We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern in an old setting”
Review of Hotel Budweis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Budweis
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very modern in an old setting”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stay here every time I come here on business. The room is spacious and comfortable. It has lots of features (safe, coffee, internet, etc) and is clean and modern.

Breakfast is good but basic and service is good for local standards. Everyone is very pleasant but not all speak English ( no complaints there, I don't speak Czech).

I highly recommend it. It is very close to the old town and well located. Restaurant is good with local flavours.


If I had a niggle it would be the shower. Overall it is really nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Twed57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    61
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
34
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very nice hotel with good location,we had here excellent dinner 13.2.evening but:the waitress /dark hair-very young/ was sitting and drinking with another young girl, so sometimes I had to ask for drink at another table....At the end when we decided to pay this young girl came to me I gave her my VISA platinum debit card and she told me Your card is not working, You don=t have money on Your account which way are You going to pay.Without any respect she was talking to me and my old father like to some homeless people!My father has fortunately another debit card that belongs to my account so we have finaly paid with this second card.No problem, but why the waitress is so"clever" and says to the guest-holder of VISA platinum dont have money, why are You comming to restaurant without money.Terrible manners!If there is some technical problem with card it is not problem to ask for another card or to ask for bringing cash from ATM, but telling You dont have money is really fatal mistake for person that works in services.All other staff is very nice-receptionist, porteer but this waithess need to be trained in manners.We are very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rupicapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knocknagashel, Kerry, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location also very central, lots to see and do, ten mins to Budweiser factory and two min walk to ice hockey arena. It is situated overlooking a lake which was peaceful, with some lovely relaxing walks.

Beautiful hotel very modern and extremely clean. The Restaurant in the hotel deserves more awards than it has, the food was beautiful, and available on late arrival.

The room was lovely with a large bed but to be honest I found it very hard and uncomfortable. ( the only let down)
Tea and coffee in the room, a safe, an ironing board and plenty hangers in the wardrobe.
The bath and shower were large with plenty hot water. The bathroom was bright with lots of mirrors. Overall a fantastic hotel! The staff were polite friendly and very helpful! An excellent hotel!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My overall rating would have been 5* except for a slippery bathtub - I've informed the front desk. Except for that, it's exceptionally good hotel, reconstructed from the 14th century Mill with loving care, good taste for architectural elements, colours used in the rooms and corridors, roomy bathrooms and rooms, good beds and overall ambience, beautiful windows, sitting close to the river banks and the town's centre itself. I've loved beautiful Christmas decorations including a stuffed reindeer as tall as I, kissable adornment of a restaurant corner. Breakfasts very good and excellent meals in the restaurant. We will be back.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a corner room because one gets a wider view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfei Menshe
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

as a tour guide coming with a group i am expecting a few things: nice and clean rooms, polite and helpfull stuff, good breakfast, a parking place for our bus, and here in this wonderful hotel i found it all. I saw they won a reward for the best hotel in the region, they deserve it/

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry53128
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been coming here every year for several years. I've stayed at the others but now - only The Budweis will do. The others have the "old time" charm for the first few minutes but then it is gone and then you are in an old old room. At the Budweis, the staff is helpful and attentive - better than average in the Czech Republic and in Ceske Budejovice - and a great restaurant too. The place is clean and modern with working amenities.

Room Tip: they are all good compared to the other places in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry53128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stay for a couple of nights at this beautiful renovated hotel every summer since 4 years. It's very well situated close to the center of the town ( 5 minutes walk). and is also easily accesible by car. The building is a nicely renovated estate with modern comfortably furnished air-conditioned rooms that have all required amenities that are to be found in a 4 star hotel. The staff is professional, very polite and helpful. The best thing we all love are the large king size beds and the fresh pastry on breakfast. The restaurant has a nice outdoor seating facing the river and offers very tasty meals. We had dined there several times and were never disappointed. It's our favourite hotel in this town and I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a fine place to stay in Ceske Budejovice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceske Budejovice
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klika
Hotel Klika
#10 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa Hotel Vita
Spa Hotel Vita
#5 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
50 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budweis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budweis

Property: Hotel Budweis
Address: Mlynska 165/6, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budweis 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Budweis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing