We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summer Homes Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blue Cove Island Resort(Port Barton)(Great Value!)
US$27
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$188
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
20
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
20
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Summer Homes is located almost directly at the beach. There is only a small nice garden betweeen the beach and the cottages. Upfront there are 4 cottages and in the rear of the resort some rooms. We had a cottage. It was clean and spacious. Because of the low season we have been the only guest in the whole resort and enjoyed our stay really much. Staff was very friendly. Food in the restaurat is good, but a bit more expensive then in the local restaurants. Free Wifi is provider during the elctricity. But be aware that electricity is provide in whole Port Barton only from 6 p.m. until 12 p.m. Summer Homes has an own generator which runs from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m.
We would stay there again. Port Barton is a great place.Island Hopping trips are cheaper then in El Nido an better bfor snorkeling compared with there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannovah96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in a beach-front bungalow. It was quite roomy (even allowing for the extra bed for our teenage son) and clean.
Sadly our 2 night stay was comletely ruined by a severe rainstorm which ruined all of our plans (and trust me when I say that with a young family, when the weather is bad, there's NOTHING to do in Port Barton) so it's difficult to be more positive.
However, the service was good and the staff were always friendly, but I could NEVER give the food any more than an average rating. It may be good for Port Barton, but if that's the case i'm very glad that the rain prevented us from eating anywhere else!
Maybe with sunshine and being able to move off your balcony my view may be different.....but sadly I may never know, because after having to abandon our family car 1/2 way along the road (I'm a seasoned off-road 4WD user.....and I would not take even a Range Rover on that road!) we had to continue on a trike. I WILL NOT do that again!

Room Tip: The beach front cottages are best option.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalawanEnglishExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The value for money on Summer Homes is very good. The rooms are simple but very clean and better than you expect for the price (approx. 1500 Php for a double room), The service is very good with friendly staff. The food is amazing and we had better dinner here than in other 5 star resorts during this trip to Palawan. The beach just outside is mediochre but taking a boat out to the islands outside will bring you to paradise islands with white sand beaches and clear water.

Definitely a recommended place to stay at!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tibor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

A bit pricey compared to other bungalow, rooms are extremely hot because in concrete but overall, very nice place, beach front, great hammock, food at the restaurant is delicious and iper clean. i would go back, but only for no availability elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at one of the bungalows facing the beach. It was roomy and in good condition, nice to have some space to spread out all your belongings over after backpacking for a while! Service was very good at this place, and the staff at the hotel as well as people in Port Barton in general was perhaps the friendliest we've met in all of the Pilippines!

The place is located right on the beach which is great - it isn't the best place to swim in, though, because all the bancas of the village anchors here too. Good for a quick dip however, and it was a very nice setting for romantic walks in the evening. In fact, in this respect we found Port Barton to be all that we imagined El nido to be - only a lot less people! You can off course go island hopping or on snorkling tours (very nice corals nearby!) by renting a boat for no cost at all for water activities or a more secluded day by the sea.

There was free wifi at the restaurant (only spot in town?), food was good! Only drawback about this place is that electricity runs only from 6-12 in the evening (same for most of Palawan). We discovered that at least a fan at night makes for much better sleep quality! Also, our bungalow was close to the restaurant which set back a private feel slightly - but the Bungalow still seemed to be a way nicer option than a room!

Room Tip: avoid the bungalow closest to the restaurant
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews