We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and a very good meal”
Review of The Gardeners Arms

The Gardeners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gardeners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Ardingly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunbury on Thames
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service and a very good meal”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is a number of years since I last visited and eat at this pub. I was very pleased with the changes. There have been a number of key improvements. The main one is the menu. This now offers a much better choice of meals than the usual pub food menu.

Staff were friendly and helpful and we had great service. The food was also very good.

The choice of real ales was also good and several Badger Ales were available on the pump. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    128
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food, unobtrusive friendly service”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I haven't been to the Gardeners Arms for over a year, as the last time I went there with friends the service was soooo slow & the food was tepid & uninteresting.
I returned there this week with a friend, simply because it was convenient. Well what a revelation. The menu was small (always a good sign) & full of interesting options. You order at the bar & the food is brought to your table, inside or out. We decided to sit outside as it was a warm evening. As the temperature dropped the fire pit was lit.
We both went for the falafel burger with halloumi & red peppers in a bun, with fries & a chilli chutney (even though neither of us were vegetarian), Wow! It was delicious. What a great evening. I'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“stale bread and over-prices”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

went for luch after a friend told us about this pub, we ordered 2 sandwiches and fries, sent first order back as bread was a hard as the wooden table we were sitting at! but 2nd order was a little better, but to be honest we were dissapointed, other food coming out looked much nicer. we would go again, but sarni's over-priced and very poor quality

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xalatan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Very Good Food & Friendly Service”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Been here a few times over the years, and have always found they have a good choice of food on the menu, as well as specials, and it's always well cooked and nicely presented.

The service is very friendly and efficient, and the staff always take time to talk to you, and to make sure you are happy with everything.

Nice beer garden should the sun ever come out!

Advisable to book as opposite the show ground, so can get busy in the evenings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complacency”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have been using this Pub for the last 2 years & have enjoyed many good meals there but over the last few months the prices have been pushed up & the portions down!... Last night 4 of us met there & when we asked for the bill we were told we couldn't now use our loyalty card.

Apparently they have changed their T&C's & now only accept the card Monday-Thursday.

We feel that its no longer value for money & wont be eating there again....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gardeners Arms also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to The Gardeners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing