We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Seaside Resort BUT Mosquitoes Abound”
Review of Duka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
philippines
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tranquil Seaside Resort BUT Mosquitoes Abound”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have visited the place several times, but got to stay overnight just recently. These are my observations: A) the white sand is now mixed with plenty of black; B) am still amazed by the view of the sunrise & sunsets; C) food and accommodation seemed overpriced; D) a lot of rooms to choose from -- from expensive villas to dorm-type rooms; E) they have scuba gears for rental, and they even offer lessons; F) it is less than a kilometer away from Alibuag Cold Spring; G) they have adequate parking space; H) the restrooms near the restaurant is dirty and needs renovation; I) the villas need a lot of attention/repair -- though very spacious at $69-70/night, the beds shake, the bathroom is dirty, the room is dark, the balcony sliding doors do not close (to separate us from the next door occupants). What was most disturbing to me was the fact that I could barely sleep because of the mosquitoes! I guess they tried to address this problem because they put on an electric mosquito repellent but they just kept buzzing; i ended up sleeping with the sheets over my head. This place would have been a perfect place to relax or engage in water sports if the staff and owners paid due attention to the rooms, toilets and the state of mosquito infestation.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jollynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been to this resort many times. Its a nice location, rooms are very outdated and over priced and the new menu sucks, the food is not nice, like it used to be. What I find most disturbing is the amount of older men, YES OLD MEN mainly foreigners that come and stay with younger girls, YES GIRLS NOT WOMEN ! Disturbing if you have a family with young daughters who ask, " are they with their Grandad " !

Room Tip: Furthest away from Grandads !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank katy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was my 2nd time here but I enjoyed more our latest visit. It was a company outing of my husband and families were also invited. More than anything I love the beach. It was perhaps of the timing of a very good weather and not so crowded that time. The sea water is warm not so salty. You can walk barefooted without hurting your feet, the sand is refined and soft. The water is clean and clear. We also rented a Pavillion Hut covered with net which is P1,000 from 8am-5pm and P1,500 from 5pm-8am where we eat together and had our program. We also got a dorm type room which is P3,700 good for 10 persons, since the room is still spacious we requested additional beds to accommodate 16 pax. Others stayed at the Hut. The room has one toilet room and one shower room. There are several open shower outside and several lavatories and dirty kitchen. I could not comment on the food since we brought and cook our own. We also ride a bottom glass boat worth 350 for 10 pax, it was a nice experience since we can also get to feed the fish. They also offer several activities like snorkeling and diving.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lea_apal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I brought a team of 24 ministers from Manila to conduct a Worship seminar for three days in Gingoog City. The schedule was very tight but the results were overwhelming. So, our church there brought us to Duka Bay Resort to relax and unwind. We certainly were not disappointed. We just rented one of the bigger cottages (with nets to keep away insects) since we were there only for over six hours. The waters were serene and clear. The setting, idyllic, especially with Hibok-Hibok in the distance. The sand was off-white but its texture was comparable to the more popular white-sand beaches I have been to. There was enough beach area for our youth to play "Extreme Patintero" but not big enough for sunbathing but who cares? We spent most of the time in the water. For a P50 entrance fee, we certainly got more than our money's worth.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank NelsonAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingoog City, Gingoog, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

To Those Who Felt That The Food is so exorbitant ;

Just get out at the gate of the resort and asked those small store lined in the hi way to cooked,they will will cooked the food you like with & you can haggle the price. Duka Bay's food Price is really high....parang naka shabu ka sa presyo;high na high !!!!!! I am from Duka but I no longer live there just dropby time to time !

Room Tip: plain & simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jose Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butuan, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A few kilometers away from Gingoog City you can't miss Duka Bay Resort as there is a big sign to the direction to the resort. It is a secluded place with big trees lining to the beach. It is a good place to relax &unwind. They offer water activities to choose from-aquabike, diving, jetski, bananaboat, snorkel,kayaking & bottom glass boat. For a snorkelling &diving -the corals not so impressive, it will do for the first timer diver. We booked their dormitory room type as we were 12 people & 4 children. The area is so far from the restaurant that they will charge you extra if you want food to be delivered. Their double decked beds are very high & is hard to climb up & down. But the beach is clearer & the sand is whiter in the far end & is more private. on our experience, the waiters are only extra friendly when they were promised for an extra tip. But all in all I had fun because of the company of people i was with.
early in the morning, it had a perfect & clear view of Camiguin island, sans the clouds..its worth to wake up early and soak the sunrise & view..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myra2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The rooms are big with 2 double bed. It can accomodtae 4 adults in one room. But the rooms are old. The room's air condition is not enough. Even the aircon is in full blast the room is still hot. The toilet is dirty. It has cock croach. And lots of ants inside the room. There are a cab web all over the room.
The only great thing there is the staff. Very helpful and very courteous. The food is just ok. Nothing really great.very ordinary food but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovely082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medina hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medina
36.0 mi away
Almont Inland Resort
Almont Inland Resort
#6 of 8 in Butuan
129 reviews
36.3 mi away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 8 in Butuan
141 reviews
35.7 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#2 of 8 in Butuan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
83 reviews
38.6 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
294 reviews
39.6 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duka Bay Resort

Property: Duka Bay Resort
Address: Medina | Misamis Oriental, Medina, Mindanao 9013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME TO THE TRANQUIL, shady Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Watch the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. Enjoy our elegant, spacious villas, open-air restaurant, and rich coral life. Make use of our scuba diving gears, kayaks, banana boat rides, snorkeling, and glass bottom boats. Have fun!Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Is in the quiet, laid-back town of Medina, Misamis Oriental, Philippines. Far from the city, the resort occupies a sandy shore and a hill, and is soothingly shaded by a cluster of large ancestral trees. Nine villas -- spacious, elegant, and fully furnished -- provide a breathtaking view of the bay and the island of Camiguin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duka Bay Hotel Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing