We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penzion Svet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penzion Svet
Ranked #23 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An Excellent Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Booked two nights at this well kept pension. It started on a positive note with Michel, the owner, picking us up at the train station. He also returned us to the station at the end of our stay. These were greatly appreciated by two older women travelling with possibly too large bags.. He was an excellent host, representing his town in a most positive way, giving us super info on where to eat and good things to see. We also enjoyed chating to him over breakfast.

Our rooms were clean, comfortable, quiet and warm with outstanding views over the town both during the day and at night. We felt this alone made our choice of the Pension Svet an excellent one. We actually decided that if we'd stayed in the old part of town the only view possibly would have been of a wall or a street. The pension was only a short and enjoyable walk from the old town plus its location allowed us to easily walk up to a chapel overlooking the town where we had excellent views of the whole town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The reviews that I read before are consistent with my own experience at Penzion Svet. Michal is a great guy who has used his own travel experiences to ensure that his guest enjoy their stay at his establishment. Michal will pick you up at the train station, he will provide you information on how to get to local sities. He helped me bring up the 4 suitcases that I had with my family. The view from his webstie is actualy view of the town. Stunning. The pension is a short walk from the center of town and there is a store near by to get some drinks. The rooms are large, very clean and with a fridge. As an added bonus, there is an area for kids to play in or you can use the BBQ to cook yourself a meal or have a picnic with a table. It was a great place to have a cold beer and to relax. I felt that I could of been in my own backyard.

While I write this keep in mind that I have travelled quite a bit. I am not expecting a 5 star hotel here, so my expectations are lower than if I am staying at a nicer hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Partyviking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam
Level Contributor
938 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

With so many options in Cesky Krumlov, I was pleased that I made a good choice with Svet Pension. The owner Michal picked us up from the train station and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat and drink. We got a top floor room which had great views of the castle. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was spacious too. The garden in the back had a picnic area which also had a great view of the town. Michal was such a great host it felt like staying over at a friend's house. Great option for Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of this location with beautiful views of the castle and surrounds from our bedroom windows. We were a two minute walk away from the bus loads of tourists.
We were collected from the train station free of charge which was a great way to commence our stay. Renata pointed out all of the points of interest including places to eat. We were very grateful that she spoke English because we couldn't speak Czech.
The room was spacious and very clean as was the bathroom. The room rates were very reasonable.
The breakfast was good.
Renata's husband drove us to Olomouc - about a four hour drive - for a very reasonable rate. He was a very safe and considerate driver. He also spoke good English which was good for us.
We were so happy with our fantastic find in Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here during a short break to krumlov. The place is clean, nice location and comfortable. The thing which makes this place better than most is that the owner goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and get the most from your stay. She even picks us up from the train station!!
Many thanks if you read this.

Michael and Katerina

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mww101101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We have stayed in Pension Svet with my partner and his parents from Australia- as I am from Czech and know Cesky Krumlov well I didn't think that is very far from the city center - it is a nice walk and the rooms situated have nice views of the town and are furnished really comfortably for family stays as was our stay. The owner is very friendly, has a very good knowledge of the place and provides some handy information. Breakfast was also very nice. we enjoyed our stay and we think that it was definitely good deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzionsvet, Owner at Penzion Svet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your visit, and we look forward to see you soon again. Michal Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#45 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Antoni
Pension Antoni
#28 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penzion Po Vode
Penzion Po Vode
#22 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House
Hostel Krumlov House
#1 of 46 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#1 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Kapr
Pension Kapr
#12 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Svet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Svet

Property: Penzion Svet
Address: Rozmberska 89, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Svet 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penzion is located in the upper part of oldtown called Horni Brana, in the house dated back to the 18th century. Now, after a total reconstruction adjusted to, as far as possible meet the requirements of the guests comfortable while they commemorate the history of pervasive spirit, which is the largest city of magic. We offer You: 1 family room with two separated bedrooms 2 three-bed - 1 with a shower and 1 with a bathroom with tub 3 two-bed rooms We take for granted that all rooms are equipt with their own bathrooms with shower or bath and WC.There is also a dining room and a garden with BBQ, where we serve a breakfast or you can stay there during the day or evening in kind atmosphere. Good feeling by of our guests from accomodation can be emphasized by accompanied services. All rooms are equiped with TV and SAT, wireless internet connection, minibar. We offer boats for rent, for our guests for special prices. With pleasure we give you tips for trips in surroundings of Cesky Krumlov. After your request we are able to ensure tickets for cultural performances that are held in the town. We can pick you up from Cesky Krumlov train or bus station for free. Accomodation is during the whole year possible with parking in front of the house or in the garage. We believe your staying here will be kind experience.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penzion Svet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing