We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Find - Pet Friendly”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View from property
Malin Town
Five fingers bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Carndonagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carla M
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Find - Pet Friendly”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a break in this cottage and had a great stay. Great for the dogs, large enclosed garden.

The house is a lived in house but clean and tidy, typical country house.

Will definitely be back.

Wee restaurant 'the butterbean' in the town is lovely and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
“Hi thank you for your lovely review. We’re so glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to our Cottage. The Butterbean is a very handy restaurant if you would prefer not to cook at home! With warm and kind regards, Frank & Rosie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolsM95...
Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a week in Josie's Cottage which has the most stunning views of the Irish countryside.
The house is very homely and had everything one would require including a fabulous open fire which was lit most nights.
The fields adjoining the house have horses and donkeys who are very partial to the odd apple.
Carndonagh Chapel is very impressive and well worth a visit as is Culdaff Beach and Malin Head. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins while at Culdaff Beach and see the many thousands of crabs being brought in by the fish trawlers at Malin Harbour.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Josie’s Cottage and we’re so happy to hear that you had a great time. We always endeavour to create a real ‘home from home’ atmosphere for our guests so that you can completely relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you back to Josie’s Cottage again in the future. Always a true Irish welcome waiting! – Frank & Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
august202...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ticked all the boxes and more for 2 adults, 3 children (15,11,9) and dog!”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having read all the previous reviews before we booked Josie's Cottage, I began to think this place sounds too good to be true!! Having just spent a week there (2 adults, 3 kids - 15,11,9, and dog)I can only add to the praises. The area is just beautiful, so dramatic and everywhere within a short drive. The beaches never ceased to amaze us, at times we had them to ourselves! Josie's Cottage was so well equipped, familiar and the minute you lit that fire at night, settled into watching the sun setting before you out the living room window, you knew you would be coming back to this amazing part of Donegal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Hello Shauna! Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you all had such a good time and wish to share all the (not so hidden!) secrets that Josie’s Cottage has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Frank & Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_crother...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee gem sandwiched between the hills and the bay.”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Josie's cottage is that rare find, that once you've discovered it you really don't have to look anywhere else. A perfect location ..... Slieve Snaght rising to one side, with views over Carndonagh to the beautiful Trawbreaga Bay.... Donegal at its best! The cottage is cosy with a fantastic open fire, creating a warm and friendly atmosphere to relax and chat into the wee small hours! A home from home from which to explore the delights of Inishowen. Wish I was there now!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. The fantastic service of the couple who manage the property.
Liked least: The uneven driveway to access the property.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salphoeni...
hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Josie's cottage was perfect for our stay in Ireland. It had everything we could possibly need, and then some. Location was brilliant, being just outside Carndonagh, with everything on the doorstep. Local nightlife was fun and the locals were friendly. The views from the cottage itself were stunning. On a clear day you can see all the way to Trawbeaga Bay and Slieve Sneacht (largest mountain in the area) and it can take your breathe away. The facilities at the cottage were more than adequate for 6 adults to share the space comfortably and the evenings were cosy with a turf fire in the open fireplace.

I would definitely consider Josie's Cottage again when returning to Donegal and would recommend it to friends. It's comfortable, cosy, picturesque and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere of the setting and cottage
Liked least: the mattress was a little bit softer than i am used to
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review which is much appreciated and really makes a difference when other potential guests are considering choosing our cottage as a holiday destination. We’re delighted to hear you all had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning location in the most cosy of cottages”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This hidden gem in Ireland should be on everyones list! unspoilt beaches by the dozen where the rolling green hills bleed into the ocean. The waters so clear and teeming with life they must be some of the best in the world.
The cottage itself is a home from home with everything a family needs. Easily sleeps 4 adults and 4 kids and has a great kitchen and bits for the beach and other things to keep the kids entertained when that irish weather changes (which it will at least 8 times a day :-) )
But dont stress! - light a turf fire - look out of THAT window to see a view better than any painting - take a glass of something local and just take it in and feel the stresses of life melt away. Will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern, clean cosy cottage an a simply stunning location
Liked least: stay was too short!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you for leaving such great feedback! It sounds as if you all had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilM23
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've been all over Donegal over the years and this is definitely now my favourite spot - we intend to return to Josie's Cottage many times in the future.
In reality the house is only about a mile from Carndonagh (a "big wee town" in Donegal terms) which has everything you need including a great "SuperValu" supermarket but you really do feel that you are away from it all.
The view of the mountains and sea are simply stunning and change from hour to hour.
It is only a ten minute drive at most to a choice of fantastic beaches (e.g. Culdaff, Five Finger Strand, Ballyliffin) and the surrounding unspoilt scenery of Inishowen is just breathtaking.
The house really does have all you need and is a lot bigger than it looks in the photos.

I would heartily recommend Josie's Cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage and all the delights that Inishowen has to offer in the very near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing