We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duka Bay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Balai sa Baibai(Mambajao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaris Suite(Butuan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
7
36
16
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
36
16
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishglass bottom boatscuba divingcoming backfree breakfastbreadseveral activitiesearly morningwhite sand beachbeautiful coralstwo queen size bedswater sportsdive shoproom was spaciousmarine sanctuarybayterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The service we received here from the front desk, waitstaff, housekeeping, etc was top notch, everyone is so friendly.

We stayed in the condotels, and the rooms are very spacious and clean. They have huge balconies with breathtaking views.

The beach is gorgeous, and the water is amazing. The water is so clean and clear, it is perfect for snorkeling. We took their glass bottom boat out to snorkel and feed the fish. I highly recommend experiencing the fish feeding. You are surrounded by thousands of little fish that eat out of your hands, and during the boat ride we saw sea turtles and lots of other sea life. Our whole family enjoyed this from ages 5-60+

The food at the restaurant did not disappoint. The food was fresh and very tasty. The menu has something for everyone.

Overall, it was a fabulous and memorable weekend getaway at an affordable price. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Frincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

the resort is about a 2 hour drive from cagayan de oro city proper and we stayed there for one night. check in was fast and the villa rented to us was clean and spacious. it had a veranda overlooking the beautiful view of the sea. the villa had two queen size beds, a fridge and satellite tv. the disappointment was the bathroom, needs to refurbished since molds and cracks were apparent on the tiles already. the beach is very inviting and the waters are clear and calm in the morning and mid afternoon.
food and service was good, the served seafood was fresh and the staff were very friendly.
you can rent a boat and go scuba diving, just ask the lady at the front desk. would recommend this for family outings or a weekend getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peapie0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My family and I have travelled to a lot of places and have been to so many hotels and resorts of different categories but we never get tired of going to Duka Bay. It is not pricey at all. In fact, it is very cheap. Well, maybe if you come from Cagayan de Oro where hotels are cheap, then this may come as a pricey resort but if you compare it to the resorts in Luzon it is only half (even 1/3) the price but twice as good.

We booked a junior suite @ Php2,820 per night, inclusive of breakfast for 2 worth 450. It's not a bad deal considering that the room is really big, clean, with a balcony that has a great view. We had no problems with insects even when we left the door to the balcony open for some time in the evening.

We love the place, the view, the swimming (day and night) and the beautiful sea life that we got to see through a tour with their glass bottom boat that cost only Php450 for 30 minutes.

The only problem we had were the guests from the next door room. The resort allowed the room to be occupied with over 10 people and it was noisy and some of them would go to our side of the balcony and use our stairs even if there was a partition put in place to separate our spaces.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RCMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I'm talking about the room we ended up in. It was terrible - even after requesting a fumigation (never mind how it might affect our health!) - there were still mosquitos flying around everywhere. And there are NO SCREENS ON THE WINDOWS, which is simply incomprehensible for this part of the world, where malaria and dengue fever are endemic. We finally just borrowed mosquito nets from our relatives and used them in the room! On top of the herd of mosquitos in our room, there were also big black ants everywhere (shower, main room, etc.). And our first morning we woke up to a giant black spider (not sure what kind but the body was the size of the nail on my big toe) crawling down the wall next to my bed! Ugh! I've stayed all over the Philippines in different hotels and houses and even in huts in the countryside -- never have I seen so many bugs in my living space!

Everything is overpriced - from the accommodations to the rooms. The rooms are about the quality of a low to average Motel 6, and not much better than that - even the deluxe room that we got was nothing special, and the bathroom fixtures didn't match. The cable TV is just horrible - just a few channels and half of them don't come in clearly. There is no wi-fi -- for the price you'd think they would at least include internet access of some sort. The waitstaff is efficient enough, but they have an odd vibe, like they are not comfortable around foreigners.
The beach had trash in the surf and the sand. We saw a baby's disposable diaper and other horrible things while swimming. The sand itself looks dirty - my in-laws said it used to be called White Beach, but the sand is now dirty dark grey. We thought we were getting a beach vacation on top of our family visit, but it was just a lame experience, beach-wise. The food was decent to just okay, depending on who the cook is, I guess. There were locals eating there, but then Medina has almost no places to go out to eat.

Maybe they think because they have a captive market - it is the only hotel in Medina - they can charge anything they want. We booked this because of the nicer end reviews and the nice website they have which is tempting. But none of those reflect reality at all. To top it off, over dinner our last night, we overheard an elderly man (who was being treated special by the wait staff, maybe he was a VIP or the owner) telling his friends that he thought foreigners were immoral and didn't know how to discipline their kids. I hope he wasn't referring to MY kids or MY morality! But either way it was really offensive.

Next time, if we have to visit these relatives again, we will just stay at their house (and share the single bathroom amongst all of us, or else get a hotel in Gingoog City and drive over every day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Moe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Very unfriendly staff, pricey and overrated.
We requested for the use of kitchen for cutting some vegetables where the cooks allowed us. After a while, the headwaiter threw us out of the kitchen in a rude manner and loud voice
After the incident, no one even bothered to apologize--not even the headwaiter when asked to explain by his supervisor.
We would have not minded if the place were as spectacular but nothing really, just an ordinary beach with poorly maintained villas.
On top of it all, we had to pay for just the use of plates despite being checked in guests. Will definitely not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainfall10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews