We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed by many times but decided to go in for a meal.”
Review of Ailean Chraggan

Ailean Chraggan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ailean Chraggan
Ranked #1 of 2 Weem B&B and Inns
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Passed by many times but decided to go in for a meal.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have been up to Aberfeldy many times over the last 25 years and driven and walked past the Ailean Chraggan many times.
It is an unimposing looking place and never seemed to be busy.
We popped in to have a look at the menu and were impressed so booked a table for that evening.
The atmosphere at dinner time was lively and very pleasant.
Our food was delicious and the menu is based on what is fresh and locally sourced.
I had roasted Camembert for a starter and a delicious piece of beautifully pink venison for my main course.
All washed down with a great pint of Inveralmond Thrappledouser.

We'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only stopped for a couple of drinks.
Host gave us a warm welcome. Very friendly gentleman.
The place was in a fantastic location. With nicely kept gardens and great view.
We happened to be there in an unusually warm scottish day, so tables on the terrace were perfect, but even on a winter day would had been great, since the y had a glassed gallery, overlooking the beautiful scenery, with heaters all around.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We returned to Allean Chraggan again after previous visits 8 months ago and once again were delighted with our meal and the great service. We had booked for early in the evening and were glad we had as the place filled up quite rapidly with a cheerful crowd of fellow diners and bar patrons. The welcome and service was great - as was the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank still_trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Glassie Bunkhouse up the hill for a hen weekend and walked down through the woods to the Ailean Chraggan where Tony put on a 3 course choice menu for all 18 of us on the Saturday night. On arrival he gave us a Kir which was delicious and then we had our meal. After a day of activities at the Dunolly activity centre we were ravenous and devoured the delicious bread in a trice. Next followed three delicious courses which I would normally find too much but it was so tasty and perfect that I ate the lot as did nearly everyone else. Beautiful presentation of food, piping hot,great service. Genial host who even ran a couple of tired people back up the mountain early in the evening. And the locals in the bar were lovely as well. It took quite an effort to extract the hen from them. Good selection on the wine list.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicknicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Nice location just outside Aberfeldy and worth a visit. We visited twice during our stay . The hotel / dinning room does need a bit of a face lift. And we felt the food generally needed seasoning . But still of a good standard . Service was good and staff friendly .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have been to this restaurant a few times before joining trip advisor but I must say the food is good and portions are plentiful, prices are reasonable and service has always been good. I enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and the banter of the bar which is unfortunately next to the dining tables and can sometimes be a bit noisy, but a good lively place for an unpretentious meal with friends or in laws (I've done both) and I would not hesitate to recommend this place for anyone either visiting the area or staying for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beardyhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Firstly it is obvious that my review is in the minority here but as my first review on Tripadvisor I felt it necessary to leave my genuine opinion of this restaurant. While waiting for our table my husband and I were subjected to the opinionated rantings of the cravated proprietor to customers whilst he held court in the bar as if he were hosting a private party. The difference being we are paying customers and he did not seem to care who heard his misguided, ill-informed and narrow minded rubbish. At this point should probably have walked out but went on to order. The menu was impressive with dishes that sounded challenging however given the speed they were served at it was obvious they weren't as complex as they appeared on the menu. An example of this was the baked Alaska which came in the form of a slice of 70's arctic roll (you guessed -Mum's gone to Iceland!) with a huge pile of raw meringue on top slightly browned with the sparing application of a blow torch. Strange, 'baking' suggests it should go somewhere near an oven. Part of the skill of this dessert really. A main of braised pork belly also sounded great but three slices of rolled roast pork with two slices of black pudding inbetween must break the trades description act! Even the slice of golden delicious apple accompanying it hadnt been cored. The type of apple was the nearest the meal got to delicious. Seriously disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghillie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weem
1.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
86 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#9 of 19 in Aberfeldy
94 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ailean Chraggan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ailean Chraggan

Property: Ailean Chraggan
Address: Main Street, Weem, Aberfeldy PH15 2LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy > Weem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ailean Chraggan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ailean Chraggan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing