We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Zvon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zvon
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived here by motorbike during a European tour, we found the hotel to be situated in a beautiful location with a view over the main square. The room itself was spacious and spotlessly clean. the mini bar was well stocked and very affordable, a welcome find after arriving in 36 degree heat. The bar on the ground floor was also a nice find and the ease of charging drinks to our room was helpful.(we found other hotels that did not allow this whilst in Czech). we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist and found the private parking a garage easily with her instructions, where again we were greeted by helpful garage attendant. Porter service to take our belongings to our room from the parking garage was also very welcome. Beds were comfortable and the complimentary robes and toiletries were a nice touch. Breakfast was basic but tasty and again staff were pleasant. The only negative i can find with the place was on our exit in the morning, when the reception manager was so busy answering the phone (after starting to deal with us) and talking for considerable time that we had to wait for much longer than was comfortable, and no apology was given for this. My partner was very happy that he could smoke in the room!
Very affordable hotel for the quality recieved.

Room Tip: Request a view over the square :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brashleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Zvon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very traditional hotel on the Budweis main square, with a lot of modern features: Your car will be delivered by the lift to the roof parking ... but the only way to go to the front desk in the basement or to your room is by the same lift. Room by room is other - the best ones are with the Premysl Otakar Square view. The service and tidiness is above average, the rooms are very stylish and comfortable. What I find strange there is the Pisner Urquell beer on tap in the city of Budweis, giving the name to the world famous Budweiser. Nothing against enlarging the offer, but I think in Budweis the Original Budweiser should be a must! Even beside the Pilsner, Samson, Svijany or international brands.
You will really enjoy your stay if you don´t care about every euro. For the parking you will pay CZK 350 per day, about 2000 plus for one night in the double room. But you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: The square view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KocourMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Well situated right at the city square, be sure to get a room overlooking it. We stayed in a junior suite, room 502, with great views, especially at night. Private parking and free minibar is included in the rate for the suites. Good value for money, although the minibar isn´t exactly well stocked. Very clean and wellkept room with a spotless bathroom. Breakfast is not up to the standard of the room, quite basic if that.
If you come by car be sure to use the hotel parking as parking on the square and missing parking time can be costly. The parking police is steadily cruising around the square and your car will be clamped.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and overlooking the square, it´s well worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conversionfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a very good location. Comfortable room had a main square view. No problem with a noise. In front of the main entrance is the biggest fountain in Czech republic - Samson fountain. Hope to come back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our property, highlighting its unique location on the charming historic square of Ceske Budejovice with its baroque Samson fountain.
We hope to have a opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel. Thank you & Kind regards, Petr (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

In a three-week train journey from the UK to Italy, through the Netherlands, Germany, the Czech Republic and Austria, this was the best hotel I stayed in. Friendly and efficient reception staff and porters, an exceptionally comfortable bed in a very pleasant, characterful room, a decent shower, an outstanding breakfast (local cheese, local sausage, etc) and standing in a perfect position on the main square. Couldn't have been better.

The restaurant's pretty good too. I've reviewed that separately.

To get there from the station, it's easiest to get a taxi. If there isn't one waiting outside the station, either ring the hotel or go to the travel centre (Centrum Informatice) behind the ticket windows in the station and they'll call you one.

Room Tip: I had room 704, under sloping windows under the roof, so I could lie down looking at clouds racing a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy you liked our hotel and hope to see you soon in the future. I was happy to pass your warm words to our staff. Thank you & Kind regards, Petr (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We picked this hotel off of the internet and were not disappointed. The location is great facing the main square and easy walking distance to restaurants and any local town sites. the rooms were very clean and comfortable and semi updated.and had good internet. this town is beautiful at night for photo opportunities. The breakfast had a very good variety and quality and there restaurant was as good as any in town-a good value. All rooms in the hotel are equally quiet and there is very good security in access to the elevators. there is secure car parking that is reached by giving your car to the attendant it is put in an elevator and parked in a garage behind the hotel. be patent with the desk staff as their English is limited.

Room Tip: All rooms are about equal however when choosing dinner reserve a seat in the non smoking room if you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our property, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our secure garage parking and general cleanliness and good feel of our hotel to other travellers. As for the limited English of some of our staff, let me work on this. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Petr (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We just spent the WE at Zvon Grand. I couldn't imagine staying in another place while in Ceske Budejovice. We booked the junior suite, and it had the most magnificent view on the Premysla square. Fast free wifi, free mini-bar and free parking was included!! Only downside is the breakfast which I found very cheap in comparison to what the hotel offers.
Will definitely return only there if I am around again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psal, General Manager at Grand Hotel Zvon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy you liked our hotel, its central location, city view from the Junior suite windows and the free wi-fi and free minibar features. We are looking forward to your next visit,
Kind regards, Petr (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budweis
Hotel Budweis
#1 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klika
Hotel Klika
#8 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#9 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak Ceske Budejovice
Hotel Dvorak Ceske Budejovice
#11 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zvon

Address: Nam. Premysla Otakara II. 90/28, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range: £42 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zvon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious historical 4*Superior hotel right in the centre of Ceske Budějovice; in the historical square; Ideal starting point for exploring South Bohemia. All rooms offer Internet free of charge, safety box, mini-bar, PAY-TV, telephone; All Executive rooms and public areas are air-conditioned; Gourmet restaurant; Traditional pub – Pilsner beer; 2 air-conditioned conference venues (150 people); Business centre. Internet free of charge in all public areas. Non-stop supervised garage. Electronic security system, 24 hours security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Zvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ceske Budejovice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing