We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms but no air con”
Review of Hotel Maly Pivovar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Maly Pivovar
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ceske Budejovice in April was quiet and I think other than our small group there was only 1 other person staying in the hotel! Nevertheless the Maly Pivovar is a great place, being the brewery hotel of the Budvar brewery, which is of course in much larger premises on the edge of the town! (Brewery visit highly recommended, from talking to the receptionist I think they can arrange this for you, although ours was pre-booked via the budvar.cz website).

My room was enormous with a big double bed, desk and coffee table/chairs. Good free wi-fi and massive bathroom too. Nice high ceilings, but no air conditioning - no problem on my visit but I would think twice about staying here in the summer time. Only real gripe was no English language TV stations, not even news ones.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Maly Pivovar is my main place to stay when I am in Cesky Budejovice, and is definitely one of the best spots in the town - the hotel is very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the price very reasonable for what you get. The hotel does have a small parking near it, but make sure you reserve a space when you reserve your room as it fills up quickly.

The rooms are extremely large (actually quite huge!) and comfortable, although the decor in them is a bit dated. The services offered within the hotel are very good as well, with nice amenities in the room, including good wi-fi.

The hotel's location is right off the central square, which puts it in easy walking distance of everything in central Budejovice. The attached restaurant and beer-hall is very good, and a nice place to sample the Budvar brand if you haven't yet tried it (the hotel is associated with the Budvar brewery).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Our room was very large (the bathroom was big enough to take 2 beds!), quiet and comfortable. We used an online agency (hotels.com) and got a very good rate. Location is central 50m from the square. Arriving at Budweis by train you need to be aware that taxis are almost impossible to find, but the centre is a flat and easy 500m or so walk provided you have cases with wheels!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel is just a few steps off of the old town square. It is also within easy walking distance to the train and bus stations. The staff is friendly and efficient. Breakfast comes with the price of the room, and is quite good, and well varied. Our room was huge, with a very high ceiling. Very spacious, with big, old fashioned double windows. I loved it. TV was only in Czech and German, but I wasn't there to watch TV. The building isn't air-conditioned, which might also be a problem for some people. I found the room quite comfortable nonetheless. The WIFI connection was free, but slow. Their beer hall, Budvarka Beer Hall, is perfect. The food is excellent, and not expensive.The beer is Budvar, arguably the best beer in the world. (Maly Pivovar and Budvarka are owned by the Budweiser Budvar brewery). The two of us had a huge meal with plenty of beer and moravian wine, and with a twenty percent tip, it came to about $38 USD. The hotel is located in very close proximity to a number of good restaurants, bakery/coffee houses, shopping, and an all night bar which serves Pilsner Urquell and Gambrinus. Anywhere in the old part of town is in easy walking distance. Overall a very favorable experience. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZanerHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Difficult to find this very good hotel even with gps and even more difficult to find parking.
But hotel very good, staff very frindly and giving you a warm welcome and speak english well. Rooms were VERY big and comfetabel, beds medium !! As the hotel is very close to the big square there are lot of good restaurant an cafe very close. My trip was business but i would love to go back on holiday and see this town an learn more about the czech beer history and will for sure stay at this hotel. Very good breakfisrt of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights between visiting Brno and then on to Prague. It’s a decent walk from the train station but still doable, even with luggage. We found it easy enough and checked in with no problems. The hotel was very much as I had expected. A little old fashioned in typical Czech style with furnishings to match but very neat and clean.
The room was huge with lots of storage and a separate seating area. The bed was a little soft compared to what we are used to but it OK. The extra pillows we asked for were delivered straight to our room. The bathroom was also big with a corner bath and hand held shower but no shelving or anything for our toiletries. The soap for the sink and bath were dispensed from a wall mounted bottle.
It was very hot (until the last night when it rained) and aircon would have been nice as we had to sleep with the window open. I asked for a fan but they did not have one.
Breakfast was OK but not the best although there was plenty of choice and the cakes and pastries were especially nice. The coffee was not so good as although it was filter coffee it was kept warm in a large flask which always alters the taste.
The staff were friendly and efficient and always helpful and most of them speak English.
There was plenty of light which I like, except for on the landing and stairs where we nearly risked our lives due to lack of light. We struggled to find the keyhole most of the time as it was so dark.
We had some laundry done for which I asked for a price in advance but when we came to check out the bill was nearly half as much again! The person that quoted me missed out the charge for drying and ironing but as it was a misunderstanding and effectively their mistake they only charged me what they had quoted which I thought was nice.
The pub next door is great and we ate there once and you can get the Kvasnicové on tap which was excellent.
The town itself is nice with a pretty square and there is plenty to do for a few days (we also did day tripc to Ceske Krumlov and one or two breweries). The nearby Indicka Restaurant (just of the square)is fantastic, we ate there twice!
Overall a good hotel, good value for money and I would stop there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

It is a nice hotel very well situated in Ceske Budejovice. A very big room with just and average bed

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belen73Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klika
Hotel Klika
#9 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#7 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Budweis
Hotel Budweis
#1 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maly Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maly Pivovar

Address: Karla IV. 95/10, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maly Pivovar 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maly Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing