay,Sue and Brian

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallnitz, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is probably the best B & B Guesthouse I have stayed in. It is in a beautiful spot within reasonable walking distance of the Eden Project, has a beautiful garden, exceptionally comfortable room (I stayed in the twin) with tea/coffee, water, TV, plenty of drawers and hanging space, view over the garden, and a plug right below the mirror for convenience for drying hair! There is a very comfortable guest lounge with another TV and lots of local information. The bathroom for use by guests in the twin room has a fabulous shower. Marian's full English breakfast includes fresh chopped fruit, cereal, fruit juices, yoghurts, a cheese plate, and a cooked breakfast with egg cooked the way you want it, sausage, lovely bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomato, beans and hash brown. There are other breakfast choices too. You don't get a cup of tea, you get a whole pot, and buckets of toast and butter! Both Marian and her husband were extremely accommodating and friendly, allowing my dad to park his motor caravan on the drive when he visited me, and made us both a pot of tea when we first arrived, even though dad was staying elsewhere. If you walk to the Eden Project Marian will give you a voucher for a discounted entry ticket. If you don't fancy the walk you can get a bus from Trethurgy village, or you can park a car at Eden. We had dinner in the nearby Knightor winery and restaurant which is also to be recommended. The service was very efficient and friendly and the food was excellent. Why stay anywhere else when you could stay at this guest house?

Room Tip: The guest house is in a very quiet location. The twin room overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I booked this B&B after reading reviews on here and I wasn't disappointed. My daughter and I had tickets for The Eden Sessions and we wanted accommodation nearby. Marian greeted us showed us the downstairs layout and then showed us to our room, which was the twin and it was lovely (just like the photo.) She then offered us a much needed pot of tea which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden. When we left to go to the Eden Sessions, Marian gave us a map and also a card for a local taxi just in case we didn't fancy the walk back. Breakfast was delicious. Such a lovely friendly B&B. Definitely a 5* rating!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trethurgy
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 17 in Par
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Trethurgy, St Austell PL26 8YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Trethurgy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trethurgy
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Grey Cottage is a charming character bed and breakfast situated in the rural hamlet of Trethurgy, on the outskirts of St Austell town, only one mile from the Eden Project.PROPERTY AMENITIES:• Guest lounge• Sky TV• Internet access – wireless• Guest computer• DVD player• CD player• Iron/ironing board• Conservatory breakfast room• Smoke-free property• Safe car parking• Bicycle storage• Barbecue grill(s)• Guest patio areas• Mature gardens.ROOMS:Our cosy double en-suite bedrooms all have colour TV's, hairdryer's and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. The master double en-suite bedroom is a spacious room with TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. As well as leather chairs, table and mini fridge for extra comfort. The twin room has a colour TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. This room has a private shower room across the landing.BREAKFAST:In the morning a hearty breakfast is served in a bright and airy conservatory overlooking the gardens.Serving; fresh fruit juices, fresh fruits of the season, a wide selection of cereals, a full English breakfast including award winning Mr Kittow’s sausages, free range eggs, local tomato’s or home grown when in season and tea or coffee.Alternatively they offer a unique Cornish cheese and ham platter with local chutney, Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Smoked haddock with poached eggs. They also have a vegetarian breakfast and are happy to cater for any dietary requirements on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing