We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Grows On You.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just returned from a week at Secret Harbor Resort. (7/30-8/3 2012) My first impression was not good. Nothing fancy. It is smaller than you imagine from looking at the photos. The food was generally quite tasty. We never ate dinner there. The staff was very friendly although we never saw a porter to take luggage to and from our room after several attempts. We soon adapted.
This is not a luxury hotel resort. We discovered that when we first arrived and ate lunch. Several patrons wore no shirts or shoes in the outdoor restaurant. I was apprehensive from that moment on. Then we saw our two bedroom beachfront room #215. It was great. Spacious, very comfortable, modern kitchen amenities, air, TV, bathrooms, etc. Way better than expected. The beach and snorkeling were good, but it's a public beach and at times busy with noticeably non resort visitors. By weeks end we had so acclimated to the relaxed routine that not much bothered us. It's a divers resort and so less stringent when it comes to attire at lunch. It grew on us and it's fine if you just want water, a clean room and no stress. The grandchildren loved spending all day swimming and chasing Iguanas and we liked being able to watch them from the large glass doors facing the beach. My biggest complaint was the absence of fruit at meals. I thought the prices were in line with everything else on St. Thomas. Buying groceries cost as much as eating at the restaurant by the time you add in transportation costs, but at least we had fruit and could eat light if we wanted. By the way, we never saw the pool. I think it is up a rather steep hill to the other set of Ocean view rooms?

Room Tip: The two bedroom beach front is great for families with kids. It really made the trip worthwhile for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife found Secret Harbour after we decided on a scuba-oriented vacation for me. She likes to sit by the pool and read while I dive in the morning, then spend the afternoon and evening hanging out, sipping cool drinks, and relaxing.

We had an oceanfront, one-bedroom condo at SH (room 223) and found it spacious, well air-conditioned (definitely a necessity), and nicely appointed. We sat on the balcony overlooking the beach and listened to the little waves as we read our novels, ate well-prepared food in the two on-site restaurants (pricey but within the normal range of this tourist-oriented part of the island), and enjoyed the pleasant service that we found everywhere in the resort.

HIGH recommendation for the Oceanfront condos. You may pay a bit more, but they are nicely situated. We were happy to have an upper-level room, as the view from the first level is blocked by the plantings and the comings and goings of other residents.

The onsite dive shop was excellent and attentive, with good equipment.

We had three relatively minor complaints. The wifi is slow and erratic. The hot water in the room was at best quite warm, and we were charged for beach towels that never materialized. The charge was eradicated immediately and with our any question whatsoever, but it was a bit of a surprise.

The beach was remarkably clean and free of any human debris whatsoever. No plastic cups, no cans, no bottles, no bags. Only occasional pairs of flip-flops or swim fins forgotten by guests. The water and the sandy/coral bottom, likewise. This condition is truly unusual for a beach resort.

The snorkeling was pretty good, especially early in the morning and at dusk. I ran into a couple of hawksbill turtles, a lovely school of palometas, and clouds of immature french grunts along the rocks. You can find parrotfish, trunkfish, lots of damselfish and the usual tropical suspects on the remaining live corals. Sadly, much of the coral is bleached and dead--but that is the situation nearly everywhere in the Caribbean.

We'll be back, for sure. Next time, we'll take a cab from the airport and ask the cabbie to stop at a supermarket that caters to locals so that we can stock up on breakfast and lunch foods to save a few dollars. The Marine Market in Red Hook is very pricey and badly understocked. The Food Center is much better, but it is also tourist-priced.

Room Tip: Oceanfront condo! Second or third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank todbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for five days in May 2012. We loved the beach. It is in a protected harbor that creates calm water. You can walk right in a see fish everywhere.

The hotel is not a 5 star hotel. But the rooms have everything you need to have a great vacation.
The restaurant has amazing food and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was my first trip to St. Thomas and I have to say it was just breathtaking. It is a good distance from the airport so if you want to be close to the action this place is not for you. When we arrived to check in we had some problems at the front desk. They had us checking out a day earlier than we were supposed to. We even had a copy of our confirmation and they would say, "Sorry, but this is not in our computer." After about 30 minutes of heartbreaking discussion with the employee, another employee steps up to help. The front office is in desperate need of some organization and better attitudes. They also tried to stick us with a 200.00 bill from their restaurant at checkout. After investigating we found out that it was charged to our room by mistake. So, be on your toes at check in and check out. I did overhear a resident there that said new management was soon taking over and that would be a great move in my opinion!

The rooms were nice but in need of some updating. They did serve the purpose though quite well. We had a beachfront room and I would suggest it for anyone staying. We started out in a ocean view room but after our trouble at check in we were upgraded to a beachfront. Lots of walking uphill and it is a little distance from the beach but close to the pools.

The bar and restaurant was great. A little pricey but great food. We ate there everyday and took advantage of happy hour. The beach was just beautiful!!! Wonderful views , clean, and very private. We never wanted to leave. For those who do not want to be in the sun, there are many chairs with umbrellas and hammocks to relax in.

We were there for my nephew's wedding and it was just beautiful. I would definitely return for another stay but I hope that they will make some changes to the front office very soon. Overall it was a beautiful resort. It just needs some organization and updating.

Room Tip: Choose beachfront definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNteacher42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Secret Harbor had some good memories for me, having stayed there fifteen years ago with my children. And I can say that nothing has changed, just gotten much older. The sound of the air conditioning reminded me of a handful of quarters in a clothes dryer, hot water was sporadic, and I needed to put up with the hammering as they refurbished the unit next door hordes of cruise passengers snorkeling just off shore. Oh, and don't wear anything too good - they're painting the roof! Secret Harbor's day has passed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rtramontana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed as a family of two grandparents and father and son. The beach side suite was superb with all the facilities you could want. The three divers dove most days and had a wonderful time particularly because other than grandpa neither had dived in the sea. The dive centre was attached to the hotel so you could have breakfast and get there by the 0830 start. Grandma found the Iguanas threatening as did other clients! The food was excellent and the service charmingly fast. If we had to make a suggestion it would be to get rid of the various old lumps of concrete on and in the beach. Apart from the hotel Red Hook nearby was a local feature with all types of restaurants and shops.We liked the unusual Duffy's noisy but nice, best to taxi - the walk is a bit hazardous.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar if you can, it tends to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We went here for my sister's destination weddings and stayed at the resort as well. Beautiful grounds, private location, excellent snorkeling and perfect location for a wedding. The coordinator was awesome and did an amazing job. Some rooms on site are renovated and some need a little facelift. But the other rooms were fabulous!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank drchumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range: £249 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing