We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence at the Black Tower
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent one night in August 2012. The experience forces me to announce that this is 110 % place. Excellent and once again excellent service provided by the receptionist, clean, quite place with great organic restaurant downstairs. Just a few steps from the downtown and Paradox music club. If you´re looking for a good value accommodation – this is it. (They also accepted a small dog against 2.000,- CZK refundable deposit.)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamatu049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Very well furnished apartment with all amenities needed. Location is great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

If you are looking for a serviced apartment in Budweis, look no further: You found the best choice, i guess. If you are looking for a hotel experience, look somewhere else.

When you book a room at this property, you will soon receive an email which explains you how to get to apartments (they are also happy to answer all questions you may have and answer very quickly), This is somehow necessary in some way, because while the apartments are centrally located, they are not so easy to find. Once you found the location itself, you still have to find the so called reception. It is directly opposite of the caffee, behind a white door. You can also just ask someone from the caffee to tell the reception that you are there. When i checked in, there were some slight problems with my booking (which were produced by the travel agent, not the property) which were sorted out rather quick. This however proved to be a slight challenge, as the girl in the reception was very nice and friendly, but her English was a bit limited, so it was a bit hard to explain the complex problem to her at first. but finally she was able to solve the problem with no hassle.

When we were escorted to our studio apartment (i think they upgraded me, as i had a living room and a bed room, so technically no studio), i noticed at first how big the apartment is and how lovely and stylish the apartment is furnished. The second thing i noticed was that my request for two single bed was not granted and that we had a "double bed". This was fixed with the help of the friendly reception lady in not time, as we just had to separate the two beds from each other and voila, we had two single beds (though they were rather narrow (but not uncomfortable)).

The apartment has everything that you might need even for a real long time stay, including TV, music box, a fully equipped kitchen, a washing machine, a nice bathtub, lots of storage room (with wooden racks, as some older review mentioned that these are missing) and well...most of the the things you might need. They also have a very cool sofa, but as so often with stylish design furniture, it looks far better, than it is comfortable ;)

Some minor niggles:

The trash bin had not been cleaned, it still had trash in it, when we got into the room, probably from the last inhabitant.

They were no amenities like slippers or bathrobes (4 stars ?).

The batteries of the safe were low/down (we declined the offer to have them replaced, though). We did not use the safe.

The breakfast was a bit limited if you don't like ham and eggs or a hearty czech breakfast. If you love sweet breakfast, you might end up with some buns and one choice of marmalade. But it must add the coffee is really lovely.

The apartments are slightly off located and the reception is tucked away in a small room, which means you will not see anybody from the property, when you go to your room (no hotel feeling here). You will also have to climb a lot of stairs to go to your room.

Well, all in all i like the apartments very much, but more for the hardware. If you are looking for perfect service around the clock, look somewhere else. If you are self-reliant and look for some perfect accommodation for a longer stay, look no further, the rooms are really nice and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The apartment #333 is comfortable, clean and well constructed. The place has a kitchen, we made several simple meals. There is a washer, no clothes line but plenty of space for creative hanging. A wooden rack would be a nice addition. I had no issus with the wi-fi but it would not work on my husband's IPod touch.

If you have any infirmities stay near the bottom level, the stairs are kind of a beast to the top floor. The parking is a couple blocks away.

The one major drawback- the cafe where breakfast is served is smoking allowed, which I personally loathe. The Buffet food (you can also order off the menu) is in the smokiest part of the place. I wouldn't let that keep you from staying there though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a great apartment. Very centrally located and so close to the main square. We stayed in Apartment 131 - on the top floor - and had great views. The apartment is beautiful and modern – I especially loved the exposed wood beams in our unit. We even had a small terrace. The kitchen is fully furnished and perfect for a short stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Good location close to the pretty town square. But supposedly smoke-free hotel forces you to register in their smoky cafe. I would have preferred the manager's office opposite the cafe even though it was small and narrow.
Good standard of finish in the studio apartment, but queen-size bed pushed against the wall, which I got the manager to move so I had room to get to my side. The sheet was too small for the bed, so bunched up underneath us at night.
Two exotic lounge chairs and coffee table, but nowhere else to sit to eat except the desk for the computer. Bathroom well-equipped, nice deep bath and even a washing machine. Kitchenette very good and an empty fridge - refreshing after all the full mini-bars we've seen. TV required a smart-card on most channels and of 3-4 free-to-air stations, none were in English.
I couldn't find our room pictured on their website - ours was a bit different. Fast and free internet via ethernet. Not sure about wifi as ethernet was fine. Nothing in the hotel folder about wifi though.
Since the hotel has a narrow corridor next to it, every sound echoed around the building and into our hotel room. Every door closes with a loud BANG - sounding like a heavy, steel jailer's door.
We were provided one small towel each - which you couldn't wrap around yourself, no bath towel nor one to use as a floor mat. Perhaps we could have asked for more, but there was only one toilet roll as well (no spare), the safe's batteries needed changing. I know these are small details, but for a number 1 listed hotel on TripAdvisor, standards must have certainly slipped. We just didn't have the energy to complain about these things for a 2-night stay.
Despite strict rules regarding noise after 10pm, I had to get the cafe staff and their party to stop playing loud music at 11.15pm. We could even hear them talking loudly over the music.
I'm sure there are hotels in Ceske Budejovice which are keen to get their TripAdvisor ratings up. It wouldn't be hard to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street as there's too much echo in the narrow corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gragra_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here at the front and back ends of a 4-day self-guided bike tour of southern Bohemia. The hotel staff was extremely helpful: they put us in contact with a local bike shop before our trip, they called the bike shop for us to smooth out some logistical issues that popped up as we were trying to rent, and they stowed our suitcases for us during our biking tour. We could not have asked for better service.

Oh, yes, and the rooms were clean, modern, spacious, and stylish for a great price. Even had a washing machine in the apartment to clean up our biking clothes! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsand38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budweis
Hotel Budweis
#1 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mrkacek
Hotel Mrkacek
#27 of 49 in Ceske Budejovice
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cuba Bar & Hostel
Cuba Bar & Hostel
#7 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alton Garni Hotel
Alton Garni Hotel
#34 of 49 in Ceske Budejovice
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence at the Black Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence at the Black Tower

Address: U Cerne veze 301/13, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence at the Black Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New spacious and luxurious apartments in the historical centre of the city of Ceske Budejovice for the price of a hotel room. Looking for comfort, peace, privacy, ample space and do not want to compromise on the claims? Then there are apartments for you in the Residence at the Black Tower. With us you will always feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence at the Black Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing