We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and perfect location”
Review of Hotel Mlyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mlyn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and perfect location”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have arrived by car directly to the hotel. What a location! Right in the historic centre, opposite the castle. The room was comforable, clean and with beautiful river and castle view.I can't comment on breakfast as it was special situation. During the night we were asked to move the car to a different part of the city because the river was coming higher. It was the night when the June fluds begun. In the morning we were asked to leave the hotel before 8:00 - evacuation. The staff was excellent handeling very good this dificullt situation. I would defenitely come back.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Mlyn Hotel was formerly a water mill which has now been converted into a nice hotel. Cesky Krumlov is very small and the hotel is conveniently located next to the river in the middle of the town. It is located at the end of a quiet lane. The rooms are very, very basic but is serves its purpose with views of the castle across the river. It is clean and breakfast is adequate. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The staff tries its best and no complaints about their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penangtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Gorgeous Cesky Krumlov doesn't lack for hotels and B&Bs, but for my one-day visit in September 2012 it was surprisingly hard to find a room. I was generally pleased with the Mlyn, in the dead center of town and nicely sited at the end of a cobbled lane smack on the Vltava River.
The hotel occupies an old mill recently renovated to a modern, functional standard. My room, no. 309, 95 euros, was a single, thus small, but not painfully so. Importantly, it boasts a view of the river and castle. As others have noted, having this view is essential – otherwise the hotel is not special enough to justify what I take to be somewhat elevated prices by CK standards.
The buffet breakfast was good (but not exceptional). Room decor was fairly plain. My room had a tub but no shower.
If you're driving, the hotel is approached via a network of cobbled, mostly pedestrian streets, leading (in my case) to many near-misses as tourists strolled, gawked and wandered without regard to passing cars. Timid drivers would not feel comfortable.
In retrospect, I feel I could have arrived in CK without a hotel reservation and easily found a suitable B&B perhaps more vehicularly accessible at a lower price. High season might be difficult, however.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

First of all, the location for this hotel is absolutely ideal. It has a great combination of being directly on the river, central to everything in Krumlov, and yet still tucked away at the end of a quiet lane. The hotel is also surprisingly large, which is nice in a town where most of the places are limited to only 8-10 rooms. The hotel does have on-site parking, but it is a rather small lot so see if you can reserve a spot at the same time you reserve your room.

The room itself was clean and functional, but a bit on the small side. The amenities in the room are a bit lacking, however - the level of amenities and luxury fall more than a bit short of the 4-star rating to which this hotel aspires. What is currently on offer is more appropriate to a 3-star hotel in Europe.

The breakfast was a bit odd - in fairness to the hotel, the couple of nights I stayed were during the winter when Krumlov is very much in its off-season. The first morning there was nothing laid out as only a couple of the rooms were occupied, but the kitchen offered to cook eggs if I wanted. The second day there was a large group in the hotel, and so a full buffet was laid out - however the hotel decided that after this group ate and left it was time to close the buffet down. I came down at 8:00am and they were already clearing everything away. That was awkward to say the least, and such lack of consideration for all of their guests is a disappointment for me.

Krumlov is an amazing town to explore, and the hotel is perfect location from which to explore everything. Its location also makes an easy walk at night for those evenings and nights out!

Room Tip: The river view is fantastic, so request a room on that side if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Only one other couple staying here when we were there so the winter months are the time to visit and get a room at a reasonable price[Our room overlooked the river]! Buffet Breakfast but they would cook you anything fresh when you asked as in fried or stir fried eggs, fresh fried bacon etc. Our Room was very spacious, very comfortable and had a good bathroom the same! Good heating throughout and with thermostats in room easy to control! Reception Staff were very helpful at all times!

Room Tip: Choose a Room with a View towards the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FionaChinnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed 1 night at Hotel Mlyn and had a terrific time! The room was super clean and a great location. Would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel is at the end if a small lane right on the river. It is quiet and central. Ask for a river view as it is charming.
We were fooled by the aircon. It was working well when we arrived but they turned it off overnight. It was 35 degrees and opening the window encouraged the mosquitoes. this was the only real disappointment.
The breakfast was good and the internet was free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mlyn

Property: Hotel Mlyn
Address: Parkan 120, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mlyn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mlyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mlyn Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing