We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”
Review of Hotel Mlyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mlyn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights after travelling from Prague by bus it is a short walk to the hotel located in the centre of the old town on the banks of the Vtlava river from the Spicak Bus Station. We were using hybrid "Eagle Creek" bags which allow them to be converted to backpacks so it was an easy walk.

The hotel staff were friendly and assisted us with everything.

The room we had overlooked the river and was exceptionally clean and comfortable a safe was provided for valuables.

Breakfast was included in the cost and this was well presented and there was plenty of it. We were checking out early prior to breakfast and asked if we could have it early the staff provided everything we needed .

Being in the centre of the old town it was ideal for restaurants and sights.

We couldn't fault anything with this hotel clean, modern, comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-Wildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

Despite being booked months ago, being asked by email 3 times to re-confirm and a lengthy phone call, the rooms were not what we had so carefully booked. The receptionist was sweet and did her best but it was total confusion -the manager was finally called out to deal with the situation. He gave us a 30% discount - and then the bedroom key failed 3 times. Where they get their 4 stars from I do not know. The room I was given was ugly and spartan, the beds are tiny, there were no bath sized towels, no shower curtain so bathroom room flooded after each shower, cheap fibre pillow - one - could not find any electrical sockets in the main room but two in what was supposed to be the children's room. Breakfast is predictable for a 2 or 3* hotel not a 4*. Such a beaitiful location, such a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThommoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Lovely brand new hotel right on the river with an excellent view of the castle... only if you are staying in a room overlooking the river and the castle!
I had booked a standard double room and I had made a request to be placed as high as possible. We arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon and the receptionist gave us room 401. Well, the room was certainly not the standard room I had booked. It was the best apartment in the hotel!There were windows along the three walls of our bedroom and we had the river, the castle and the whole village at our feet. I thought there must be a mistake so I called the reception desk and asked to confirm my booking details as I was worried that they would charge us extra. The answer I got was that we had been upgraded because there were no vacant standard rooms at the time of our arrival and of course there would be no extra cost. Smells overbooking but since it had turned out to my advantage, I was happy. Everything in the hotel is new and works perfectly. The interior design is modern and minimal without spoiling the countryside atmosphere of the place. Everything was spotless and I just loved the huge pillows and the lamps that lit up at a touch.
The breakfast could be better. There wasn't much variety and one day they didn't bother setting a buffet because there were few guests and a waitress took our order instead which was somewhat uncomfortable.
The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke adequate English.
Hotel Mlyn is quite expensive by Cesky Krumlov standards and it only worths the money if you stay in the top floor apartment that I did for the price of a standard room. The rooms that face the side alley have no view and the ones that face the street, although it's a beautiful cobbled street, it's not the same as the river. So, make sure if you decide to stay at Mlyn to ask for a room with a river view.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eleniaggeliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Wonderful hotel on the river and just far enough away from the action for absolute peace with the river rumbling away. Surprisingly modern and large rooms and very comfortable. Lovely receptionist with good English, yummy , varied breakfast, free internet and easy accessibility to this beautiful town. Can`t recommend this too highly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I had mixed feelings reading the reviews but we were very,very pleasantly suprised. The location is perfect: close to everything to be seen in wonderful CeskyKrumlov,central but qujet with the sound of the river in the background.The receptionist young lady had a reasonable good command of english and she was very helpful and pleasent.Breackfest more than plentiful and tasty.The building is a very old mill perfectly restaurated and with very modern and functional interiors.The place to stay in Cesky Krumlov!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank paci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The Hotel Mlyn is a mixed bag. We were staying in Prague for a week, and traveled to Cesky Krumlov for one night. The Hotel is brand new (and perhaps not completed yet).

Rooms: Clean and modern. We had a room overlooking the river, and opened the window (no screens, of course) to listen to the rushing rapids all night. We could also see the Castle by sitting right up against the window. If you cannot get a room facing the river, it's not worth staying here. The rooms transmit noise between rooms and between floors -- but the hotel was pretty empty so we did not hear much. The bathroom is spanking new, but the minimalist style leaves no place to put your toiletries.

Service: Poor. Front desk clerk on the day we checked in was indifferent, spoke little English, and gave incorrect information about a very fundamental data point -- namely, what time does the Castle close. Front desk clerk on the day we checked out was indifferent and spoke little English. Hotel lacks a color map of the city (inexcusable).

Price: Expensive for Cesky Krumlov.

Breakfast buffet: Good, but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bendad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

What a ripoff this hotel is!! We booked 3 nights at Hotel Mlyn because we liked the pics of the hotel and needed all the amenities that were listed - particularly laundry and parking. We were also looking forward to the ' all rooms have a view of the river'. This hotel was very expensive for the Czech Republic, but we wanted a great stay - so we were prepared to pay the price and splurge on a place that looked and sounded good. We booked a family room which was very small and spartan but clean. The 'view of the river' as promised, was infact a view of the garbage collection site below, and a noisy construction site from the other window. The advertised laundry facilities did not exist at all and the staff were of no help when we expressed our concerns. The room price included breakfast, but we were only notified of this fact after we missed the first breakfast. When checking out we were charged a lot of money for parking, even though there was no mention of this cost in any of the Hotel info. There were not a lot of people staying there - the place seemed deserted, and the staff acted as though you were not there at all. In Cesky Krumlovc there are loads of private rooms available for rent in very nice places - my advice is to go to the town and find one of these on the day. Forget Hotel Mlyn and save a packet!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BrisbaneArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#10 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mlyn

Address: Parkan 120, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £33 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mlyn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mlyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mlyn Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing