We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked a week at this resort with quite a bit of trepidation after reading some negative reviews on TripAdvisor. There weren't that many resorts that fit all the criteria we were using to find somewhere to stay in the Caribbean, but despite the negative reviews, the beach seemed to be exactly what we wanted. One of our high priorities was to find a beachfront suite where we could step right out to snorkel without having to go through a maze of landscape or buildings to get to the beach. We also wanted a family friendly resort and a quiet beach that had some coverage for shade.

The negative reviews regarding cleanliness were our biggest concern, so I was pleasantly pleased to find the condo we had (217) to be quite clean. Thanks in no small part to Clementine, who serviced our room. The furniture and bathroom are outdated, but the kitchen worked well and was handy to have.

Although the resort is a bit rough around the edges and the restaurant is limited with average quality offerings, as well as the attitude of some of the front desk staff bordering on rude, I would still recommend this place, especially for families with younger children. The beach is beautiful with calm water and pretty good snorkeling at a rather shallow depth. It was a perfect place for my avid swimmer and sea creature obsessed child to swim, as well as my slightly afraid to get his head wet, still learning to swim child to spend a few hours every day. The beach and bar would get a bit louder and fuller during some of the day when cruise ship visitors would visit, but overall it was pretty restful. I liked the convenience and very casual atmosphere of the beachfront restaurant, when some of the family wanted to eat and others preferred to swim. However, we eventually ended up going down the street to the Ritz for some of our meals, because the quality and variety were a bit lacking at Secret Harbour's Sunset Grille.

The positives:
Beautiful beach, with calm water and lots of fish
Friendly beach staff (though a couple times they seemed to be missing when we needed a towel)
Beachfront rooms are very convenient and have nice spacious patios or terraces
Great value
Convenient restaurant with friendly staff
Clean

Negatives:
Noise from beach front bar can still be a little loud later in the evening
Front desk staff are unhelpful, unfriendly and unwelcoming
Restaurant is very limited and the food is nothing special
No laundry facilities
Very outdated (but relatively clean) bathroom and dingy furniture
Air conditioning doesn't work well

Overall, I would consider coming back to this property, although it is certainly not at the level of luxury we usually gravitate towards. I would even prefer to spend more for this beach location, if there were 1.) better dining options 2.) laundry facilities 3.) an updated bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASL345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Secret Harbour Beach resort and providing a 4-star rating. We are pleased that you found the beach to be exactly what you wanted and that we met your highest priority in having a beachfront suite where you could step out from your room and snorkel at your convenience. Nice too that you found our housekeeping staff to be quite good. We will share your review with Clementine. We are glad to hear that you will recommend our resort for families with young children and that your children enjoyed swimming and exploring the underwater Caribbean world. Secret Harbour's beach is spectacular. Nice to read that you found Secret Harbour to be a good value and that you would even pay more for a suite with upgraded amenities. Each of Secret Harbour's 73 condominiums are individually owned and do vary so possibly you could call with specific requirements on your next trip and our staff will do its best to meet your requirements. Thank you again for your patronage and your review. We look forward to exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    290
    80
    43
    24
See reviews for
192
410
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Harbor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Aside from the used condom wrappers left in the bed-side drawer, the running toilet, and the hungover waitstaff, the water was nice. It's not anything like the website makes it seem. The rooms/suites are individually owned, so roll the dice you may get the nice one they show on the website (or not). Staff at the front desk were very freindly and helpful, along with most of the folks around the resort with the exeption of morning waitstaff which seemed bothered by the fact that we were there for breakfast or simply hungover and understaffed (perhaps not their fault). I also get the sense they are under new managment or something as people were wandering around as if they were planning renovations, perhaps the new owner, which interfered with enjoyment of the experience there. Even the website changed in the week or so since our visit, very odd. I couldn't figure this place out. Oh, and the dive shop/store staff also made us feel like we were bothersome. We only stayed for two nights on our way back from St. John to be closer to airport on our departure, but would not even consider returning. I like igaunas but careful where you sit, they drop from trees, and nearly gave the older gentleman a heart attack when one dropped from the seagrape tree into his lap.

Room Tip: good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you Kevin for sharing your thoughts. We are pleased that you found Secret Harbour's front desk staff and employees to be friendly and helpful. We sincerely apologize that you found your room to not have been thoroughly cleaned and that your toilet ran. These issues have been addressed. Thank you. You are correct that each resort managed studio, 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom condominium is individually owned and decorated so units do vary based on owner taste. All have the same floor plan and enjoy spectacular beachfront or ocean views of our beautiful Caribbean sea. We are sorry that management discussions about renovations and property improvements interfered with your enjoyment. Our management team is very focused on making sure that the property and the guest experience is exceptional. That said, the iguanas are typically not quite so invasive. We hope they didn't startle you or the older gentleman too much. Thank you for noticing that we did just re-launch our website which has been redesigned to be more user friendly and informative for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Fantastic place to kick back and relax. 30 min cab ride from the airport. Rooms are right on the beach. We had room 433 on the top floor. Fully remodeled and a balcony facing the beach. Management (Kevin) is great if anything pops up. Rhonda and Daneesha worked the front desk and were wonderful. Great snorkeling in the harbour starts 10 feet into the water. Dive shop on the beach for paddle board, kayaks, snorkel rental and a dive boat too. The 2 beach drink girls Kelly and Brook were great bringing food and drinks to our beach chairs. Sunset Grille has higher end food and our waitress Kelly was excellent.
Redhook is less than a 5 minute ($5/person) cab ride to all kinds of restaurants and shopping. The Ferry to St. Johns is in Redhook too.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are not on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Secret Harbor is a small resort on the Red Hook side of the island. The accommodations are condos individually owned, so no room is the same.
The beach is small and accessible; there is no running to save chairs like at other resorts.
The condo we stayed in was lovely and clean and well equipped.
Difficulty with shower and hot water... one night no water..
Spa services were unavailable.
The restaurant was good; the higher end part of the restaurant.
No complaints, really.. just didn't love the island..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jzucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We are sorry that you didn't love St. Thomas yet encouraged that you found your condo at Secret Harbour to be lovely and clean and well equipped. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the beach and availability of beach chairs. We do apologize that you experienced a water problem one night and certainly hope you found our maintenance team to be responsive and efficient. You are right that each of the condominiums is individually owned so each is uniquely decorated. The resort works very hard to keep all 73 units in good condition.We appreciate your spending time with us and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel property is close to port, but not to any stores. The food within property is good and stuff is OK. The ride from the airport took an hour , but then it is on the other side. I would have to say I have received better service on many occasions. However, the beach is really great and water is great! All in all, this is good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahalusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your 4-star review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found Secret Harbour's beach and water to be really great! We are blessed with a beautiful crescent beach and very clear Caribbean water. Thank you too for rating us as a good value. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Please note, I did not stay at this hotel. But I was so offended by the treatment of the resort staff to non-guests on the public beach that I had to post a negative experience. My friend and I completely understand that certain areas and privileges would be for guests only but there are ways to politely express that without being rude. Their negative attitudes really put a dent in our experience of this beautiful public beach and has made me reconsider whether I would stay there on my return trip to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesjorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about being a non-guest visitor on Secret Harbour’s beach. We agree that the beach is beautiful and is an integral part of the resort experience. Thank you for understanding that certain areas on the beach and other privileges are for guests only. That said, beach visitor rules need to be explained politely. We have shared your comments with the team and we sincerely apologize for any hurt feelings. We hope you will return as a resort guest so that you can experience our full amenities and excellent customer service. Secret Harbour is a boutique resort property with 73 privately owned and resort managed condominium suites ranging in size from 2-bed/2bath to studio. Each condominium is beachfront or beach view with a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include the beach, on-site PADI dive center and excursion boats, freshwater pool, tennis courts, spa, two restaurants, gift shop and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

we were greeted with rum punch and a free oceanview studio upgrade - nice start. all the staff was lovely and we received 2 $50 vouchers to be used on the property. the bar has a nice selection of proprietary drinks and the food from the bar (didn't go to the formal restaurant) was all pretty good. my only complaint, and this doesn't really have anything to do with the resort, was the beach was extremely hot. i don't know if it's always like that or if it was the time of year, but there is no breeze. luckily, the water is warm enough that you can easily hang out for half an hour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank supertearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
1.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing