We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very secluded and upscale and the staff is very friendly, helpful,and always at my disposal. The condominium was huge and very laid out roomy and the view was fabulous. I recommend this resort and plan to go back again next year. the two restaurants were nice and the food and service set the atmosphere for the resort. The assistant manager Javier and staff should be commended for the quality of service this resort offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carribean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words. My report card and commendation come from reviews like the one you just gave us. I cannot stress how thankful I am and the entire staff for your great words...it humbles us. We look forward on welcoming you next year for another "Vacation in Paradise."

Thank you,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

So we had a problem with the lock. Jean Claud, the bellman at that instant identified it and Bobby in maintenance thought he fixed it. All of this went unnoticed by us, but the next day it was malfunctioning again. When Bobby realized it was going to be a longer job than what he first thought he engaged the general manager Javier. Javier suggested and proceeded to provide us with an even better room. In fact it had a hideaway bed in the living area that faced the window. We got to rise with the sun the next day. I have to say in all the entire staff seamed invested in trying to do the best job they could in the best way they could. I was very pleased.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit and this wonderful review; especially mentioning our committed staff as they are the ones who make the magic happen. I will ensure to pass on your compliments to Jean Claud and Bobby.

Regards,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Long weekend at Secret Harbour. Plesantly surprised. Seems like a well run place with an informal atmosphere. Guests from families through retieries. Great beach, not crowdet at all, and good views. Snorkling possible, even saw a turtle "grazing". Diveshop on site. Got a recently and tastefully renovated beachfront room (411), and was very happy there. A fan on the veranda would have made it possible to sit outside. Nice bar and very good restaurant on premises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagaadne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. It is always a great feeling to hear positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please try and return real soon and let me know when you do; I want to try and get the fifth star on your next review!

Warm regards,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I visited St. Thomas for a quick three nights in May as he was consulting on a construction job at the airport. We were upgraded to a beach front one bedroom condo which had been beautifully updated. We ate lunch twice and had drinks each night at the Cruzan Beach Club. Staff was friendly, beach was not crowded and weather was beautiful. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rooney467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

You put smiles on our faces when you say that we delivered exactly what you needed! No matter if one is coming to our property on a business trip or coming for vacation we will deliver to everyone needs.Thank you for your review! I would love to be your ally when you return to our property; please contact me at javier@secretharbourvi.com

Best,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We wanted to BE on the beach; and we were! Across a 3 ft. sidewalk to the sand.

When we were in St. Thomas last year on a cruise we took a taxi to both Sapphire Beach and Secret Harbor to snorkel. We chose to return to Secret Harbor because it was not TOO crowded like Sapphire and the snorkeling was super. On our return in May, we stayed in #218 a studio unit virtually on the sand. Unbelievable!! But inside the unit we were not as pleased. It had no sofa, and only a fancy card table set up in front of the TV to eat on. The appliances were good but the kitchen lacked some serving dishes, sharp knives and the dishes were not washed well. We rewashed all we used. Every unit is a little different. We booked with Hotels.com and not directly with an owner who may have provisioned a unit better. Nonetheless, the management was extremely helpful moving us from our first unit within minutes because of a sewage smell, to this one. So releived, we didn't notice the deficiencies at first.

The hotel Beach Bar has excellent food and typical prices for St. Thomas. They also have a Happy Hour for several hours that matched or beat the beer and rum drink prices in Red Hook. The fancier restaurant had a full menu and usually a good crowd.

Access to and from the hotel is difficult if you do not have a car. We suggested that management should provide a low cost shuttle 5 min. into Red Hook or to the supermarket as they do in other condo properties. A Taxi is $5.00 pp whether you go 1 mile or 10. Look into the "dollar" taxi (just that) if you are carless. However, the problem still remains of walking up, up, up to the main road.

The snorkeling was great for two days (very clear and warm) and murky, cloudy for two days. We saw lots of fish, a lobster, a huge turtle, and two large squid.

We went there just for the on-the-beach experience, having stayed 4 days at another property that had a spectacular, elevated view and excellent amenities, but no beach at arms' length. Secret Harbor was pricey but we would love to go back for the beach atmosphere and the warm "vibe" of the property.

Room Tip: See comments above. This hotel is on 3 levels. The upper levels are "a walk," but near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We have updated our room inventory and now all of our units are beachfront!! We took your review very seriously and have placed a love seat, bar stools in the kitchen area and updated some of the kitchen utilities in the unit you stayed in. Please let me know personally when you plan to come back so that you can experience again our beach atmosphere and the warm "vibe" of our "Beachfront Bliss" property.

Best,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had our wedding at Secret Harbour and received very poor service. We booked a YEAR in advance and were told everything was set up. A month before, Laysha Powers (wedding coordinator) said she'd be there to help with everything and would even show us around when we checked in two days prior to the wedding. When we checked in, she barely said hello to us, and on our wedding day, we were told she wouldn't be there at all and no one knew anything about our wedding! We had to clear a space on the beach ourselves and figure it all out on our own at the last minute which was very stressful. To add insult to injury, we were charged a large amount of money to have our ceremony on their beach when we'd previously been told since so many of our guests were staying there it would be included. I was very upset to pay this extra charge when we didn't get any service from the hotel at all.

If it hadn't been my wedding, I probably could have enjoyed the beautiful beach because it really is a beautiful location. I would recommend people check out the beach, but would not recommend a wedding here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

It saddens me that your wedding day was not what you expected, especially when our entire staff including our Wedding Coordinator is committed to exceptional service as everyone can read on all of our TripAdvisor reviews.

I apologize on behalf of our entire staff if you felt that the service you received from our Wedding Coordinator was less than phenomenal.

We do appreciate your nice comments about our property and invite you back sometime in the near future to experience our beautiful location and awesome beach, perhaps on your wedding anniversary!


Best wishes,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just returned from an amazing stay at Secret Harbour. A friend recommended this because they visit every year. I read all the reviews and followed suggestions to reserve a beachfront, updated room above the first floor. Some reviews suggest buildings 3 or 4 but we were in Bldg 1, 3rd floor and loved the proximity to nightly live steel pan performers and first class food.
We stayed the last week of May to take advantage of off season rates and we had the beach to ourselves all week long.
Temps were a comfortable 80-85 with a light breeze the entire time. If this is the rainy season then more power to it! Once a day we got a round of showers that lasted 15-30 minutes and cooled everything off. I cannot think of a single negative to include here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cupcakerylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier D, Assistant General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review! Like you said: "I cannot think of a single negative to include here" and that's because there isn't! We work hard to ensure all guests are happy and yes...no matter in which building you stay; 1, 2, 3 or 4 you will love it! We are thrilled that we made it to be your best anniversary ever! From myself and the entire staff we wish you many more to come.

Truly,

Javier J. De La Rosa
Assistant General Manager
Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range: £266 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is currently closed due to hurricane Irma Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing