We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for your Buck on St. Thomas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I want to start this review stating that I am an independent travel agent and I researched all resorts in St. Thomas-St. John area along with attractions, restaurants, etc, etc. Secret Harbour is Terrific!! My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom condo July 12-20. One does not have to leave the resort if this is what you want because it has all the ammenities you need! Great restaurant, The Blue Moon. The service is great and the food is even better!!The yellow fin tuna is to die for. Also, the bar has all of those great rum-drinks that will get you in the down island mood and the Managers party on Tuesday nights is a touch of class!! The rooms are very clean and Mary, our housekeeper changed our towels daily and our bed sheets when needed! Earnest, the manager, is always out and about which is rare for the boss to be mixing with customers and employees alike. It really is family when you go to Secret Harbour!! I I assure you when I go back to St. Thomas I will just stay in one place and that will be Secret Harbour Resort!!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank bluegrasspirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed at the Secret Harbour Beach Resort from July 1 through July 10 for our honeymoon. It was fantastic. We arrived just after dark. Check in took only a few minutes, and the front desk had someone show us to our room and help us with our bags. The room was great. We were in an oceanfront room (433) with a balcony. It had a large living room and bedroom with a kitchen and small dinette. The room also came with a safety deposit box for our valuables. The units are individually owned so décor varies from unit to unit. Ours was a little dated, but very clean and comfortable and it had everything that we needed including dishes and cookware. The staff cleaned the room each day and did the dishes even late in the day. The beach was never crowded and was raked every morning. We never had a problem finding a chair or shade. The water was always calm and the snorkeling was pretty good. There are rocks and coral on either side of the beach and you can see many types of fish. The food at the Blue Moon Café was very good, tough pricey. But no more so than anyplace else on the island. We liked the resort so much that we almost didn’t go out on a few days when we had plans. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haasmail2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

My husband and I went there on our honeymoon and it was amazing. The beach is beautiful and it was never very busy and we always were able to get a lounge chair and had plenty of space to spread out. Our room was amazing, we stayed in 115, which is a 2 bedroom condo and we were upgraded for free! It had a full kitchen 2 really nice tiled bathrooms and large living room. But the best part is we asked for beach front and literally got it! We had a patio that opened up directly onto the beach! The blue moon had wonderful food and you can eat at the cafe while at the beach. The staff was very nice and attentive. The maids were so nice they even washed our dishes! While wew don't have any kids, it would be a great place to take them because the beach is pretty much private and you can see from one end to the other easily-it would be hard to lose track of them there.
What make this place so great is that you don't have the cruise ships and people around...it is a small cab fair into Red Hook and there is places to eat and a grocery store there, just like home. For about 20 bucks you can get a cab into charlotte Amalie where there is plenty of shopping and things to do. We also visited Magen's Bay which is one of the top 10 beaches in the world-I would suggest to get over there because it deserves it's ranking!! And get the cabby to stop at the look out points over there, the pictures came out amazing.
Overall I would suggest anyone interested in going to St. Thomas to stay at the Secret Harbor, we loved it and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank honeymoon730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We had a great time at Secrets Harbour - We were there from 6/16 to 6/23. It was me, my husband and 2 children, 10 and 12. The resort was very nice and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. We had no problems at all. It seemed very secluded and quiet. The beach was nice and the Blue Moon Cafe had excellent food. They did have a kids menu for the kids which was nice. They have a managers cocktail party on tuesday's which includes snacks and free rum punch! We pretty much went grocery shopping when we arrived and had our breakfast for the most part in the room daily and packed our lunch for the beaches but we did go out to dinner every evening. We ate dinner at the Blue Moon twice. We also enjoyed eating at Molly Malones and Off the Hook right in Red Hook. On tuesday nights, Iggies has all you can eat crab legs which was good also!The groceries are a bit pricy but we packed stuff right in our luggage and took it along! Of course you have to buy fresh things there and they do get costly - milk is $6 a gallon and bread is $4 a loaf but for the most part I think we saved some money doing our own breakfasts. We went out to lunch a couple of times. Our favorite beach spot was Coki Beach - where going into the water is just like being dropped into a fish aquarium - we LOVED it - you can get dog biscuits right there on the beach to feed the fish - you get 4 biscuits for a $1 but the second time we went we went to the market ourselves and got a whole box of dog bones for $4 and fed the fish all day while we were there - it was amazing and something you HAVE to see if you are there. Another great must visit spot was Magen's Bay! Beautiful is all I can say! I found out a good day to visit Coki or Magen's is sunday because there are no cruise ships in town which the beaches can get VERY crowded on the days the cruise ships dock usually starting around 10:30. All in all we truly enjoyed our stay in St. Thomas and Secrets Harbour and would go back again. The ONLY thing I would change for next time is that we stayed in building #7 room 731 at the top of the hill - so if you are out of shape or elderly it can be quite a hike back from the beach at the resort all up hill! I would want to stay in one of the buildings closer to the beach but building 7 was not too far from the pool which was also quiet and empty! It was just a beautiful place to visit! We had a wonderful time - oh don't forget to pack bug spray because those little guys can really get bothersome!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank gmm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Family of 5 stayed 6 nights in early June at Secret Harbour, beachfront, 2 bedroom. The “stay 5 nights, get 6th free” rate was a good deal. Our unit was fairly recently renovated. Great kitchen with everything we needed (dishes, utensils, pots/pans, toaster, blender, microwave, dishwasher). There was handwash dish soap, but not automatic dishwasher detergent, but I wonder if this varies on the unit (individually owned for the most part, I think).Very clean, but we killed quite a few mosquitos and a couple of roaches the first day. We found that if we made a concerted effort to close the doors quickly when entering, they seemed to not be a problem thereafter. The beach was good (kept nice and clean) with beach chairs and umbrellas for guests in addition to shade provided by palm trees. The snorkeling was very good (more for the many fish, turtles, stingray, eel, etc., rather than the coral which is quite damaged here.) Pool was also nice, and not at all crowded while we were there. Beach towels provided; just trade in for fresh ones when needed. The staff members were nice. Front desk check-in and occasional questions – very good. We tried to take a Discover Scuba lesson at the dive shop on site, but they forgot our scheduled appointment, so we ended up not re-scheduling. There was a nice Manager’s Reception on Tuesday night, nothing extravagant, but nice touch – had Rum punch, fruit punch, and munchies. Hotel is located very near Red Hook, though walking into “town” would have been difficult, not due to distance, but due to curvy roads and fast-moving traffic. With our rental vehicle, could be at Red Hook for ferry to St. John or groceries in minutes. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VacaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Stayed at Secret Harbour 6/18-6/22. Our check in was quick and I found the front desk to be business like and friendly. Our room, studio beachfront 321, was clean and spacious. Maid service was good, she did do our dishes each day. As stated in other reviews the beach is perfect for children. Kids cannot really get out of your sight on this beach and the water is calm and shallow. For snorkeling- there are enough things to see to keep you interested each day- turtles, rays, billions of fish... We had made plans to visit other beaches but once we got to Secret Harbour we did not want to leave. The beach bar was great, not that expensive (do the painkiller) and the food at Blue Moon was good as well the one time we ate there. All in all, it was exactly we had hoped for.

Other good things:
-the swim platform was fun for jumping and diving
-bartenders at the Blue Moon were so friendly and kind
-there was always a cab at the lobby if you need one ($$$$)
-PLENTY of beach chairs and shade all day
-the weather was perfect, one rainstorm the entire stay

Some tips:
-take one can of bug spray per person. They are hungry late afternoon until mid morning.
-keep in mind the office is not open for checkouts until 7am if you have an early flight- they will check you out the night before.
-bring food with you: we had a small suitcase full of snacks which, with a run to the market (20.00 for two round trip + tip!!!), held us over well.
-buy and take an underwater camera..I really wish I had done this as they were about 20.00 down there.
-take sandtoys if you need them and bring your own snorkle equipment..much easier than renting. We did not really use the flippers/fins at all, just an FYI- only the mask and snorkel. A swim noodle works fantastic when snorkeling for a younger snorkler (or tired adult!!)
-try to make it to the Tuesday night managers reception. We had a great time and met some of the staff and their families..


I would not hesitate to return here if I go back to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

If you want peace and quiet this is the place to stay. Near Red Hook on the east side of the island. Hard to fine so look out for the sign to Secret Harbour.

The beach on Sappphire Bay is one of the nicest you would ever see. Although small it only adds to the charm. You feel like you're on your own tropical island. Many palm trees and nice sea breeze. Plenty of lounge chairs. Enjoy a sunset dinner at the Blue Moon. Although pricey, the food is excellent and staff very friendly and courteous. Breakfast also very nice. Our room was always clean and plenty of towels with plenty of room. Balcony overlooked the beach with a great view. However if you don't like walking up hills, get a beach front unit. Overall a great place to stay and not very expensive compared to other resorts. A very enjoyable experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RUDYSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range: £249 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing