We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day trip for cruisers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cool place to take a taxi from the cruise ships for a less crowded experience. We enjoyed a paddle board rental, nice public beach with decent snorkeling. Excellent ma-hi tacos at the restaurant. One of the best drinks I have ever had (peanut butter bushwhacker). Good service from a waitress who is easy on the eyes.

Chair rentals and dive shop on premises. It appeared that many locals were hanging out here by mooring their boats, just off the beach. I would go back here in a minute and I am very picky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank koozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would give this five stars but we got a condo that had some problems. It is not that the condo was terrible--it simply was not on par with the rest of the experience. Here is why you should go to this resort even with the possibility that you might have a so-so living space: there is no better beach on St. Thomas. We have been to this island before and did some searching this time and we just kept coming back to the Secret Harbour beach. Also, the service is great, the rentals are easy and cheap and the reef and snorkeling are awesome. Lots and lots of gorgeous fish right off the beach. The view from our condo also was to die for and the food at the two restaurants is surprisingly good, much better than the restaurants we tried outside the resort. My husband and I had a really fun time with our two teenagers who turned 13 and 17 on the trip. The condo was spacious and laid out well, as I say, the balcony was great. Here were the couple of problems with the condo: the bedspread on the master bed was pretty gross; it needed washing, as did the couch cushions. The handle in the shower broke off the first night we were there and the resort sent up a guy who sort of fixed it, mostly what he did was show us how to work around a shower handle that was broken (which we had to deal with for the rest of the week). There was a ten gallon hot water heater so not a whole lot of hot water and it really didn't get completely hot. We did not run the airconditioning but the people next door did and their a/c noise was very loud in our space. It was like having a jet engine running outside your door. Because the condos are owned individually and rented out, there is some variability in the quality, so if you get a good condo, I imagine that it would be an all around perfect experience. Really, aside from these minor issues with the quality of the condo, it was the best vacation we ever had. The resort is very very good and we definitely will go back as soon as possible. Highly recommend it! (N.B.: definitely get a car rental unless you plan to stay at the resort the entire time without venturing into Red Hook or beyond.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I traveled back to St Thomas for a relaxing stay with no agenda and we were not disappointed. A couple of things to remember: You are on island time...nothing is fast and everything in St Thomas is expensive...it's just the way it is. We had previously spent a few hours at Secret Harbour during a cruise and wanted to go back...we decided for our 15th wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday we would make the trip. We stayed for 5-nights/6-days (Dec 29 - Jan 3) in one of their one-bedroom condos and it was fantastic. You usually can't request a specific unit, but if you can 422 was great. Newly renovated with a great view of the beach...it wasn't a walkout onto the beach unit, but close enough. Secret Harbour is a short cab ride from Red Hook (restaurants, ferry, bars, etc); but, the bar (Sunset Grille) and restaurant at Secret Harbour are great and there is no need to leave if you don't want. The girls come right to you on the beach and take your drink/food orders...Marian and Heather were great...actually, all of the staff were great. Derrick on the beach will help you find the perfect spot to lay on their complimentary beach chairs...the Iguana's don't bite. Our favorite spot in Red Hook was the XO Bistro (see separate review) and we took a day trip to St John (see separate review). Snorkeling at Secret Harbour is fantastic...I've snorkeled Hawaii, The Bahamas, Grand Turks...this ranks right up there and the best part...it's right there...feet from your room. There is a dive shop with rentals and equipment, but we brought our own. There's lots to do or do nothing...no worries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for one week from December 26 to January 2nd. We selected this resort for the beach and the on site snorkeling and it did not disappoint. We snorkeled multiple times every day and saw many kinds of fish and coral and also saw turtles, octopus, squid and even a barracuda.
The beach is small but beautiful and with a great mix of sun and shade under the palm trees.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the housekeeping was very good and consistent. The on site dive shop and restaurants were excellent. We enjoyed the proximity to Red Hook for additional restaurant choices and easy excursions to St John's.

The condos are privately owned and rented out so they are all at different levels of decor. We ended up in room 121 which was nice enough but not what you are going to see in the pictures. Also the sofa sleeper mattress was so worn it wasn't possible to use for sleeping but we later got a roll away bed and that was fine. I would recommend for anyone staying here to research the options. On days with a lot of cruise ships on the island the number of people grows but it never became overly crowded.

We found that this location was perfect to shift into a lower gear and just relax and enjoy the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: I highly recommend beach front rooms rather than ocean view which are a bit of a climb up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked our rooms hoping for a nice place for some family time and relaxation. From the moment that we arrived it was obvious that we were in the right place. The staff was helpful and pleasant and our rooms were perfect. The reviews for this resort are mixed and I suspect that, since the rooms are all individually owned and decorated, your experience varies depending on your room. We were in 133 & 134 which are truly beachfront. The first time we opened the doors to our balcony we were greeted by the sounds of the waves on the beach and the steel drum at the restaurant - the perfect thing to out you in a vacation frame of mind. Our rooms were both lovely and updated but one was more our taste than the other - but they were both clean and livable. (pictures of ours are attached)

The beach was fabulous .It's just steps from the beachfront rooms and it was gorgeous. There are chairs and hammocks to relax in while reading or watching the children. This is a perfect place for families because the resort sits on a protected cove so the surf is gentle and welcoming to small children. Every day there are snorkelers and paddle boarders out on the water. There is also a pool which lovely and well-kept but it's up the hill and not used much because the beach is so awesome.

Room Tip: You really want to be beachfront for the maximum enjoyment The restaurants on site are fine but exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We stayed in Room 123 with a great view of the beach on the second floor, just off of the beach. Our unit was very clean and well equipped. There is great snorkeling just off the beach. There was plenty of beach chairs and the beach was clean and free of debris. We rented a car and found the Grocery store just five minutes away. You do need to rent a car at the airport to make your trip complete. This is not an all inclusive resort, so you need to get out to do things. The Beach Club restaurant had great burgers and a great Shrimp Pizza. The Sunset Grill had some of the best Sea Bass, Nut Grouper I have ever had. The wait staff was outstanding, Dylan was our waiter on two of the three nights and he was great! Dylan's friend was our waiter the third night and he was also a great waiter. The manager was very friendly and you could tell he enjoys his job. The Sunset Grill is a must for dinner - best view of any restaurant around in addition to great food. The Dive staff was great, Shout out to Bill our boat captain and Perry our dive master - they could not be better or more professional. The diving was great and very relaxing, the dives are never greater than 80 feet so it is great for the beginning diver. We also took a daysail on the "Daydreamer" to the BVI Stopped at Jost Van Dyke, Foxy's and the Soggy Dollar for a few "Painkillers" also a great trip. I think there is much individual variation in the rooms as they are privately owned. As a suggestion, each owner should provide a video tour of their unit, the ones that are better will rent more and have a greater return, this will keep individual units up to date and keep the resort in top shape - just a suggestion. We will probably return to Secret Harbour

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schulerjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Overall, our stay at Secret Harbour Beach Resort was very good but if our room was better, it would have been excellent. Based on our room alone, we probably will not return to this location for our next vacation despite how much we liked the property.

Positives: The beach - it is about 50 feet away from the beachfront rooms. They are not kidding when they say beachfront. The water and the beach are both clean. Plenty of shady areas for those who don't want full sun all day. Close to the restaurant, bar and dive shop for replenishing supplies. The restaurant food is good - fairly expensive - like everything else on the island. If you want to share your room with family or friends, this place is great as you can get multiple rooms. Each room is equipped with a full kitchen so you can save some money on snacks, breakfasts, lunches, etc.

Negatives: Our room - each room is individually owned and decorated differently so your experience could be better or worse than ours. We had a king studio which size wise was just fine for 2 people. However, our room 111, was right next to the bar/restaurant. Surprisingly, it was not overly loud but the only entrance to the room is through a large sliding glass door which as a terrible curtain. Our curtain did not fully close, had 4 sections and had no privacy panels - we were facing the bar and the beach! We had to get fully dressed and undressed in the bathroom or we were exposing ourselves to the entire hotel community. Unless we wanted to be arrested, there was not going to be any romance in this room! The housekeeping left a bit to be desired as well. We ran out of Kleenex on the 2nd or 3rd day - they were never replaced. By our second to last day, the housekeeping staff didn't replace the toilet tissue either. Toiletries like soap, shampoo and conditioner were never replenished. Some rooms have a rinse station outside of them to take the sand off - ours did not so our room was constantly full of sand no matter how much we wiped our feet. The sheets were not changed daily as sand was in our sheets. My husband encountered one very nasty towel attendant who he seemed to deal with every day. However, whoever I dealt with for towels was always friendly. The beach is open to the public and I understand the need to keep the chairs and towels for guests. However, there should be some sort of system in place. We were there during Christmas and we DID have to fight to get chairs. It was very obvious that lots of people were just walking on to the beach from the parking lot loaded with bags and taking 6-8 chairs and loads of towels. However, that doesn't excuse the attendants from being rude to the paying guests. Maybe putting an attendant at the parking entrance could eliminate the problem. If you don't want to be surrounded by lots of people and lots of kids, this is probably not the place for you - granted we were there during Christmas vacation week but this hotel was PACKED with a large number of extended families and lots and lots of little kids. We were looking for a slightly more adult hotel that was quieter.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are better than the hillside rooms. Know which room you are requesting. Room 111...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MM8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range: £250 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing