We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petali Village Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemon(Artemonas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smaragdi Hotel(Artemonas)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Anthousa(Apollonia)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sifnos(Apollonia)
View Hotel
Gerofinikas(Apollonia)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agnanti(Kastro)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ALK Hotel(Kamares)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
155
41
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
41
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsexcellent breakfastshort walkeasy accesshill overlookingrelaxing hotelfive minutesgreat choicepastrieswould definitely stay here againother placesother guestsevery morningsecond visitisland gemhave stayed here many timeslovely pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in June. It was by far the most expensive place we stayed at during our greek island hopping holiday and we paid £95 euros per night. The other places we stayed at all offered complimentary transfers to and from the port and I thought it would have been nice if this hotel offered the same service seeing as you are paying top rates for the room etc. We found the hotel ideally situated for getting into town and catching buses etc so that was a big tick in it's favour. And just down the path leading into town is a really nice italian restaurant called mamm mia - would definitely recommend going there. The room was clean and the bathroom was well equipped - lovely shower. The bed was the comfiest I have ever had the pleasure to lie in! Breakfast was good - I preferred the buffet days where you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. The food was good quality and very tasty and a perfect set up for the day. The pool was disappointing in size and I have to agree that whilst staff were perfectly polite there was a degree of coolness which we did not experience anywhere else. We loved Sifnos but would look for somewhere cheaper next time as I think you can spend a lot less and still have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NikkiHalligreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I totally agree with the previous comment.
No warm welcome, uneasy to access from the road, poor value for money even with the low season price.
Still, the view from the room was beautiful. The hotel is close to the center by walk.
I found the pick-up to the port very expensive : 12 Euros.
If I had to stay again in Sifnos, I would look for a room on the beach, not in the main village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romain75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Avoid this place! We spent 2 nights in June 2012. The only good thing is the view though there is electric wires wasting the sight. Swimmimg pool is a joke (small and unpractical). Rubber jacuzzi was dirty. No warm welcome and no personal experience. During our Greek islands tour, it was the only hotel where they couldn't recommend properly places to visit and restaurant to go to in a map. They charge you 12€ for the pick up to and from the port (less than 10 minutes drive). Room looked like old 70s room with no comfortable bed. The amazing thing was the room service menu: it looked like 5* hotel prices! We paid only ~80€ a night because it was considered off season but I understand the same room can get up to 150-200€ a night in high season. This is insane. You can find equivalent rooms or even better for 40€ in Sifnos.
At last, if you have a car, moto, quad, it's not easy to getto the hotel as you have to take a dirty road outside the center to get there. From foot, it's ok, 5 minutes walk to the center. From motorised vehicles, it's a pain.
AVOID this place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dude75010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Hotel Petali is just about as nice a place as one could find to stay while on Sifnos. The rooms and grounds are kept immaculate by the house staff, while the administration is in the hands of staff (and the owner) who deal with everything efficiently and courteously. Most of the staff are fluent in English or French.

There are spectacular views to be had from the hotel terraces, especially in the direction of Paros and over the villages Exambela and Apollonia. Access to a really good bus or taxi service to all parts of the island is no more than 5 minutes from the hotel gate. Also, a very good car park lies at one end of the hotel, at most only one minute from the centre of the hotel complex.

The rooms are modern and minimalist, with wooden, laminate floors being preferred to tiles. En-suite bathrooms are of a very good standard. The swimming pool, although on the smallish side, is more than adequate for those who wish to lounge around in the sun for a while. However, during our stay there, most residents went out all day, so the pool area was usually very quiet.

Breakfast and snack facilites are very good, with a really good variety of foodstuffs available for breakfast in particular. The staff are very polyglot, cheerful and helpful and one could not wish for better. The owner ensures that guests get the best of attention.

Finally, Sifnos itself..... over the last 40 years I have visited Sifnos over 100 times, often for many weeks at a time. Its infrastructure has improved beyond belief in recent years....new roads and better facilities to be had throughout the island. It has always been a magical place for me, mainly because of the people who live there. Over the years,I have stayed in just about as many types of accommodation on Sifnos as one could imagine. I have found none better than the Hotel Petali. Free internet access throughout the hotel, for those who want or need it, is useful.

No doubt, it will not suit everyone's holiday needs but, as it is located at the centre of Sifnos' populated area, it is so convenient to experience easily the whole of the island and what it has to offer.

Room Tip: Good website. Look at the rooms online.......one or two are 'smallish'.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SifnoScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Located on the side of the hill overlooking the town on Appollonia, on the path the Artemonas, Hotel Petali is a true gem. Georgios's attention to detail is evident in the care he's put in to decorating and maintaining his property.

The location is ideal, nearby to all the action, but just far enough away to allow for spacious grounds and a parking lot for rental cars....Petali is nice enough to want to spend the day there.

The rooms reside in pretty little white cubed houses, framed with vivid flowers. In fact, flowers are all over the site which makes for beautiful photos, but ALOT of bees. I guess that's the price you pay for such lovely flowers. Breakfast is awesome, and is served on a patio with a nice view of the valley.

They also have a very nice little pool, with comfy lounge chairs nearby to while away the day.

Sifnos was my favorite of all the islands we visited. Highlights include shopping in Appollonia, walking through the alleys of Artemonas, Chryssopigi Monastery, Views from Kastro, and Vathi beach. You will definitely need a rental car to fully enjoy the island. Petali can arrange or you can grab it at the port. Be prepared for precarious roads!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews