We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recomended”
Review of Ailean Chraggan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ailean Chraggan
Ranked #1 of 2 Weem B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“highly recomended”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We were recomended this restaurant by the B&B in Aberfeldy.
A personable and humourous welcome set the scene, the view from the conservatory style restaurant was appreciated, the food was delicious and served promptly. The staff are courteous and "lively" - the waitress went and found out how the red onion marmalade and goats cheese tartlet was made for me, the manager has just the right balance in his style, nothing seems to be too much trouble.
A small point to make - that there was only one veggie option on the main courses - mediteranean vegetable gnocci. I chose a veggie starter for my main course, with extra salad, which was delicious and plenty.
On the Saturday night that I was there they had live music - fiddle, banjo, etc which was a welcome addition to a great evening. The meal for two (no desserts) came to just over £50 including drinks and coffee.
I would definitely recomend and go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Went for an evening meal with friends..The restaurant has a lovely relaxed,warm and cosy atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them...the meals were superb and very reasonably priced....the menu was varied with loads of great choices to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootleaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I were staying in Kenmore and had dinner here one night. We had never been before and it was first class and was good value for the high standard of cuisine they provide and the service from Tony (the Manager) was outstanding. He has such a nice manner and gives real personal attention to all his customers. Also, the restaurant has a lovely "conservatory" style ambience with beautiful views. Will definitely be back !
Just one piece of advice - if you are taking a taxi back to where you are staying book it well in advance ! We went midweek and there was only one taxi for the whole of the surrounding area of Weem, Aberfeldy, Kenmore !

Room Tip: We only ate in the hotel - we did not stay.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CookGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We found this hotel on the internet whilst looking for somewhere different to stay in Scotland. We were delighted with our quiet room, the meals and the friendly staff. Our only regret was that we had to leave after 2 days. We will definitely be back. It was a treat to stay there... thank you.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murren, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stay here for the fishing on the Tay. Rooms comfortable and plenty of hot water. Food excellent and the bar has a good selection of beers local and national with a large whisky store. Most palatable wines and fair prices. Family run and very friendly. Look out for the sea food platter; fresh and excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I really loved this place. The food was gorgeous, plentiful and reasonably priced and the service was of the sort envied by all attempting to provide this kind of service. A real tribute to the Gillespie family. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapeluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights when taking part in a cycle event. A very nice small hotel, comfortable, with friendly and welcoming staff. They went out of their way to provide early breakfasts. Good food, and a nice bar with decent beer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comrade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weem
0.3 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,535 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#9 of 19 in Aberfeldy
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ailean Chraggan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ailean Chraggan

Property: Ailean Chraggan
Address: Main Street, Weem, Aberfeldy PH15 2LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy > Weem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ailean Chraggan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Ailean Chraggan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing