We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabinas in a beautiful garden.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DabDab Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DabDab Resort
st louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice cabinas in a beautiful garden.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

For 400php per cabin (in low season) you don't need to think twice.
The cabins are beautiful and comfortable with a small bench and hammock outside.
The lobby/restaurant has beautiful wood furniture and friendly staff.
Might be the best night sleep I had in the Philippines.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippine, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I arrived Sabang at 6:30 pm of June 11, 2013 from el nido. i just asked local people where i can get a cottage and pointed me Dabdab. I was a bit scary going to the hotel as it was a bit dark and many bushes. i did not have reservation (just walk-in) and the lady resceptionist gave me a room discounted for senior citizens at cottage no. 1. the bed was double ( though i travel alone all the time) and was comfortable. had a good sleep. bathroom was very clean, though no hot shower. I am happy to stay here. huge garden ideal for Bird Watching. it is close to the wharf, the launching are going to the Underground River. I shall come back to UR and stay again at Dabdab.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is recommendable close to the sea and the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsuru_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malveira, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just a 5 min walk from the pier from where the boats leave for the Underground river, on the rocky side of Sabang, you can find the DabDab. The cottages/rooms are spreaded around the gardens, which are well kept and the reception/restaurant is quite pleasant - seemed a place to relax and read a good book for a few hours, although we didn't eat there (prices within average).
We arrived, checked if they had rooms, looked at some and chose a room for 2, with private bathroom, for 900php. The room was clean and well maintained - keep in mind that the cottages are made of vegetable materials and you cannot expect not to have insects around, like ants.
We stayed for 2 nights and it was a good choice. It was easy to eat in other places, even at night (everything is quite close in Sabang) so we didn't have to stay at the resort. It made no difference to be away from the beach ("away" means 10 min walk, if you want to go to an almost deserted part of the beach) and it was really quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Pros: Had a room with a private bathroom
Cons: Everything else. The bathroom was broken, the sink leaked on the floor, the shower drained into a pond beside our room so it smelled quite badly. The bed was hard as a rock. The door handle was broken. There is only electricity for a couple hours a night. You have to walk by the town dump to get to the hotel. All the screens had holes big enough for a monitor lizard to crawl through. Food at the restaurant was inedible. Service was non-existent.
I understand this is a budget place, but that doesn't mean they can't try to make it better.

Room Tip: The best room would be at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sabang hotels

Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We booked at Dab Dab 3 hours before arriving to Sabang from Puerto Princesa. We knew that there were not many hotels available as it was quite last minute, but when we found this one on Agoda, we immediately booked it (at USD 64 per night for 2 nights). Upon arrival at 10pm, the girl at the reception told us they were fully booked for the night and there were no rooms available. We had just dragged our luggage in the dark, across the sand and rocks about 200m from our drop off point.

She found us another room at another hotel, and she informed us that she paid it in cash already, and if we didn't like the room the 2nd night, we could change. We didn't quite understand, and as it was late, we just stayed there. We ended up staying there for 3 nights (it's the Taraw), which cost USD 25 per night. The payment on my credit card went through to Agoda for 2 nights as well. What we suspect is that if Dab Dab is fully booked, they don't inform Agoda and instead continue to accept bookings. Then when the guest arrives, she puts them at a much cheaper hotel and pockets the difference.

I'm now in the middle of phone calls and emails with Agoda to get my money back. Agoda keeps trying to contact Dab Dab but no one picks up the phone.

Just be careful not to book last minute. Agoda informed me it is the hotel's responsibility to update their availability status online, and once they are full, to make sure no more bookings get confirmed via the website. Since Dab Dab is not doing that, we suspect they have this system set up where they receive these late night arrivals and put them at the much cheaper location. With all our luggage and going back and forth at that hour on the beach, we just accepted the cheaper room. It was only afterward that we realized what was going on.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank csk210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I booked in Feb. for the New Year's day. I had to change my plan on Sept 4. They just refuse to return the money THREE MONTH ahead of time. Xmas and New Year periode is the most busy time in the Philippines and everybody is rushing for last minute hotel. Make up your mind but I think this is outrageous. If the resorts in Philippines want to attract international customers, they should raise their standards to international rules.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KOstic157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Situated 5 minutes left once you hit the sea, the layout was well thought out and the cabins are simple yet all you need.
Out front is a rocky bay but the beach is a 5 minute walk back past the pier.
Our basic double was P400 with shared bathroom and no fan.
Note. As of time of writing (May 2012) a permit is needed for the underground river which is only available in Puerto Princesa. We arrived in Sabang without it and therefore could not go.
An online system is in the works but is not yet available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
0.0 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love and Peace Jungle River Paradise Resort
Love and Peace Jungle River Para...
#97 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Palawan Mangrove Resort
Palawan Mangrove Resort
#10 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DabDab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DabDab Resort

Property: DabDab Resort
Address: | Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Sabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sabang
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Hotel Dab Dab Sabang
DabDab Resort Palawan Island/Sabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing