We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ailean Chraggan
Nearby Hotels
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
61
20
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonfantastic mealgreat food and great servicecullen skinkwell stocked barworth a visitplenty of hot watercomfortable roomseafoodon arrivalfavourite places to eatmaltshaunch
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have been up to Aberfeldy many times over the last 25 years and driven and walked past the Ailean Chraggan many times.
It is an unimposing looking place and never seemed to be busy.
We popped in to have a look at the menu and were impressed so booked a table for that evening.
The atmosphere at dinner time was lively and very pleasant.
Our food was delicious and the menu is based on what is fresh and locally sourced.
I had roasted Camembert for a starter and a delicious piece of beautifully pink venison for my main course.
All washed down with a great pint of Inveralmond Thrappledouser.

We'll be back...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only stopped for a couple of drinks.
Host gave us a warm welcome. Very friendly gentleman.
The place was in a fantastic location. With nicely kept gardens and great view.
We happened to be there in an unusually warm scottish day, so tables on the terrace were perfect, but even on a winter day would had been great, since the y had a glassed gallery, overlooking the beautiful scenery, with heaters all around.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We returned to Allean Chraggan again after previous visits 8 months ago and once again were delighted with our meal and the great service. We had booked for early in the evening and were glad we had as the place filled up quite rapidly with a cheerful crowd of fellow diners and bar patrons. The welcome and service was great - as was the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank still_trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Glassie Bunkhouse up the hill for a hen weekend and walked down through the woods to the Ailean Chraggan where Tony put on a 3 course choice menu for all 18 of us on the Saturday night. On arrival he gave us a Kir which was delicious and then we had our meal. After a day of activities at the Dunolly activity centre we were ravenous and devoured the delicious bread in a trice. Next followed three delicious courses which I would normally find too much but it was so tasty and perfect that I ate the lot as did nearly everyone else. Beautiful presentation of food, piping hot,great service. Genial host who even ran a couple of tired people back up the mountain early in the evening. And the locals in the bar were lovely as well. It took quite an effort to extract the hen from them. Good selection on the wine list.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicknicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Nice location just outside Aberfeldy and worth a visit. We visited twice during our stay . The hotel / dinning room does need a bit of a face lift. And we felt the food generally needed seasoning . But still of a good standard . Service was good and staff friendly .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews