We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid. Very disappointing. Go to Abbots Tandoori instead.”
Review of Viceroy Brasserie - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Viceroy Brasserie
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid. Very disappointing. Go to Abbots Tandoori instead.”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

3 of us ordered a takeaway to collect. The sauces of the different dishes were almost identical on taste despite being different dishes. Not very hot when collected. Lamb was not melt in the mouth so much as disintegrate at the lightest touch. Chicken rubbery. Duck a strange grainy texture. All 3 of us were scathing about the food. I collected it and was not impressed by the manner of the 1staff member I spoke too. Avoid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gremlyn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“ok - but a bit weird in places”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Went here last night ,,,,,, got there at 530 pm , ,, no problem with the food portions or service . The scottish owner (?) and and older lady held court back n forth all evening in the lobby style area ,... maybe this would have been better held elsewhere ?
Never the less , this place was a good choice for evening dinner .. good value . The only thing that i dont approve of is a complusory service charge . This was removed when i insisted

other places next door / close by so we may be tempted to go elswhere next time

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fair Price”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Good for takaways or eating in , the staff are pleasant and attentive, and the food is always cooked from fresh, they also do a sunday lunch , if its busy service can be a little slow, but thats the price you pay for having it cooked fresh

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went here for evening 2/2/13 for family celebration. In spite of it being relatively busy it was cold in the restaurant. Had to wait ages for our food and when it arrived the crockery it was served on was tatty, portions of food small and food was cold. Food was certainly not authentic, horrid congealed sauces and poor presentation. Would love to have been able to find something positive to say but the whole experience was poor.
Whilst the washroom facilities were clean I couldn't turn the hot tap on and doubt if anyone else would be able to either, I resorted to the cold tap which didn't work properly either. With all the competition around would suggest go anywhere but here as they put so little effort in, why give them your custom. They need to up their game.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAAAAAA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely evening and tasty food”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

as I am not big fan of Indian food was pleasantly surprised by freshness, taste ,presentation of food and friendly and attentive service.Would recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iraida3v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viceroy Brasserie also viewed

Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing