We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs”
Review of Cuba Bar & Hostel

Cuba Bar & Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuba Bar & Hostel
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First of all, this is not a hostel, it's a guest house. There's no reception.

Arrived late at night and the receptionist (actually the bartender) couldn't speak English and didn't seem to know much about the hostel. Had to ask a patron to translate for her and I was trying to use what little Czech I know.

Lay down in my bed and was immediately bitten by bed bugs.

The next morning I left the room to use the bathroom and to my surprise, my card didn't work when I went back (it was 9 AM, which was before the check-out time). So I was locked out of my room wearing next to nothing, no phone, and no reception to help me out.

Luckily I found another guest upstairs whose card seemed to work on my room.

Would not recommend this "hostel" to my worst enemy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked a double room and got a big room with four beds for just the two of us. The room was on the top floor of a cute old building and the room itself was beautiful with high ceilings. The common area had a comfy living room, full kitchen and a giant bathroom attached. There was a separate kitchen and bathroom on the floor below so we only shared our common areas with couple other rooms.

Staff was friendly, bar downstairs was peaceful and no noise carried upstairs. Location is great, walking distance to train station and old town.

As the price was very low, this hostel was perfect value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really like the hostel, its location (just 5 min to city centre). I was pleasantly surprised by very nice & convenient kitchen in it. I really appreciate we could arrange earlier check-in. The only thing which I miss there was mirror - there were no mirrors in whole big room for four people, no mirror in bathroom :-) All-in-all it was great place to stay for 2 nights (friendly price + special atmosphere) and I would really like to recommend it ! Thank you so much, K.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatarinaSVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I came there alone cycling through Czech Republic and stayed over there. You have to enter the bar to check in and the waitress didn't speak a lot of English. Bar looks very stylish, but didn't see many people which surprised me (Saturday night). Hostel part looks ok, but didn't feel very safe as I seemed to be the only one staying there and there are a lot more apartments in the same building. However I consider it to be more or less safe but not the place a solo female traveler wants to stay... No breakfast included, but there's WIFI and a computer for free use, which is great.

Room Tip: dorm room with many beds is supposed to be good. but the other one is ok too with real wood floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank gabrielakaletova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tomáš B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
7.0 mi away
Hotel Mrkacek
Hotel Mrkacek
#27 of 48 in Ceske Budejovice
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Singer Pub
Hostel Singer Pub
#7 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alton Garni Hotel
Alton Garni Hotel
#32 of 48 in Ceske Budejovice
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubytovna Unadrazi
Ubytovna Unadrazi
#36 of 48 in Ceske Budejovice
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension-Restaurant Stilec
Pension-Restaurant Stilec
#6 of 48 in Ceske Budejovice
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuba Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuba Bar & Hostel

Address: Nova 2024/18, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range: £12 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuba Bar & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in the heart of Ceske Budejovice. Stylish interior, light and sunny rooms, friendly staff, low price and all of you need at your travel in the hostel or nearby. Private or dorm rooms. Cuban cocktail bar on the ground floor. Open daily, all your round. A total renovation of the building in year 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cuba Bar & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing