We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant in hotel Zvon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Zvon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zvon
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant in hotel Zvon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I like quality Czech cuisine and the restaurant in hotel Zvon is likely the best in the town. They claim that everything is home made, the meat is from organic farm and only the quality ingredients are used. The result is excellent and I visit the restaurant every time I visit the city. Why I do not give it more stars is because smokers in the restaurant can turn it quickly into truly terrible place. For this reason avoid this place on Friday and Saturday evening and try it during off peak hours to enjoy the food in cleaner air. Staff is friendly, never had a problem. Visited this place around 6 times so far an will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartanPraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our restaurant.

Good food and Czech cuisine particulary is our passion and the more so that you find so little of it outside Prague.

Right after the New Year´s Day we are doing a slight refurbishment of our restaurant so that we can welcome you again starting February 1 2012. During the works, there will be smaller restaurant available on site offering the same cuisine.

From 1 Feb 2012 we decided to go even further and made a deal with couple more small local farmers who will be supplying best quality seasonal ingredients (often hand-produced), so in our 2012 menu, you will also find some new excellent tradition-inspired dishes prepared using these ingredients ONLY. These will of course be highly seasonal, changing 10 to 12 times a year!


As for the smoking issue, we are aware of that, but as most of our regular guests are smokers (as is much of the Czech populace) it is a sensitive thing to solve.

At least since recently, the whole restaurant is non-smoking at Saturday and Sunday lunch hour (i.e. until 4 p.m.) so that you can enjoy your lunch smoke free.

Thank you once more & wishing Bon Appetit,

With kind regards,

Petr Salda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    119
    34
    8
    16
See reviews for
56
128
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Hotel Zvon has an excellent location on Ceske Budejovice's splendid main square and parts are quite historic but in general the place has been overmodernised to the point of characterlessness.The very good yet reasonably-priced restaurant on the first floor is a definite plus but the rooms are rather nondescript and not really worth the rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrone33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We wanted to stay in Cesky Krumlov but were turned off by all the reports of noise at night and found that not one Hotel had consistently positive reviews. This town (Cesky Budejovice) is about 30 kilometers away and much less charming overall, but we liked the reviews of the Grand Hotel Zvon and it seemed like a higher standard - and quieter - than staying in Cesky Krumlov.

We were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the main square and boasts excellent views. Pay a little more and get a room with view on the square, it's well worth it. Despite a central location, it was extremeley quiet. Rooms were large and very well appointed, as were bathrooms. One evening there was an orchestra playing a free concert in the square and it was absolutely lovely to open our windows and enjoy the sun and music wafting in. That said, with double paned windows, you could close them and be isolated from the sound very effectively.

THe hotel's fancy restaurant was advertized all over . . . but apparently is now closed - permanently. There is a pub as well - the original Budweis pub! Turns out Cesky Budejovice is the Czech name for "Budweis" adn the town is home to the original Budweiser Beer a- NO RELATION to American Budweiser (much better!). Despite smoke in the diningroom of the pub (there is a lot of smoking in Czech Republic) the food exceeded our expectations by a long shot. Excellent, freshly prepared local specialties. The family that owns the hotel and pub also owns a farm where they raise cattle and sheep for meat . . . so the meats were all extremeley fresh. There was an emphasis on local produce as well - not at all what we might have expected from a beer hall!

Our only complaint (other than smoke in the pub - hard to get used to) was that the reception area and front desk were downright dreary! We highly recommend that the hotel brighten up the entry, lounge and front desk area. Repaint a brighter color (it was clean, just dreary), reupholster, improve lighting, etc.

Staff varied widely in skill and friendliness. When we asked for brochures on the town and surrounding areas, bike rentals, restaurants, etc. they were empty handed, directing us to the tourist office across the square. But, the office was closed so we had to "wing it" until they opened, loosing valuable time. Perhaps THEY could walk over the the tourist center themselves and stock these basic items! Also, some staff didn't smile and very few spoke decent English. It was just difficult to be understood and to get the help and information we were looking for. Nothing terrible at all, just not great.

That said . . . we enjoyed the hotel and definately would recommend it to others. When you get out of Prague . . . you are not in the "big city" anymore, and the quality of hotels and amenities goes down. Zvon was clean, well appointed and well located - and the food was quite good at the pub. We recommend. Parking free in their lot, or you can park on the square right in front and pay a small amount at the parking meter.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our property and for all the recommendations. We are happy you liked our beer hall and food there as well as our rooms.

As for the tourist information, we try to have as many brochures advertising most prominent sights and events in our region as possible at the disposal of our guests. Yet it is sometimes difficult to get hold of brochures advertising crucial services like bike rentals etc. as local business providing these are very small - sometimes, they do not print anything at all and if they do, it is such small an amount that tourist centres only have enough for their own purposes and do not let us collect any. Anyway, we are working on this and are currently updating and improving our local service directory so that we will be able to serve you better in this respect in the future.

I can understand someone does not like the decor of our lobby but we also get very positive feedback so I guess this might be a matter of personal taste. The hotel got the most prestigious design award in our country in 2007 (Best of Realty, 1st Prize) as the only hotel outside Prague since this desigh award had been founded 13 years ago.

Thank you & Kind regards,

Petr Salda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

This elegant hotel is right on the main square. So if you are lucky, you can get a room with view of the town hall. The rooms are elegant and the furniture is quite new. The coins are the elevator (only one) and the costly parking. In the first floor is restaurant. They serve great local food. The mains starts arount 10-15 Euro. But I don¨t understand why they have a Pilsner Urquell (beer from Pilsen) on tap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times I chose the executive room. This is a room with a view of the square. Well worth the price by comparison with other cities in the world, because the square is quite beautiful, and impressive. This is a nice little city with some great beer halls, one of which is located at the Hotel Zvon. They sell Pilsner, and Kozi dark beer, however, and not the famous local lagers, like Budweiser, or B.B.B. The food at the beer hall, and upstairs, in the restaurant (Gourmet Symphony) is quite good. I recommend getting a reservation for the beer hall, which gets very crowded. Getting a table at the upstairs restaurant was no problem. The wine service there is very impressive, as the waiter decants your wine, which of course has it's own pram upon which your bottle and decanter are displayed by your table. I rather liked that. They have a nice international wine list, with a number of nice Czech wines.
The room was absolutely beautiful. It was very posh, and comfortable. I really enjoyed the room, and the amazing view.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanerHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral,England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

This recently restored relic of the Austro-Hungarian empire blends character with a good standard of accommodation and food. Rooms on the interior are rather dark, but well furnished with an excellent bathroom. The restaurant is good and excellent value, and the staff are anxious to please . The town square location is pleasant, and the whole experience was recommendable

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasTheKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

The hotel is great. Located right on the central square in Ceske Budejovice.
Although we have stayed in the cheaper rooms, everything was clean, working properly and the bathrooms were new. Rooms were spacious. TV had many channels.
Breakfast was excellent and abundant.
There was a free wired internet connection, which was great.
Location is great.
Only problem is with parking the car - the garage is costly and parking in the square is with a parking meter. When we tried to stop in front of the hotel, just to unload our luggage, a policeman came and refused to let us do so, Only after long pleas, we succeeded in convincing him to 'look the other way' (as he put it) while we unloaded our luggage (5 minutes).
Staff at the front desk were a bit cold and not very friendly (though did their job).
We were a bit disappointed from the city of Ceske Budejovice. The main square is big and impressive, though there was not much else to do in the city itself. Several pedestrian areas and a promenade and a park near the river - but nothing special. We must say, that we stayed there on Sunday, so it may be the reason why the city looked so dull to us - stores where closed and there weren't many people in the streets. We have also noticed that the locals are not very much 'prepared' for English speaking tourists - signs and restaurant menus were only in Czech and German - at least from what we saw.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budweis
Hotel Budweis
#1 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#3 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#14 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#9 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Vita
Spa Hotel Vita
#5 of 21 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zvon

Property: Grand Hotel Zvon
Address: Nam. Premysla Otakara II. 90/28, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zvon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious historical 4*Superior hotel right in the centre of Ceske Budějovice; in the historical square; Ideal starting point for exploring South Bohemia. All rooms offer Internet free of charge, safety box, mini-bar, PAY-TV, telephone; All Executive rooms and public areas are air-conditioned; Gourmet restaurant; Traditional pub – Pilsner beer; 2 air-conditioned conference venues (150 people); Business centre. Internet free of charge in all public areas. Non-stop supervised garage. Electronic security system, 24 hours security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Zvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ceske Budejovice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing