We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Old World Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Zvon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zvon
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Old World Hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Probably one of the finest experiences in my life traveling for work.
The hotel has old world charm, great location and very friendly and helpful staff.
Not cheap but it's not meant to be.
As far as value, worth every penny!
I plan to go back for fun next time.

Room Tip: I had a business suite and was very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    120
    36
    10
    16
See reviews for
56
129
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed in this excellent hotel as part of a touring holiday. It is very strategically located in one of the most attractive town squares in central Europe - Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic. It provides top quality accommodation and a varied hot breakfast buffet. We found it good value for money. Ceske Budejovice is also a convenient base for a day trip by local bus or train to nearby Cesky Krumlov - a beautiful heritage olde-worlde town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What made this hotel was the friendly service here. The front desk was very helpful and cheerful. Nice clean room with the amenities. Location was very good right on the Square. Great beer in the bar. Had lunch there, it was OK, breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed recently 5 nights with great pleasure at the very well located Grand hotel Zvon. We booked 2 executive rooms, which were clean, very spacious and air conditioned.
Even if the rooms are looking to the main square of the old city (wonderful view), we didn't hear any noise thanks to the double glazing.
The only improvement could be to replace the old TV for a flat screen.

Besides we appreciated the courteousness and great proficiency of the manager, Mr. Petr Salta : he is very easy to meet and makes all the efforts to satisfy the clients.
We tried the restaurant on the ground floor with local specialties and beers : good at reasonable prices; we didn't try the more expensive restaurant at the 1st floor.

The hotel is located 15 mn walking to the train station and bus terminal where there is cheap transportation for the entire region; it was pleasant to come back to sleep in the quietness of Ceske Budejovice.

To conclude, we recommend highly the Grand hotel Zvon for its exceptional location, the quality of the executive rooms and the professionalism of the manager.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patriprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property, I am very glad you liked your stay with us.

Personally, it was very nice to meet you and hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

Thank you & Kind regards,

Petr Salda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was utterly impressed during my stay at the Grand Hotel Zvon. The top-class hotel in my good books forever. The staff is there for you anytime you want and they make you feel indeed like at home. Everything is clean and leave no doubts about the high standards. The restaurant and the food served there were magnificent. But most importantly, the location of the hotel at the very heart of the city is prime. What a treat! All the historical sights and fancy buildings within striking distance. There is no wonder I will return there on my next trip. Czech beer was just a cherry on the top :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Everything about my stay at this hotel was excellent. Great staff, very considerate and extremely helpful. Fine restaurant with great atmosphere and excellent breakfast. The room itself had a fabulous view, was nicely appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My Partner and I return to Czech Republic as often as we can. The future is looking good for more frequent visits, particularly to the beautiful South Bohemia. We were here to look at potential business arrangements andstayed at the Grand Hotel Zvon in Budejovice. The staff and management are welcoming and proffessional.
The hotel rooms are comfy and location is right on the town square. A warm welcome from the manager at breakfast set the mood for our stay of 3 days,,,,,way too short!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickbohemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budweis
Hotel Budweis
#1 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#15 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#9 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Vita
Spa Hotel Vita
#5 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zvon

Property: Grand Hotel Zvon
Address: Nam. Premysla Otakara II. 90/28, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zvon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious historical 4*Superior hotel right in the centre of Ceske Budějovice; in the historical square; Ideal starting point for exploring South Bohemia. All rooms offer Internet free of charge, safety box, mini-bar, PAY-TV, telephone; All Executive rooms and public areas are air-conditioned; Gourmet restaurant; Traditional pub – Pilsner beer; 2 air-conditioned conference venues (150 people); Business centre. Internet free of charge in all public areas. Non-stop supervised garage. Electronic security system, 24 hours security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Zvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ceske Budejovice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing